We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location and nice interior”
Review of Stesicorea Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stesicorea Palace
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Strategic location and nice interior”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night before we proceed our trip to Lipari Island. This hotel is strategically located at the centre of The Piazza. Near to other facilities like bank (Bianco of Sicily), mini market, few boutiques, night market & restaurants. The room which we occupied was well kept, clean and comfortable. This hotel maintained the typical architecture of romans and surprisingly you can find a dome type ceiling for your room. The receptionist at the counter also very friendly and very helpful. They can speak in english (the girl's name is Angelina) as well. When we were in Catania, our luggage were delayed and it is difficult for us to get feedback from the airport authorities because they hardly understand english. Fortunately we have this girl at the reception who called the airport on our behalf to get updates. The only bad part was, you have to go up to 2 floors of stairs before you can reach the lobby. You can imagine how difficult for us to carry our luggages together with our baby's stroller. Other than that, this hotel is good and we recommended this hotel. Chiao!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kfk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    50
    31
    14
    6
See reviews for
32
50
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel is located on one corner of an open piazza and is easy to find. Much harder to find is the entrance, hidden away down a side alleyway with no obvious signs to help find it. Then through some doors and up two flights of stairs which make you wonder if you've gained access to an apartment block by mistake. Once inside it is clearly a family run hotel with an amusing toddler and all his toys everywhere. The room was clean but really pricey for what it was ... (We didn't stay in any other hotels in Catania - rightly or wrongly I am comparing UK prices with Italy here) ... We had booked a twin room but we got a single with an uncomfortable sofa. Breakfast was a disappointment except for the hyper-caffeinal coffee, a necessary waker-upper after the near-constant street noise all night - lots of hooting and scooters tearing past at all hours ... and if you're planning a lie-in take ear-plugs because the rush hour is unrelenting.

Room Tip: Look before booking. Two flights of stairs up to the hotel and no lift, so forget it if you're d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great central location so long as you don't mind looking out onto a busy square. The rooms are large and old fashioned but perfectly comfortable. There had been a leak in our room - repaired but not repainted and some of the electric sockets didn't work. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandMSEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed on Halloween. 50 Eruos they speak fairly good internet signal as long as your at the desk. Morning Breakfast was good, more of a snack. Check out is 10am which I am not used too but could be everywhere for all I know. the showers! excellent temperature and nice water pressure as well. It was the best shower out of all the places I have stayed in Europe so far.

Room Tip: ask to check out the room first. some rooms will have a double bed and a single, while others have 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_cdn_sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is very cosy, in an old building, very nice and tasteful decorated. Big rooms, nice and friendly staff. The breakfast is not very rich, but is satisfying. It's right in the center, you have pubs and restaurants around, and it's a safe location.
We loved it and strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malina_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The "palace" in its name is a bit of an exaggeration - it is a good old "pensione" !! Centrally located in a main square within walking distance of most sights. If you are a light sleeper, make sure to ask for room that does NOT overlook the street. Very high ceilings, impeccably clean rooms. Continental breakfast included. A good deal.

Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

On Line pictures misleading.Noisy area .Contatnt noise of people , cars,& bus depot.Line of garbage bins outside collected at midnight.45 minutes of banging.
Two floor walk up to get to the lobby.
No parking,but secure parking is available 4 blocks away.W e were afraid to walk in that area,looked like slums,so we parked on the street.
Checked in for at 9 P.M.before catching a plane in the morning.We checked out at 1 A.M.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shakespearo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#46 of 50 in Catania
30 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
530 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#31 of 50 in Catania
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Catania Centro Rooms
Catania Centro Rooms
#20 of 50 in Catania
116 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B De Curtis
B&B De Curtis
#29 of 50 in Catania
176 reviews
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#19 of 50 in Catania
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stesicorea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stesicorea Palace

Property: Stesicorea Palace
Address: Piazza Stesicoro 56, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stesicorea Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stesicorea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stesicorea Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing