We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "Royal" Treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Priddis, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The "Royal" Treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had a beautifully decorated, clean and quiet room with a private terrace. The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. We especially appreciated the help and advice from the waiter from England. The 6th floor terrace is a lovely setting for dinner and breakfast and the food was very good. The hotel itself is a fantastic building with original decor and features, with each room named as well as numbered. It was charming and we recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    214
    58
    20
    15
See reviews for
62
280
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here for four nights at the end of October. It was just less than
20 mins taxi ride from the airport -20 euros-. the hotel was homely and the staff vey helpful and friendly. The staff - esp bar man Elliott - were very helpful for information of the local area. Unfortunately the local INFORMATION CENTRE were very pleasant but not too helpful when it came to transport arrangements. No info could be gained from them when it came to bus and train times etc. We actually found the transport system to be very adhoc and unreliable.

The cleanliness of the hotel rooms and public areas was excellent. Breakfast was more than adequate -there was no hint a fry-up thank goodness!!
My only negative comment of the hotel is that neither the jacuzzi nor the sauna were open and we were not informed of this when we booked.
Bars and restaurants are in abundance in the area and reasonably priced. Try the Metro which is only about 3 minutes away.

My greatest disappointment of the stay is the Sicilians attitude to their toilets. In our experience they were mostly without paper, lid or seat and grubby. I think this is very disappointing and in this day and age there is no excuse for the lack attention to cleanliness and hygiene. THE HOTEL WAS EXCELLENT IN THIS AREA.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel's location is excellent and the staff were generally friendly. The room was about the size we expected and was nicely decorated. However the lights were insufficient for the room, so it felt gloomy at night. A very odd system of light switches on small control boxes was also used and one night this stopped working. The man on duty at the desk couldn't help us other than to turn all the lights out in the room (otherwise we'd have been stuck with them on all night). After that we had to make do with the dark until the system was fixed while we were out the next day.

The breakfast was not fantastic, the bathroom had a slightly odd smell to it and the wi fi signal in the room was so weak it was unusable. So, nothing that outright ruined our stay, but we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_Man_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Fantastic building, original decoration, big rooms and a nice balcony. Great breakfast and nice&helpfull staff! Perfect localisation with a small but precious and charming car parking. We would recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raluca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The location was what I wanted, but everything else didn't come up to expectations. Doble room was dark, dull and smelly (covered with wall-to-wall carpet, textile wall papers, thick curtains and bedcover). French balcony type window opened to inner court and let the kitchen noice and aromas in to the room. The only way to get noisy airconditioning to stop was to open the window. Everything was supposed to work with remote control, but didn't. Curtains didn't work and neighter did the lights. I chosed the hotel because of rather large rooms and WiFi connection in every room but in my room the connection didn't work at all (not with or without wire). Personnel was very kind and sorry but they couln't get anything fixed. I spent most of the time out of the hotel, cause I needed Internet connection. This was my second time in Catania and I know there's better places for less money. I suppose ther's better rooms also in this hotel, because many visitors has rated this hotel so high. My double room wasn't worth the money, breakfast was average (compared to what I got in Mazzaro even poor) and breakfast room and hallways were not just old but also very shabby. Definitely NOT my choice during my next visite to Catania.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Fantastic building, original decoration, big rooms and a nice balcony. Great breakfast and nice&helpfull staff! Perfect localisation with a small but precious and charming car parking. We would recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NunoLampreiaSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

When we arrived straight from the airport we were warmly welcomed by the wonderful staff (and the cooling air-con). When we entered our room it took our breath away... four-poster bed, beautiful high ceiling, great balcony view to the sea and loads of room!

Great breakfast, lovely terrace bar and sun terrace on the room for bathing or sitting in the jacuzzi (with a stunning view of the city). The location is perfect for making the most of Catania and there is the most beautiful street right on your doorstep!

The staff will make you feel at home and as amazing as the rooms are they are the highlight of the hotel! You couldn't ask for more. A brilliant place to stay that I can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Via Antonino di Sangiuliano 337, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#10 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#12 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a four star hotel in the centre of Catania with 19 rooms. The rooms are positioned on three different levels. Each room is named after either an important Sicilian person or period of Sicilian history. The first floor is dedicated to Vincenzo Bellini. A world-renowned composer, born in Catania, and author of noted works like La Norma. The same Norma lends her name to our most beautiful suite. This suite boasts beautiful vaulted ceilings where, following a meticulous and complex restorative project, we were able to maintain the original frescoes, painted in the 18th century. The frescoes are not the only unique features of this suite, which could more accurately be called a royal apartment. It is almost 50m2 and has a fabulous bathroom, like something directly from the fabled Arabian Nights. The second floor is home to the rooms dedicated to Magna Grecia (Latin for "Greater Greece"): a very important period in the history of the city of Catania. The third floor is dedicated to Giovanni Verga. This author brought the name of Catania and of Sicily into the lives of many around the world with his historical novels, names that are kept alive today in names of the rooms of our hotel. All rooms are equipped with LCD monitor, WiFi, and a control panel for the electronic adjustment of lights, but most importantly they are very spacious. The Superior rooms boast either a splendid four-poster bed or a private terrace. One of the Superior rooms has a private access to the rooftop terrace with the possibility to book the exclusive use of the Solarium and the Jacuzzi. The Suites are particularly ample with separate, clearly defined living and sleeping quarters. The Suites also offer a relaxing shower with water massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Catania
Hotel Royal Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing