We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel and Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manganelli Palace Hotel
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Great Location!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed for one night in this Hotel and overall it was a good experience. It is in a great location if one wants to visit the city centre. City centre can be reached on foot. Staff was very helpful and very nice. The staff held our luggages after check out in order for us to be able to visit the city centre. Also, when we went back for the luggages we needed a taxi and they called one for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    179
    67
    13
    8
See reviews for
65
164
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very good hotel for the price. Nice rooms, good breakfast, good service. The hotel is just one block from the main street Via Etnea and three blocks from the Duomo. Parking inside the palace or on the square outside. Clean rooms, ok showers, not perfect air conditioning (or did we not know how to fine-tune it??).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The hotel location is great but the room is so noisy and I couldn't sleep easily.the room is big enough and with a nice painting on the ceiling but the bathroom is so small that you can't move easily.The breakfast room is very small and breakfast quality is really poor.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fara046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The location was great, being in between the bus station and main piazza. The room was clean, had plenty of room and a small balcony; however, there was no fresco of any kind, just white paint (room right off of the breakfast room). The staff was very friendly and most spoke good English. All of the recommendations they gave me were helpful. I really liked two restaurants near the piazza for Italian seafood dishes: Sicilia in Bocca and Osteria Antica Sicilia. I did a day-trip via bus to Taormina and recommend it. The ruins there are really well-preserved and there are lots of shops, cafes and restaurants to enjoy. You catch the blue buses in a lot two blocks from the main bus station. The tickets are bought at an office one block from the lot. I also did the afternoon trip to Mount Etna. I wanted the morning trip, but the company moved me due to another couple wanting the cave tour, which was nothing special. Francesca was a good tour guide who provided useful information. If you are into markets, make sure to check out the fish market by the duomo and the flea market not too far from Manganelli Palace which has a variety of things.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Manganelli Palace is perfectly situated close to the city centre of Catania. It's a "Palazzo" of the XVIIIth century which has kept beautifully painted ceilings in each bedroom. The welcome was warm and the staff particularly helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest rooms: 40 m2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerfromLille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Manganelli Palace is located in Catania centre, close to Piazza del Duomo and the busy shopping street Via Etnea. It is lively busy on Saturday outside and until late night quite noisy, which can be heard inside, despite the curtains and windows. Easiliy reachable with bus 457 from the airport. Buy the busticket (€ 1.50 vs a taxi € 20) inside the airport (the outside ticketcentre is not always occupied). If it is late take a taxi. Get off at Piazza del Duomo, walk straight across the Duomo square / piazza del Duomo past the church and get on the shopping street Via Etnea. Then take the 3rd street to the right or ask the many police officers the Piazza Manganelli.The hotel is somehow odd, an elevator to the reception on the 3rd floor and the rooms through another elevator (2 buildings, which are glued together). The air conditioning and safe did not work properly, the shower is great, but water leaks under the glass (room 303), giving you wet feet on a necessary towel on the floor. Simple breakfast in a small space, but the price is fine. Watch out for the quiet spots around the quiet neighbourhood of the market. We were almost robbed by a thief on a scooter (also happens in NL). Take a tour to Mount Etna (half a day € 49, pricey but the enthusiastic tour leader Francesca offers you a good and enthousiastic story). 3 days Catania, but 2.5 days would have been sufficient. Manganelli palace is a good start for visiting Catania and Etna.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the being of our trip and one at the end, our rooom was ok with a sort of wet room shower which water was cold in shower and I slipped up in it as it did not flow away correctly bed was king size and rock hard the last night we were put in a single room with a small double bed with an oldish shower room the toilet paper is the thinest ever! Glad I brought a roll! Our room very chain like, breakfast ok , Staff however are excellent and helpful especially the lady running the very small breakfast room good central location very quaint old lift only takes two thin people wih small bags! stairs quite a climb so wait for lift! Although at the top of a Palace with some palace like suiets other guests mention rooms like ours its
Ok for short city break . Pack some of your favorite loo paper!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chailey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#6 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manganelli Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manganelli Palace Hotel

Property: Manganelli Palace Hotel
Address: Via Recalcaccia 2 | (ang. P.zza Manganelli), 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manganelli Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prestigious position of the baroque of Catania rises the Manganelli building, an ancient noble residence. The Manganelli Palace borns indoors it, pleasant and exclusive hotel in which refinement and style mingle to draw an elegant and unique environment which represents the new way of sleeping in Catania. Thanks to the strategic position from where you can admire the town, to the wise restoration of the frescoes and to the maximum attention in the details, the classical style is combined with the elegance of the contemporary style offering an exclusive receptivity. Both who travels for pleasure or for business will be surround oneself with rooms elegantly furnished, comfortable and with every comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Manganelli Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manganelli Palace Catania
Manganelli Palace Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing