We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stop Over”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Romeo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Romeo
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Stop Over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at the Villa Romeo on the first and last nights of our recent holiday to Sicily. We chose it because it is handy for the railway station and buses to the airport. The staff were superb and so friendly, helping us to do our online check in for our flight and providing useful information on where to visit in the city. The garden terrace in in December was a lovely cosy place to sit and enjoy some warm Mediterranean sunshine.

Room Tip: Try to get one which leads out onto the garden terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    179
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
61
199
95
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Our stay was the most pleasant we remember, the hitel was magnificently different, oozing character, the staff was so lovely and helpful it made us wish we didn't have to leave, always on hand to help and advise, the terraces blooming with beautiful potted plants, ornate verandas and a feeling of tranquility that is almost impossible to imagine beforehand, specially seen as it is bang in the middle of a busling city, we specially loved the professor in his non assuming gardening dressing gown and slippers, who our children admired greatly, and Francesco, who was always on hand to help and a friendly chat. We traveled with two teenagers and a young child, and could not have picked a better place to stay! An unforgettable place with unforgettable people, restaurants and shops around showed us that everyone was child friendly and very welcoming. We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I went to this hotel in October 2011. The hotel has good reviews and for the most part came well above expectations. The staff - concierges - on the desk were helpfulness personified, recommending somewhere to eat in the evening that was good as well as close by. The decoration and general presentation of the rooms was also excellent. There was free WiFi available, though generally only in public areas (it is perfectly possible that the density/quantity of walls between computer and server point worked against this). Breakfast offered the full range of styles: full 'English' to all shades of 'Continental'. Bread was fresh, if a little unexciting. There were sun loungers/chairs/tables/plants on the terraces, and there was a machine from which various kinds of hot drink could be obtained 24/24. As a single, slightly older, female traveller I felt safe and cared about.
On the other hand there were aspects that reduced the rating from 'Excellent' to 'Very Good'. The single room which I occupied was small. Barely enough space to get my cases through the door, and the en suite meant that there was a need to close the door in order to get to the wash basin. The TV may well have been excellent, but with NO English language channels available (at least for 'free') it was unlikely to be used. Sadly there was an odour of drains that, on one occasion, was so thick you could almost have cut it....

Room Tip: Do look at their website if you are booking in advance. If you turn up to the hotel wihtout prior bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaMary60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed at Villa Romeo one night in a spacious comfortable room, good breakfast, helpful staff. The next day I broke my hip. The staff at Villa Romeo went out of their way to help with communications with my family and made 2 trips to the hospital. They were incredibly helpful with a genuine desire to be of assisstance. I lucked out by staying at this hotel with such fantastic people. I recommend them highly. PS They have a courtyard with orchids and are close to the train station with a short walk to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lslriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Just back from a week in this hotel and overall it was a very pleasant place to stay. It was a bit grotty from the outside but once inside we were quiet surprised. We had a prompt check in with a very helpful staff member, did'nt get his name but he was always pleasent,helpful and friendly and we only saw him on the morning shift.
We were a bit surprised at our room, very small and a tiny bathroom which had cracked glass on shower door and was also difficult to close over, I was afraid it would fall on top of us. When we looked at this Hotel on the internet all the pictures showed big airy rooms, but we did'nt get one of these.

Each morning I woke with insect bites which are very itchy and I had to go to a pharmacy for cream for them, Im not sure if the insects were coming from the bathroom or just the room in general as we did not open the window while we were there. I did'nt mention it to reception as I knew the hotel was full and we could not change room anyway.

Our room was cleaned and towels changed daily. The breakfast was not great, we went for breakfast before 9am ( served between 7am and 10am ) most mornings there was not a lot left and they did not seem to replace items when gone, no crossiants and sometimes no bread rolls, coffee came from a thermos and most mornings it was only warm not hot, tinned fruit instead of fresh, cold boiled egg and sausage.this
The helpful staff at reception were really great and the best thing about this hotel was them.

Room Tip: 122 must be the smallest room in the hotel so avoid if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davesbirdDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We recently stayed here and were impressed by the friendly staff. They all spoke excellent English, were anxious to provide information on what to see, where to dine, etc. The rooms are well-appointed with all the ammenities one would want, and very clean. The hotel is easy to locate, and is convenient to both the central station and airport. The neighborhood is a bit suspect owing to its close proximity to the central train station. I would not advise visiting Catania on a Sunday as some tourist sites were closed as was the Mt Etna train.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the main street
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tbketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I was so glad I booked the villa Romeo, the hotel was trully sicilian with beautiful reception, entrance, rooms, beakfast room and as for the garden terrace - what can I say, tranquility in a buzzing city. We booked a triple room as I was on a family trip with my brother and mum to visit our Grandfathers grave in Catania war cemetry. The room was HUGE with 2 twin beds and a King size also, balcony to the leafy street below and very clean, The staff were fantastic and couldn't help us enough, all spoke good english and made us feel so welcome from start to finish. Catania is a brilliant city, vibrant, beautiful and so much to see, not at all what I expected from reading reviews and books on the city. The hotel was easy to find by car as its right next to the train station, it only took 15 mins to walk to the heart of the city passing lots of amazing traditional baroque architecture. Brilliant restaurants were recommended by the hotel staff, one of which was just round the corner, street parking was available and safe as the whole area outside the hotel has security cameras. you wont be dissapointed if you stay here. We even spoke to the owner Romeo who was in his beautifull gardens inspecting the plants. Brilliant hotel, Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Internal rooms are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Romeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Romeo

Property: Hotel Villa Romeo
Address: Via Platamone 8, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Romeo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former 19th century palace, the hotel offers an elegant fusion of historic architecture and décor with modern comforts, good transport links and a central location.Fully restored with careful attention paid to its history, this 3-star hotel is fully equipped for both leisure and business travellers. In summer months, you can enjoy a relaxing moment on the terrace, with a drink from the bar. Alternatively you can unwind in the peaceful greenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Romeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Catania
Hotel Villa Romeo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing