We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
227
260
82
29
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
260
82
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed sun terrace equipped bathroom decorated ceilings ravioli air con old palace major attractions hotel is in a great location superior room loved this hotel third floor via etnea spoke english the breakfast area lovely terrace cakes
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

a nice "small" hotel closed to the center of the city .the rooms are nice also ,well serviced and clean(!),too the .you can take your breakfast on a really cool roof-deck with a complete glass front ,which is even cooler when the sun is shining .
but the best of al is the sooo friendly and cooperative staff !! THANK YOU AGAIN FOR HELPING ME IN CASE OF MY LOST WALLET .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roland vg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were part of a group that stayed in this hotel so we did not actually choose it but it was certainly a good choice. Lovely location - up a steep hill though - but very close to the main town. Very friendly and helpful staff on reception. Room was clean and more than adequate with lovely views on two sides. We did return to the hotel on our last night in Sicily and had a much smaller room with no view which was a bit disappointing. Some of our party actually had rooms with four poster beds!! Breakfast was served in the restaurant which had glass walls and lovely views - breakfast was the usual continental but was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

the Royal Hotel is a beautifully restored palazzo with all the modern comforts. it is situated on the corner of Via Crociferi, perhaps the most beautiful street in all Catania.
The Staff at the Royal are friendly, helpful and professional. Our superior room boasted a lovely four poster bed. the bathroom was on the small size. breakfast was served in a sunny glass-encased terrace. variety was good and one could enjoy a wonder view. I would definitely recommend the Royal Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gusseymanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Hotel Royal is the perfect place to be based if you want to explore Catania. It's in the historic heart, on one of the grandest (but quietest) old streets, Via Crociferi. Minutes away from the major sites. The staff were extremely friendly and always helpful, with excellent English. It was very good value for a four star hotel, though we were there in the off season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidDarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had just got off a plane from New York when we arrived here, and arrived irritable and irritated at the high taxi fare from the airport to downtown. Two hours later, we were just speechless with appreciation. The hotel has an 18th century kind of splendidness in the public rooms. Our room also had a contemporary flair, with a magnificent view from the little balcony that just compelled us to throw the doors open and watch the sun set over a panoramic view of the city. (That was a mistake: they have Mosquitos in Catania which promptly flew in at dusk).
But what most amazed us was the hotel restaurant, on a roof terrace with a spectacular view of the baroque architecture immediately around us. We had the tasting menu, which turned out to be a unexpected but massive culinary achievement which almost made the trip to Sicily worthwhile in itself and by far the best food we had on the island. It was a Sicilian food with a gourmet chef's precision. It seemed to all emerge from one woman working in the kitchen, who would produce a plate of five different appetizers, for example, any one of which would be remarkable. We almost felt guilty at how little they charged for a meal of such vast range and remarkable quality.
Finally, the location of the hotel is very good, a short walk from the old amphitheater and best baroque architecture, and not far from the main cathedral square.
But go for the restaurant. We later ate at most of the best-known restaurants around Siciliy, and nothing came close.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank WB2260763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews