We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella centre of Italian vita!!!”
Review of Bad Catania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bad Catania
Ranked #25 of 324 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have just returned home from staying in this fantastic boutique B&B. It's quirky, with great modern artworks.
The staff are ALL fantasico, very friendly and extremely helpful, the reception is not manned after 7pm, so it feels like your own home, but they give you a business card with private numbers and mobiles for any emergencies and are just 5 mins away! We stayed in the rooftop self catering apartment. It was absolutely excellent, really big, spotlessly clean, maid service every day, towels etc. You have a private rooftop patio with a view of Etna, where you can sit with the smell of Jasmine at night, listen to and watch the bats sweep and dance, observe the locals, and gecos. It's right opposite the local bus station (not the main centre one, but all the buses stop there including the Interbus) so easily reached from the airport and easy to get everywhere. It's also right next to the Fish and Vegetable market, which is AMAZING!!! You get vouchers for breakfast at a 24 hour typical Sicilian Patiserie/Bar 'Etoile D'or'. You can have a cafe and Croissant and let me tell you they are scrummy, warm, fresh, crispy and crumbly and full of nutella or custard or with pistachio. If you want to feel at the centre of Sicilian life, sample the delights of the market and have an amazing experience, this is the place for you. We had an 5* A+++++ experince and will definatey be returning! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma-RoseCaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

I would say it´s good value. Catania is definitely worth seeing, but like Palermo, it is a big city that can be dirty in decrepit in some areas. This B&B is well located near the historical centre. The area might seem worrysome at first, but the B&B is wonderful and after a couple of nights there we got used to it and even made friends with some locals :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

The area seemed a little worrysome at first. On first appearance its dirty and graffiti and litter everywhere. Once you have worked out where you are its actually a geat location. Its right behind the fresh markets in catania and that explains most of the litter.

Its convenient to everything. You can park in the evenings for free on the road outside the apartmen. Dont leave your car there in the daytime though and forget to top up your parking tcket. We did by 15 mins and got fined and its a steep fine.
Breakfast is lovely at the cofee shop they give you vouchers for. Plenty of steps up to the rooms so be prepared for no lift. Our room was clean and with a private bathroom. We will definitely stay here again.

Let me mention the only negative. Unfortunaly nothing can be done about it .The building is a few hundred years old and the plumbing is ancient. Unfortunaly it leaves a horrible smell in the bathroom at times, not sewerage as such but a smelly drain smell. You have to work around this and make sure you keep your door closed between bedroom and bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We spent two nights at either end of our holiday in Sicily, and were given different rooms on each night. The location is great - right by the Pescheria market and the Piazza del Duomo. Very central. A lot of thought has gone into the pop art style decor and all in all it proved a great place to stay for the price. My only gripe would be that it was quite noisy, but that's due to the proximity to the main road. The second room we had was definitely quieter and was located in the building with its entrance on the adjoining street. I see some people have complained that the entrance was a bit unprepossessing and didn't like that breakfast is at a nearby cafe. Come on people! The former is because it's housed in a regular domestic apartment building and, personally, I think the latter - going out for breakfast - is a nice thing. Gets you out of the room and into the thick of Catanian and Sicilian life in the morning and the coffee's great in an Italian cafe where it never is in any hotel. All in all I'd recommend this place for those on a budget who want to be as close to the centre of things as possible. Nice staff, too!

Room Tip: Ask for their quietest rooms. I think they all vary quite a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vvvdolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in order to take our flight home from Catania Airport. Reading the reviews, our expectations were quite high. So we were slightly disappointed for a number of reasons. First, upon arrival the building looks quite decrepit and we had to haul our one big suitcase up 2 flights of stairs. No elevator. But OK. Reception was fine, a bit crowded and messy with arty stuff but friendly personel.
Our room was at the front of the building, facing the street. Nice but not quite so clean. Maybe our early arrival sped up the cleaning a bit too much. The bathroom smelled a mix of bad toilet plumbing and artificial air freshener. The room was also located next to the shared bathroom so all night we heard other guests using and flushing the toilet. Further night noise came from the floor above (thin flooring), the street traffic, and buzzing electrical plugs which we couldn't unplug. Not a great night sleep.
Upon departure there was a dispute between another guest and the receptionist so we didn't leave with a very good feeling.
We have stayed in other design B&Bs, but this one wasn't one we would recommend.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, but I would opt for those in the back of the building to avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evelyn_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Like the title suggests, I liked everything about the hotel, the rooms were clean the staff were friendly and helpful with information and the location could'nt have been better! The breakfast however was at a nearby cafe and was'nt very nice.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank Ttclub68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

This B&B is fantastically situated right in the centre of town, near the main market area and the central square. The rooms are really well decorated and it has a bath which seems to be a rarity. The wifi is also free and strong. Like a lion in the savannah. However the main let downs are the lack of pillows and the low ceiling. But if you are under 5ft tall then that's fine. The staff are knowledgable and speak good English. Of course it would have been polite for me to have learnt Italian properly, but then I'm a British tourist, people are just thankful that I'm not smashing the place up in a lager-fuelled football rage. Best not to stay here if you're a vegan, the breakfast is coffee and croissant, and the Italians still have a weird obsession with drinking another creature's breast milk. All in all though, a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougjohnston40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Casa Barbero
Casa Barbero
#1 of 324 in Catania
638 reviews
B&B Miro
#5 of 324 in Catania
226 reviews
Centro Catania
5 Balconi
5 Balconi
#18 of 324 in Catania
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellini Home
#24 of 324 in Catania
142 reviews
Centro Catania
Suite Inn
Suite Inn
#34 of 324 in Catania
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bad Catania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Catania

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 24, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: £38 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bad Catania 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conceived like a small Boutique hotel, BAD is the first Design Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Catania. Much more than a simple b&b, it is a unique mix of hospitality and creativity, ideal for both those travelling for pleasure and for business. It unites the fascinating Catanese baroque architecture with contemporary art and design. At BAD one breathes the creativity of Giulia and Alessandro, the two owners and curators. Professionals in the World of advertising and graphic design, they have expertly created within the ample and comfortable rooms different ambiences, exhibiting psychedelic wallpapers, amazing 19th Century Sicilian artifacts, vintage furniture and works of young aspiring artists. Every room of the b&b in fact has a different mood, colour and feeling, with two or three beds, private bathroom and naturally all the comforts you would expect. BAD is in the beating heart of Catania: in a XIX century building, next to the historical fish market "la Pescheria" and within a stone's throw of the Cathedral and main monuments of the city. Furthermore BAD is only a few minutes away from the airport, the train station and the port, and just 100 meters from a bus station which connects to other main Sicilian resorts. Because BAD is more than a sleeping experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bad Catania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Catania Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing