We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for 1-2 nights stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Del Duomo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Catania
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Del Duomo
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for 1-2 nights stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We spent here one night in October - the hotel is clean, the room was very cozy and big, right under the roof with a view on Square del Duomo (not sure about the title).
It is really quite noisy but that in my opinion is a part of the hotel's atmosphere.
The view was great.
The biggest negative feature of the place is absence of a lift - carrying luggage on the 4th floor is nonsense. Also they do not serve breakfast while the nearest cafes are quite expensive and not tasty.

Room Tip: Good only for 1-2 nights stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YanaZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

very well positioned, central, clean, cheap
just below the windows was a club hotel with outdoor tables and music turned up
I could not sleep more than 3 hours / night, day was as bad as the night

Room Tip: earplugs or other hotel I stayed here in November 2009 but can not select the correct month and ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aanilatac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Lonely Planet gave this hotel a good rap so we made aservation via internert which was confirmed subject to an immediate card charge of 50% of the booking -unusual but one assumes honesty. A short while after making the reservation, and taking the hit on the credit card, the hotel informed us that due to excepional ciicumstances the hotel would be closed on the dates of our reservations but the deposit had been transferred to their 'sister hotel' , some other place without appeal. We declined ands requested a refund of our deposit. Despite their [eventual ] promise to refund, they never did.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We were meant to stay here for a week but on the day of our arrival the hotel had to close for a technical reason (never fully explained) and we were moved to another hotel 500 metres away. The hotel had e-mailed me to inform me of the change but this was after I had e-mailed them to advise them that we were travelling prior to my arrival and so not to phone not e-mail us. My only satisfaction was to produce a copy of my e-mail (not that it did me much good). As we'd paid a 50% deposit we were not really in a position to argue.

Although the Del Duomo had arranged for us to stay at another hotel we were very disappointed that the one they had chosen was half a kilometre away on a very busy road. We had chosen the Del Duomo largely because of its location (near the cathedral and on a quietish, mainly pedestrianised square).

In their favour the Del Duomo did pay for the taxi to transfer us to the other hotel.

NB the hotel did not appear to have a lift so if you have heavy luggage be warned.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TuscanHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

We spent 3 nights at the start of our visit and 1 night at the end. The second room we had was nicer in that it overlooked the Piazza Universita rather than an internal courtyard, but both were spacious and comfortable. The plumbing in room 102 had a hilarious 'jet-engine' effect whenever you flushed the toilet, but only for a few seconds!
Breakfasts were fine, though a bit limited in choice.
Staff very helpful, and most spoke English.
Best of all, was the location which was right in the centre of the old part of Catania, also about 200 m or so from Piazza Borsellino, where all the buses go from- these are a greta cheap and reliable way of getting around Sicily.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We booked four nights here in room 106 with that great view of the piazza and the duomo in the distance. The hotel is on a beautiful piazza one block from the Duomo and a short walk to the fish market and all the sites. We really enjoyed walking around Catania and found the location of this hotel to be very convenient.

The hotel is entered through the building's courtyard and up two flights of stairs...no lift. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The a la carte breakfast was typical with toasts, cakes, yogurt and fruit served in a small nicely appointed room. The room was a nice size and clean with the typical conveniences.

Parking is a bit of a problem. We were able to leave a car on the street near the fish market overnight however it is a bit confusing as you park perpendicular to the curb on the sidewalk in the evening and then parallel to the curb once the market starts at 6:30 in the morning. We used Catania as a base location for two day trips to Taormina and Siracusa and it worked out perfectly.

Once we landed in Catania we caught the bus to Piazza Borselino/Alcala and it was a five minute walk. We did the trip in reverse after two days to pick up the rental car at the airport. Very easy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsevyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

This hotel is located right on the main square in the centre of town. The building is full of charm and character and the rooms are very nice. The gentlemen on reception were extremely helpful and ammomodating and made us feel absolutely at home.

There wasn't much of a selction at breakfast but there are plenty of cafes on the square. I definately reccomend this hotel.

  • Liked — The location and service
  • Disliked — Not much choice at breakfast
Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank H1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
San Demetrio Hotel
San Demetrio Hotel
#44 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Stesicorea Palace
#27 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
New Hotel Sangiuliano
New Hotel Sangiuliano
#34 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Valentino
Hotel Valentino
#46 of 50 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Centro Catania
Domus Hotel
Domus Hotel
#37 of 50 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Duomo

Property: Hotel Del Duomo
Address: Via Etnea 28, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Del Duomo Hotel
Hotel Del Duomo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing