We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manganelli Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Liberty Hotel(Catania)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Royal(Catania)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
146
215
78
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
215
78
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfourth floorgreat locationold fashioned liftopen air rooftopside streetvia etneacity centretourist sitesrecommend this hotelbed was comfortablenight stayvisiting cataniareception staffclean roomsthe breakfast areanice roomair con
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The hotel location is great but the room is so noisy and I couldn't sleep easily.the room is big enough and with a nice painting on the ceiling but the bathroom is so small that you can't move easily.The breakfast room is very small and breakfast quality is really poor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fara046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The location was great, being in between the bus station and main piazza. The room was clean, had plenty of room and a small balcony; however, there was no fresco of any kind, just white paint (room right off of the breakfast room). The staff was very friendly and most spoke good English. All of the recommendations they gave me were helpful. I really liked two restaurants near the piazza for Italian seafood dishes: Sicilia in Bocca and Osteria Antica Sicilia. I did a day-trip via bus to Taormina and recommend it. The ruins there are really well-preserved and there are lots of shops, cafes and restaurants to enjoy. You catch the blue buses in a lot two blocks from the main bus station. The tickets are bought at an office one block from the lot. I also did the afternoon trip to Mount Etna. I wanted the morning trip, but the company moved me due to another couple wanting the cave tour, which was nothing special. Francesca was a good tour guide who provided useful information. If you are into markets, make sure to check out the fish market by the duomo and the flea market not too far from Manganelli Palace which has a variety of things.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Manganelli Palace is perfectly situated close to the city centre of Catania. It's a "Palazzo" of the XVIIIth century which has kept beautifully painted ceilings in each bedroom. The welcome was warm and the staff particularly helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest rooms: 40 m2
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerfromLille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Manganelli Palace is located in Catania centre, close to Piazza del Duomo and the busy shopping street Via Etnea. It is lively busy on Saturday outside and until late night quite noisy, which can be heard inside, despite the curtains and windows. Easiliy reachable with bus 457 from the airport. Buy the busticket (€ 1.50 vs a taxi € 20) inside the airport (the outside ticketcentre is not always occupied). If it is late take a taxi. Get off at Piazza del Duomo, walk straight across the Duomo square / piazza del Duomo past the church and get on the shopping street Via Etnea. Then take the 3rd street to the right or ask the many police officers the Piazza Manganelli.The hotel is somehow odd, an elevator to the reception on the 3rd floor and the rooms through another elevator (2 buildings, which are glued together). The air conditioning and safe did not work properly, the shower is great, but water leaks under the glass (room 303), giving you wet feet on a necessary towel on the floor. Simple breakfast in a small space, but the price is fine. Watch out for the quiet spots around the quiet neighbourhood of the market. We were almost robbed by a thief on a scooter (also happens in NL). Take a tour to Mount Etna (half a day € 49, pricey but the enthusiastic tour leader Francesca offers you a good and enthousiastic story). 3 days Catania, but 2.5 days would have been sufficient. Manganelli palace is a good start for visiting Catania and Etna.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the being of our trip and one at the end, our rooom was ok with a sort of wet room shower which water was cold in shower and I slipped up in it as it did not flow away correctly bed was king size and rock hard the last night we were put in a single room with a small double bed with an oldish shower room the toilet paper is the thinest ever! Glad I brought a roll! Our room very chain like, breakfast ok , Staff however are excellent and helpful especially the lady running the very small breakfast room good central location very quaint old lift only takes two thin people wih small bags! stairs quite a climb so wait for lift! Although at the top of a Palace with some palace like suiets other guests mention rooms like ours its
Ok for short city break . Pack some of your favorite loo paper!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chailey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews