We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
227
260
80
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
260
80
29
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed sun terrace decorated ceilings ravioli the air conditioning old palace superior room major attractions via etnea third floor loved this hotel spoke english the breakfast area decent hotel nice terrace cakes four star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Hotel Royal is the perfect place to be based if you want to explore Catania. It's in the historic heart, on one of the grandest (but quietest) old streets, Via Crociferi. Minutes away from the major sites. The staff were extremely friendly and always helpful, with excellent English. It was very good value for a four star hotel, though we were there in the off season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidDarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had just got off a plane from New York when we arrived here, and arrived irritable and irritated at the high taxi fare from the airport to downtown. Two hours later, we were just speechless with appreciation. The hotel has an 18th century kind of splendidness in the public rooms. Our room also had a contemporary flair, with a magnificent view from the little balcony that just compelled us to throw the doors open and watch the sun set over a panoramic view of the city. (That was a mistake: they have Mosquitos in Catania which promptly flew in at dusk).
But what most amazed us was the hotel restaurant, on a roof terrace with a spectacular view of the baroque architecture immediately around us. We had the tasting menu, which turned out to be a unexpected but massive culinary achievement which almost made the trip to Sicily worthwhile in itself and by far the best food we had on the island. It was a Sicilian food with a gourmet chef's precision. It seemed to all emerge from one woman working in the kitchen, who would produce a plate of five different appetizers, for example, any one of which would be remarkable. We almost felt guilty at how little they charged for a meal of such vast range and remarkable quality.
Finally, the location of the hotel is very good, a short walk from the old amphitheater and best baroque architecture, and not far from the main cathedral square.
But go for the restaurant. We later ate at most of the best-known restaurants around Siciliy, and nothing came close.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank WB2260763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel is on a hill in a quiet part of Catania, only a short walk from most of the sights of the city. The bedroom (on the 3rd floor) was large and had its own pleasant walled outside seating area with iron table and chairs. Some previous reviews have noted the rooms can be dark, and at night I would agree. This is due to the good size of the rooms, and there only being lighting, from wall mounted sources, or free standing lamps, there was no overhead lighting. However the room was certainly well enough illuminated to read and write with ease.

The bathroom was also well sized, with a good, and large, walk in shower.

Breakfast can be had in the dining room, which has floor to ceiling windows, or outside on the pleasant balcony. The breakfast is a cold buffet of some cakes and fruit tarts, as we’ll as a few meats, cheeses, fruit, yoghurts and cereal. However the selection was quite generic, and quality was average, so breakfast was only taken once at the hotel. There are several cafes within a 10 – 15 minute stroll from the hotel.

The staff on the front desk were charming and very helpful, particularly when the arrival time had to be moved from mid-afternoon to quite late at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here twice in September....the first time for four nights and the second for five nights. We used Catania as a base to explore eastern Sicily and Malta. Both rooms and bathrooms were very large and clean. The hotel is a short walk to all of the sights in the old town.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. On the front desk Danila and Renato greeted us with smiles and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Simone in the breakfast room started our day with a warm smile and quick service.

If we return to Catania we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 203 and 205 are great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews