We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a horrible stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Stesicorea Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stesicorea Palace
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a horrible stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I think I have never stayed in such a bad hotel in my life.There is no elevator, The rooms look old and dirty. The bathroom is absolutely horrible.I saw several rooms and I can say that all look the same.However the staff is friendy and helpful. The square in front of the hotel looks dangerous with a lot of strange looking people. I wouldn`t recommend this hotel ever.

Room Tip: I don´t think there is a good room. They all look the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deuseana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    50
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
32
49
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great localization when somebody wants to take a walk on Via Etnea, it's just around a corner. But on the other side it's very close to a sort of "african"(?) district, when you go a little further it all smells and looks awful and seems dangerous, I wouldn't recommend going there at night. Unfortunately its necessary to go there when you have a train or you want to catch an Interbus to another city..
The staff though is very nice, the elder ones speak very little English but the younger ones are helpful and easy to understand. They immediately help with the luggage even without asking which was really necessary because the hotel was placed on the second floor with very long stairs and without elevator.
The rooms are decent, air conditioning works generally fine, the walls had some cracks, the bathroom was prettiest. The beds are comfortable or were we just very tired?
I have an advice for people staying at room 201 - the toilet cistern doesn't usually work properly, to make it work push three times and the fourth one it should work, or simply lift the cover up, it works immediately!
We had a view on Piazza Stesicora and our windows were closed - we almost didnt hear anything, only when an ambulance passed through the square.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We are family Cauchi from Dingli from Malta. We found this hotel the best one, the facilities were very good and even the food was excellent. The rooms were spacious, clean and very nice.The staff was very helpful and they helped us with the luggage. The night was not noisy and we slept well. It was good value for our money and they gave us more few hours to leave the hotel. We wish we come back there again because we had a good time there and we recommend it for others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, null, Malta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were 2 couples and stayed in Catania for 3 days..

at around 15mins away by bus fromthe airport, the location of the hotel is in a busy square, basically surrounded by bars, and shops like guess, nike, levi's and a shopping complex with high branded clothes..

apart from that the hotel staff are quiet nice people and will do their best to help you..

another thing is that the hotel is just 10mins away from the Auchan, and Etnapolis, which are 2 main giant shopping complexes in the outskirts of catania, and just 20mins away from Etnaland.

I would like to thank the staff for their help by suggesting the hotel to everyone who's planning to visit catania.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Stesicorea Palace for 3 nights in June 2013, the hotel was a little dated, but accommodating. The room was spacious, we ended up with a triple, even though we only booked a double room. There was no sound proofing from the main square, so if sensitive to noise, I would request a room not facing the square. The shower door was broken - which was reported and never fixed. The wi-fi only worked on the first floor, and our room was on the second floor - no lift at all in the hotel, so not suitable for heavy cases or people with mobility problems (as the hotel has a huge staircase before you enter it). The hotel is located above a McDonalds! The breakfast room only had 3 tables, so be quick to grab a table and a seat. The best part of the hotel was it was located perfectly for any sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobboEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

good hotel , clean and helpful staff . good price in central catania and close to the market i will definitely go back .We were a group of 6 and we really enjoyed it .The rooms are very clean and although we slept on the front we heard nothing because the doors are double glazed . The breakfast was good and filling and great coffee . The hotel staff are really nice and helpful but most of all its position is excellent .Its central and opposite street is the market and via etnea a haven for shopping The management let us use the room till noon for we were leaving at 1 and without extra charges and that was very nice .We stayed only a short time but next time we already know we're going to use the hotel for more days . for those who don't speak italian they speak good english .And cleaniness is very good with fresh sheets and the towels are really clean even when you enter the room it smells really nice .I recommend it to anyone it's superb and good value for the money you pay . thank you for your hospitality !

Room Tip: our room was on the front and we heard no noises cause the doors are double glazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 382lina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We are 7 older travelers and were surprised to open hotel door to face 2 stories of stairs straight up. Staff helped after first of our party reached the top and made our presence known. We chose because of location on bus route from airport. Fabrizio was especially helpful and clear with advice, and made it possible for us to keep 1 room and stow luggage as we were not flying out of Catania until 20:45. Everything worked but it was rather noisy next door to McDonalds.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatKTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#26 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#18 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#47 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Catania Centro Rooms
Catania Centro Rooms
#21 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Centro Catania
San Demetrio Hotel
San Demetrio Hotel
#44 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stesicorea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stesicorea Palace

Property: Stesicorea Palace
Address: Piazza Stesicoro 56, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stesicorea Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stesicorea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stesicorea Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing