We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed for one night following a few days in Syracuse. A nice central position and easily walkable from the bus station ( although at the top of a fairly steep hill). All of the staff were excellent, pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful. A minor point but my e reader ran out of charge and the receptionist went over and above to find a battery charger for me- and succeeded! The hotel is quite traditional in many parts and the room was spotlessly clean with a beautiful shower. There were no tea or coffee making facilities but again the hotel obliged and provided us with a kettle. Rooms have been "updated" with technical equipment that you touch a pad and lights come on, curtains open and close etc. personally I found this a bit of a nuisance and spent more time playing with buttons to get the lighting I wanted! Check in and out were very good and the only reason I did not give this hotel a five star review is due to the lack of information about the facilities within the hotel and were they where. We wandered along a few corridors to find the breakfast area and unfortunately the top floor was "closed" so we were unable to experience the views of Etna or make use of the Jacuzzi. This may well have been because it is early in the season but all the same a bit of a disappointment. Breakfast was continental with a good choice in a lovely glass walled area with views over the town. I would be more than happy to stay here again and congratulations to all the staff for their pleasant and helpful manner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jms52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

a nice "small" hotel closed to the center of the city .the rooms are nice also ,well serviced and clean(!),too the .you can take your breakfast on a really cool roof-deck with a complete glass front ,which is even cooler when the sun is shining .
but the best of al is the sooo friendly and cooperative staff !! THANK YOU AGAIN FOR HELPING ME IN CASE OF MY LOST WALLET .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roland vg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were part of a group that stayed in this hotel so we did not actually choose it but it was certainly a good choice. Lovely location - up a steep hill though - but very close to the main town. Very friendly and helpful staff on reception. Room was clean and more than adequate with lovely views on two sides. We did return to the hotel on our last night in Sicily and had a much smaller room with no view which was a bit disappointing. Some of our party actually had rooms with four poster beds!! Breakfast was served in the restaurant which had glass walls and lovely views - breakfast was the usual continental but was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

the Royal Hotel is a beautifully restored palazzo with all the modern comforts. it is situated on the corner of Via Crociferi, perhaps the most beautiful street in all Catania.
The Staff at the Royal are friendly, helpful and professional. Our superior room boasted a lovely four poster bed. the bathroom was on the small size. breakfast was served in a sunny glass-encased terrace. variety was good and one could enjoy a wonder view. I would definitely recommend the Royal Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gusseymanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Hotel Royal is the perfect place to be based if you want to explore Catania. It's in the historic heart, on one of the grandest (but quietest) old streets, Via Crociferi. Minutes away from the major sites. The staff were extremely friendly and always helpful, with excellent English. It was very good value for a four star hotel, though we were there in the off season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidDarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had just got off a plane from New York when we arrived here, and arrived irritable and irritated at the high taxi fare from the airport to downtown. Two hours later, we were just speechless with appreciation. The hotel has an 18th century kind of splendidness in the public rooms. Our room also had a contemporary flair, with a magnificent view from the little balcony that just compelled us to throw the doors open and watch the sun set over a panoramic view of the city. (That was a mistake: they have Mosquitos in Catania which promptly flew in at dusk).
But what most amazed us was the hotel restaurant, on a roof terrace with a spectacular view of the baroque architecture immediately around us. We had the tasting menu, which turned out to be a unexpected but massive culinary achievement which almost made the trip to Sicily worthwhile in itself and by far the best food we had on the island. It was a Sicilian food with a gourmet chef's precision. It seemed to all emerge from one woman working in the kitchen, who would produce a plate of five different appetizers, for example, any one of which would be remarkable. We almost felt guilty at how little they charged for a meal of such vast range and remarkable quality.
Finally, the location of the hotel is very good, a short walk from the old amphitheater and best baroque architecture, and not far from the main cathedral square.
But go for the restaurant. We later ate at most of the best-known restaurants around Siciliy, and nothing came close.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank WB2260763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank J. V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
0.2 mi away
Manganelli Palace Hotel
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#16 of 49 in Catania
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Principe Hotel
Il Principe Hotel
#15 of 49 in Catania
1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Nel Cuore di Catania
B&B Nel Cuore di Catania
#10 of 322 in Catania
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Etnea 454 Catania Luxury Rooms
0.2 mi away
Ferrini Home
Ferrini Home
#1 of 107 in Catania
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Via Antonino di Sangiuliano 337, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#9 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#12 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range: £62 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a four star hotel in the centre of Catania with 19 rooms. The rooms are positioned on three different levels. Each room is named after either an important Sicilian person or period of Sicilian history. The first floor is dedicated to Vincenzo Bellini. A world-renowned composer, born in Catania, and author of noted works like La Norma. The same Norma lends her name to our most beautiful suite. This suite boasts beautiful vaulted ceilings where, following a meticulous and complex restorative project, we were able to maintain the original frescoes, painted in the 18th century. The frescoes are not the only unique features of this suite, which could more accurately be called a royal apartment. It is almost 50m2 and has a fabulous bathroom, like something directly from the fabled Arabian Nights. The second floor is home to the rooms dedicated to Magna Grecia (Latin for "Greater Greece"): a very important period in the history of the city of Catania. The third floor is dedicated to Giovanni Verga. This author brought the name of Catania and of Sicily into the lives of many around the world with his historical novels, names that are kept alive today in names of the rooms of our hotel. All rooms are equipped with LCD monitor, WiFi, and a control panel for the electronic adjustment of lights, but most importantly they are very spacious. The Superior rooms boast either a splendid four-poster bed or a private terrace. One of the Superior rooms has a private access to the rooftop terrace with the possibility to book the exclusive use of the Solarium and the Jacuzzi. The Suites are particularly ample with separate, clearly defined living and sleeping quarters. The Suites also offer a relaxing shower with water massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Catania
Hotel Royal Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing