We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a short stay!”
Review of Stesicorea Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stesicorea Palace
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As has already been observed, this hotel is not really a 'palace' but it is adequate enough in comfort (though there are a lot of steps to be climbed!) What really makes this a great place in which to stay is it's good location, very friendly and helpful staff, and that it's good value for money. I would certainly come again. The breakfast was OK but not too much on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benn_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Stesicorea Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I'd like to be able to give more stars for this hotel, but the rooms are very basic and could do with some TLC. They're perfectly liveable, and if you're out and about all day and not particularly fussy, this could well be the hotel for you. If you're of limited mobility, however, there are lots of stairs and no lift that I spotted.

The reasons I'd like to give it more stars are the staff and the location. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. We travelled around the region a bit and they were always able to advise on which buses to catch from where, and also booked our Etna excursion for us. The location was perfect for us, as Giardino Bellini, Piazza Spirito di Santo, Piazza Bellini, Piazza Duomo, Castello Ursino, the Stazione for regional buses and Piazza Borsellino for local buses were all within walking distance. The #457 bus from the airport also has a stop very close to the hotel on Via Etnea.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danmalloy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is in the heart of Catania. Shops and restaurants just round the corner. Room was ok. Spacious and clean. Breakfast was ample but nothing special. Staff are very helpful. The only downside is that there is no lift.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A bit run down, a basic breakfast, but really helpful and friendly staff. Slightly noisy due to its location but fascinating to watch people from the balcony! Lots to do in the vicinity. Photos of the hotel were misleading...

Room Tip: Avoid the front!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pams595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I spent 3 nights with my family in September . The staff was very helpful and they helped us with the luggage. Good hotel and clean. We loved it and strongly recommend it.
Thank you for your hospitality.

Family Paris

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sysop470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I think I have never stayed in such a bad hotel in my life.There is no elevator, The rooms look old and dirty. The bathroom is absolutely horrible.I saw several rooms and I can say that all look the same.However the staff is friendy and helpful. The square in front of the hotel looks dangerous with a lot of strange looking people. I wouldn`t recommend this hotel ever.

Room Tip: I don´t think there is a good room. They all look the same.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deuseana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great localization when somebody wants to take a walk on Via Etnea, it's just around a corner. But on the other side it's very close to a sort of "african"(?) district, when you go a little further it all smells and looks awful and seems dangerous, I wouldn't recommend going there at night. Unfortunately its necessary to go there when you have a train or you want to catch an Interbus to another city..
The staff though is very nice, the elder ones speak very little English but the younger ones are helpful and easy to understand. They immediately help with the luggage even without asking which was really necessary because the hotel was placed on the second floor with very long stairs and without elevator.
The rooms are decent, air conditioning works generally fine, the walls had some cracks, the bathroom was prettiest. The beds are comfortable or were we just very tired?
I have an advice for people staying at room 201 - the toilet cistern doesn't usually work properly, to make it work push three times and the fourth one it should work, or simply lift the cover up, it works immediately!
We had a view on Piazza Stesicora and our windows were closed - we almost didnt hear anything, only when an ambulance passed through the square.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#6 of 49 in Catania
552 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Biscari
Hotel Biscari
#21 of 49 in Catania
182 reviews
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#45 of 49 in Catania
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Hotel Agathae
Hotel Agathae
#26 of 49 in Catania
104 reviews
Centro Catania
Domus Hotel
Domus Hotel
#42 of 49 in Catania
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stesicorea Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stesicorea Palace

Address: Piazza Stesicoro 56, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Price Range: £37 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stesicorea Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stesicorea Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stesicorea Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing