We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for 5 nights in November hotel was lovely food and service was excellent. The Staff were really nice at the hotel especially the lady on reception called Danielle her English was excellent and she extremely patient. She always made time for us and answered all our questions even going to the trouble of drawing us maps and recommending nice places to eat. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveibiza38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Ok - so this hotel is in a fantastic location and the service is excellent. We stayed in room 102 on the first floor and the room again is outstanding. The only downside is that the room is located next to the restuarant and stunning roof terrace - which is amazing. However, if you fancy a quiet night and there is a party on in the restuarant - either join the party, go out, or have a sleepless night. So my advice would be to make sure you book a room as far from the restaurant as you can if you want the option of a quiet night in. Whilst the breakfast is very good the evening dining room food is not the best - so another reason to explore Catania by night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heaton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Very nice hotel in a great location. Only a short walk from Via Etnea and Il Duomo. Friendly staff, comfortable, spacious rooms. Rooftop jacuzzi was perfect to relax in. Great selection at breakfast. Transfers were arranged for us on our return to the airport. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kilygonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Wonderful hotel in location close to Duomo. Very helpful staff, especially Renato and Mansour who made transfer arrangements from hotel to Catania airport as well as arranging breakfast bags for our early departure. One of the best showers in all of Sicily.

Room Tip: We were in room 212, on courtyard side of hotel. Quiet, comfortable, and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TirsoBarbaraLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Very good position and friendly hotel. Staff always helpful, a good breakfast and spotless room and en suite. Did struggle to adjust the air conditioning and wi-fi not working which was a little irritating. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance and even the bus station and railway station stations re walkable.... although rather up-hill on the way back!

Room Tip: Ask for one looking towards the sea on floor 2 or above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Our room was very dark and gloomy. There was dark red carpet in the room that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. I'm sure at one time the rooms were very special, but now they look tired and dated. The lighting is simply not adequate. There is no way of getting the room to feel bright. The bathroom was very clean however. The view from our room was great - overlooking many historic buildings.

The breakfast was good. It was served on the terrace which also afforded great views. We also stopped by the terrace for a glass of wine before heading out for dinner. The sommelier was terrific and front desk staff were very helpful.

Location was good for exploring the city, but we walked from the bus station and there is a very long steep hill to drag your luggage up. A taxi might have been in order.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Ask for a room without carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had a beautifully decorated, clean and quiet room with a private terrace. The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. We especially appreciated the help and advice from the waiter from England. The 6th floor terrace is a lovely setting for dinner and breakfast and the food was very good. The hotel itself is a fantastic building with original decor and features, with each room named as well as numbered. It was charming and we recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
0.2 mi away
Manganelli Palace Hotel
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#18 of 49 in Catania
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Principe Hotel
Il Principe Hotel
#15 of 49 in Catania
1,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Nel Cuore di Catania
B&B Nel Cuore di Catania
#6 of 324 in Catania
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Etnea 454 Catania Luxury Rooms
0.2 mi away
Ferrini Home
Ferrini Home
#1 of 107 in Catania
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Via Antonino di Sangiuliano 337, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#9 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#12 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £53 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a four star hotel in the centre of Catania with 19 rooms. The rooms are positioned on three different levels. Each room is named after either an important Sicilian person or period of Sicilian history. The first floor is dedicated to Vincenzo Bellini. A world-renowned composer, born in Catania, and author of noted works like La Norma. The same Norma lends her name to our most beautiful suite. This suite boasts beautiful vaulted ceilings where, following a meticulous and complex restorative project, we were able to maintain the original frescoes, painted in the 18th century. The frescoes are not the only unique features of this suite, which could more accurately be called a royal apartment. It is almost 50m2 and has a fabulous bathroom, like something directly from the fabled Arabian Nights. The second floor is home to the rooms dedicated to Magna Grecia (Latin for "Greater Greece"): a very important period in the history of the city of Catania. The third floor is dedicated to Giovanni Verga. This author brought the name of Catania and of Sicily into the lives of many around the world with his historical novels, names that are kept alive today in names of the rooms of our hotel. All rooms are equipped with LCD monitor, WiFi, and a control panel for the electronic adjustment of lights, but most importantly they are very spacious. The Superior rooms boast either a splendid four-poster bed or a private terrace. One of the Superior rooms has a private access to the rooftop terrace with the possibility to book the exclusive use of the Solarium and the Jacuzzi. The Suites are particularly ample with separate, clearly defined living and sleeping quarters. The Suites also offer a relaxing shower with water massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Catania
Hotel Royal Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing