We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique B & B in Central Catania”
Review of 5 Balconi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
5 Balconi
Ranked #20 of 339 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My initital e-mails with Rob & Cristina after finding this boutique B&B in the travel guide of the Guardian were friendly and helpful. As a result I had most of the information needed to hand. Rob checked us in and took time to show us on a local map the most interesting historic places to visit and we therefore did not waste any time. These sites are within easy walking distance of the appartment and were all well worth visiting especially the Fish Market and Monistero dei Benedetini where you can have a very interesting guided tour. We were also given a list of recommended restaurants, one of which we used on our first night located near the castle ten minutes away. Eventually we found some of our own choice. Eating in Catania is almost guaranteed to be good and very reasonable. We stayed for 9 nights and became the 'honoroured guests' with every need catered for in fact we were seriously spoilt. Sharing the bathrooms was not a problem as they were always spotless. We were in Room 2 for 7 nights and this was very spacious and less noisy than No. 4. Unfortunately in Sicily there is very often noise of traffic and people and this is difficult to avoid. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fresh local bread and croissants (Rob bought us special ones each day) and good sicilian organic jam, fruit, cereals and meat and cheese if required. Tea and coffee on tap. The position is very convenient for the airport, the train station and the bus terminal which has links to the rest of Sicily. We thoroughly enjoyed Catania and were not bored for a moment and would recommend staying in the 2nd City as it is known for a few days.

Room Tip: All the rooms give out onto a busy road, but if you are a couple or family choose Room 2 as a prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sicily2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

As a previous reviewer has said, we too arrived in a highly stressed state in a hire car from Ortigia, a haven of peace and quiet. However Rob came to the rescue and found a parking space directly opposite the B&B. He is very relaxed and made us feel welcome and spent time chatting about the area and possible restaurants to try in the evening. (We tried one in the fish market and it was excellent.) And this was in the middle of us arriving a bit early and other people leaving! The room was clean and lovely to look at but maybe a little lacking in comfort if staying for more than a day or two. The breakfast was plentiful and good. The B&B is convenient to the centre of Catania and the room we had looked out onto a main street (bit noisy) but it was nice in the morning to stand and look out of the balcony windows and watch Catanians going about their business. We didn't meet Cristina but thanks Rob, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60AnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A lovely welcoming homely oasis in a busy untouristy city. Don't be put off by the slightly down at heel communal entrance - this is a mixture of smart chic and personal touches. A spacious 2nd floor appartment, with tastefully decorated high ceilinged rooms, with balconies over the street. Cristina was so friendly and helpful on restaurants, activities and taxis. A great place to stay before flying back to UK as not too far to the airport. Good breakfast and could help ourselves to tea and coffee when we wanted.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Cristina was marvellously unfazed by our initial arrival in a HIGHLY stressed state; we had just negotiated the midday traffic in a hire car driven from north of Etna and still had the intimidating prospect of getting the car returned to the Hertz office back in the north of the city within the hour. With scarcely a word, we dumped our bags and rushed off again.
When we returned (fully recovered from the ordeal, although not from amazement that the car was unscathed) much later in the afternoon, Cristina was really welcoming, attentive and helpful with suggestions about where to go to eat, and options for getting to the airport the following morning.
The apartment is lovely and breakfast excellent. The only negative is that we found the traffic noise quite disturbing at night; I don't know whether any of the other rooms overlook the building's courtyard rather than the main street.
Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Beware night-time traffic noise in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I can't say enough great things about this place, the people, and my stay here. I stayed at 5 Balconi for 3 nights last month and left for one overnight stay in Syracuse. When I came back the next day, I felt like I was coming home. Rob and Cristina are exceptionally friendly, kind, and hospitable. They have put a lot of work into the place and it clearly shows - the rooms, including but limited to the beds, are extremely comfortable, the 2 bathrooms are spotless, and breakfast is delicious. In addition, the decor is charming and the addition of Cristina's award-winning photographs is a lovely touch. My stay at 5 Balconi was so comfortable and the company was so delightful that I would've been happy not leaving the B&B. However, Rob & Cristina are both so accommodating (about things to do in and outside of Catania) that I enjoyed exploring the city and beyond, with their helpful recommendations. STAY HERE - you can't go wrong! Grazie di tutto, Rob & Cristina, e tanti saluti dalla Virginia! xo Molly

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I definitely recommend this B&B. It is run by a lovely couple, Rob and Christina who speak fluent English. We stayed in the Balcony 2 room (the biggest) for 3 nights. We had problems coming from the airport so arrived quite late however Rob was still there to meet us with a smile on his face. The apartment is in a great convenient location in Catania. We had a car and parked it out the front for 3 days with no problem. Although not evident from the exterior of the building, the B&B is beautifully appointed. A lot of care has gone into decorating the rooms and apartment area. Rob and Christina provided some great advice about sightseeing and places to eat which we took. We enjoyed have a chat with Christina over breakfast in the morning (which they make according to your request).

I would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this place to others. You will have a great time in Catania if you know what to do, where to go and embrace what the city has to offer.

Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Balcony 2 is the biggest but I saw the other rooms and they are beautiful also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed here with my adult daughter in May for two nights before travelling to Palermo and a further two nights before returning home. Rob and Cristina were wonderfully welcoming and very helpful with many suggestions. They could not have been better hosts. The rooms are charming, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Returning for our second two night stay was almost like going home. The relaxed and pleasant atmosphere made a huge contribution to our enjoyment of our first trip to Sicily. It could not have been better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Casa Barbero
Casa Barbero
#1 of 339 in Catania
647 reviews
Centro Catania
Bad Catania
Bad Catania
#28 of 339 in Catania
374 reviews
Centro Catania
Eh13 B&B
Eh13 B&B
#10 of 339 in Catania
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Palazzo Bruca Catania
#17 of 339 in Catania
166 reviews
B&B Miro
#7 of 339 in Catania
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Balconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Balconi

Address: Via Plebiscito 133, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: £41 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristina (Sicilian) and Rob (English) welcome you to the "5 Balconi Bed & Breakfast," a sunny palazzo built in the 1800's, with lots of color, character and charm. We are situated in the historic heart of Catania, in the quarter of the famous fish market and right above the 13th Century Ursino Castle, which dominates the piazza and gardens of Federico di Svevia. Here you can wine and dine "al fresco" on delicious typical dishes at very reasonable prices, while soaking up the atmosphere of an authentic Sicilian quarter. We offer elegant & luxurious rooms to accommodate singles, doubles, triples, with inter-connecting family rooms for up to 5 people. All have 5 metre high domed ceilings and chandeliers, very comfortable beds with mosquito nets, duvets in winter and flowering balconies of iron and marble.NB: Fresh linen/towels, air conditioning & heating are standard in all the rooms.Wi-Fi, iron & ironing board, a fridge, chilled mineral water, organic biscuits & tea/coffee making facilities are also available for guests, any time and free of charge. We also provide a list of our recommended restaurants, local information & book excursions to the volcano.Our breakfasts are nutritious and delicious and can be taken in your room or in the communal dining area.NB: We serve locally produced organic oranges, bread & marmalades. Savoury breakfast alternatives are available for guests who don't have 'a sweet tooth'. We are only 10 mins. By bus/car from the airport, a 20 min. Walk to a golden sandy beach and a convenient base for exploring the East coast of the island (Taormina, Etna, Siracusa, Pantalica & Enna are all within 1 hours drive).Parking is free, infront of the B&B and in the surrounding streets. We are situated on the 2nd floor and have a lift for our guests comfort and convenience. A City Tax of €1-00 per person, per night, up to a maximum of 3 nights, is payable on departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your 5 Balconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Balconi Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing