We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect petite hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Del Duomo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Catania
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Del Duomo
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect petite hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We booked four nights here in room 106 with that great view of the piazza and the duomo in the distance. The hotel is on a beautiful piazza one block from the Duomo and a short walk to the fish market and all the sites. We really enjoyed walking around Catania and found the location of this hotel to be very convenient.

The hotel is entered through the building's courtyard and up two flights of stairs...no lift. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The a la carte breakfast was typical with toasts, cakes, yogurt and fruit served in a small nicely appointed room. The room was a nice size and clean with the typical conveniences.

Parking is a bit of a problem. We were able to leave a car on the street near the fish market overnight however it is a bit confusing as you park perpendicular to the curb on the sidewalk in the evening and then parallel to the curb once the market starts at 6:30 in the morning. We used Catania as a base location for two day trips to Taormina and Siracusa and it worked out perfectly.

Once we landed in Catania we caught the bus to Piazza Borselino/Alcala and it was a five minute walk. We did the trip in reverse after two days to pick up the rental car at the airport. Very easy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsevyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

This hotel is located right on the main square in the centre of town. The building is full of charm and character and the rooms are very nice. The gentlemen on reception were extremely helpful and ammomodating and made us feel absolutely at home.

There wasn't much of a selction at breakfast but there are plenty of cafes on the square. I definately reccomend this hotel.

  • Liked — The location and service
  • Disliked — Not much choice at breakfast
Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank H1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

Location and staff are excellent. It is in the heart of Catania, 3 minutes walk from pescheria, piazza duomo and right on via etnea!

The only problem is at night it gets a bit noisy outside if you are the kind of person who cannot sleep through noise.

  • Liked — excellent location
  • Disliked — noise outside in piazza duomo after midnight
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TheInquisitive_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terni
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

In April, I've spent a couple of days in Catania for a business trip. I've stayed at Hotel Del Duomo, that I had previously found out on tripadvisor website, and so I decided to book there.
The Hotel is absolutely charming and cheap, if you consider the real level of the service, over the avarage of 3 stars hotels in Italy (even better than some 4 stars, I've visited).
The staff was friendly and obliging. I'm looking forward to going back to Catania, no matter if for business or for leisure, to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shoestring_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2008

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Hotel del Duomo Catania. The hotel is really nice and excellent service. Breakfast included crossaints, cornflakes, cake , yoghurt etc... The management were wonderful and were really helpful.

Situated in the heart of Catania we found it suitable to go shopping and it is as described in the photos in this site.

Although there is no lift, it was not a problem as the management were really helpful with the luggage. (and we had two very big luggage 25 kgs each).

A great service with a smile.

Definitely I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Catania.

  • Liked — the fact of being central
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vellasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2007

The Hotel del Duomo is located a few steps away from Catania's cathedral (Duomo, hence its name) and right in the very heart of this attractive sicilian city. The Hotel del Duomo's location is superb, being a few steps away from main monuments, restaurants, bars and the main shops of Via Etnea, you would be really pushed to find a more central place of this quality (officially 3 star). Don't be put out by its entrance though, the hotel is on the first floor of an old palace and you will need to go through a 'working' courtyard (hotel entrance on the left) which is rather dark and dilapidated; once you are inside the hotel though everything is absolutely spotless and well appointed. The bedrooms are air conditioned, with phone, tv and generous and well appointed bathrooms with all the amenities. There is a small lounge and a very small breakfast room (the hotel has only got 12 rooms). Do not expect more than the usual continental breakfast though! A word of warning also, as the hotel is on the first floor and there is no lift it is not recommendable for disabled or elderly people. I have uploaded some photos, but what you see in the hotel official web site is a true representation of this establishment. Would I stay again? Definitely. The staff are friendly and helpful, the location excellent, the rooms are spotless and have all you need, what else can you ask for? But another warning, I nearly forgot, as the hotel is surrounded by churches, you may be woken up in the morning by the sound of the cathedral's bells (and the other churches), I found this detail charming, but if you hate church bells, find another place!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank impavidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Hotel Collegiata
Hotel Collegiata
#26 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Centro Catania
San Demetrio Hotel
San Demetrio Hotel
#44 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Hotel Valentino
Hotel Valentino
#46 of 50 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Hotel Centrale Europa
#27 of 50 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Centro Catania
Domus Hotel
Domus Hotel
#37 of 50 in Catania
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Duomo

Property: Hotel Del Duomo
Address: Via Etnea 28, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Del Duomo Hotel
Hotel Del Duomo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing