We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Bad Catania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bad Catania
Ranked #24 of 309 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vittoriosa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

excellent location, very clean, helpful staff., so close to attractions which can be visited by walk , also very easy for parking facility, breakfast is served in a nearby cafe which is open 24hrs daily serving mouth watering pastries,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    129
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
44
188
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Well, very good, actually. Bad Catania ticks all the boxes: In the center of town? Check. Friendly staff? Check. Clean? Super check. Good rates? Check-ola. And what's more, its funky and fun design. Will I stay here the next time I come to Catania? CHECK!
Great job, Pietro and the staff!

Room Tip: Room 2 doesn't have a private bath, but it actually does.. it's just down the hall and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at BAD Catania for three nights in September 2013 and were very satisfied with the accommodations.

Positives:
Great Value (55 Euro/night) for a double with an internal bathroom
Location (right next to the fish market and close to Duomo Square and bus hub)
Funky and unique decor
Felt like we were locals living in an old apartment building
Good wifi
Voucher for breakfast (cappuccino and brioche) at a cafe called Etoile D'or was great

Negatives:
Rooms are wildly different - so you might end up in the attic room with a sloping ceiling like us because they were fully booked
3 keys to access your room
Little to no interaction with owners if you are in the separate building

Overall, I recommend this place. It is unique and I appreciated all the details that the owners/designers incorporated into the rooms and common spaces. Don't miss Catania. It is a gritty and soulful city. The fish market is an experience you will never forget and you can also get some great food here.

I would recommend Catania over Taormina as a base only because Taormina is overrun with tourists and is a bit pricey. Do visit for the day though and check out the beach and have a meal and enjoy a drink somewhere to see the amazing views.

Room Tip: If you are over 5' tall, avoid the attic room in the separate building. The chances of you hitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have just returned home from staying in this fantastic boutique B&B. It's quirky, with great modern artworks.
The staff are ALL fantasico, very friendly and extremely helpful, the reception is not manned after 7pm, so it feels like your own home, but they give you a business card with private numbers and mobiles for any emergencies and are just 5 mins away! We stayed in the rooftop self catering apartment. It was absolutely excellent, really big, spotlessly clean, maid service every day, towels etc. You have a private rooftop patio with a view of Etna, where you can sit with the smell of Jasmine at night, listen to and watch the bats sweep and dance, observe the locals, and gecos. It's right opposite the local bus station (not the main centre one, but all the buses stop there including the Interbus) so easily reached from the airport and easy to get everywhere. It's also right next to the Fish and Vegetable market, which is AMAZING!!! You get vouchers for breakfast at a 24 hour typical Sicilian Patiserie/Bar 'Etoile D'or'. You can have a cafe and Croissant and let me tell you they are scrummy, warm, fresh, crispy and crumbly and full of nutella or custard or with pistachio. If you want to feel at the centre of Sicilian life, sample the delights of the market and have an amazing experience, this is the place for you. We had an 5* A+++++ experince and will definatey be returning! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma-RoseCaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I would say it´s good value. Catania is definitely worth seeing, but like Palermo, it is a big city that can be dirty in decrepit in some areas. This B&B is well located near the historical centre. The area might seem worrysome at first, but the B&B is wonderful and after a couple of nights there we got used to it and even made friends with some locals :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

The area seemed a little worrysome at first. On first appearance its dirty and graffiti and litter everywhere. Once you have worked out where you are its actually a geat location. Its right behind the fresh markets in catania and that explains most of the litter.

Its convenient to everything. You can park in the evenings for free on the road outside the apartmen. Dont leave your car there in the daytime though and forget to top up your parking tcket. We did by 15 mins and got fined and its a steep fine.
Breakfast is lovely at the cofee shop they give you vouchers for. Plenty of steps up to the rooms so be prepared for no lift. Our room was clean and with a private bathroom. We will definitely stay here again.

Let me mention the only negative. Unfortunaly nothing can be done about it .The building is a few hundred years old and the plumbing is ancient. Unfortunaly it leaves a horrible smell in the bathroom at times, not sewerage as such but a smelly drain smell. You have to work around this and make sure you keep your door closed between bedroom and bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We spent two nights at either end of our holiday in Sicily, and were given different rooms on each night. The location is great - right by the Pescheria market and the Piazza del Duomo. Very central. A lot of thought has gone into the pop art style decor and all in all it proved a great place to stay for the price. My only gripe would be that it was quite noisy, but that's due to the proximity to the main road. The second room we had was definitely quieter and was located in the building with its entrance on the adjoining street. I see some people have complained that the entrance was a bit unprepossessing and didn't like that breakfast is at a nearby cafe. Come on people! The former is because it's housed in a regular domestic apartment building and, personally, I think the latter - going out for breakfast - is a nice thing. Gets you out of the room and into the thick of Catanian and Sicilian life in the morning and the coffee's great in an Italian cafe where it never is in any hotel. All in all I'd recommend this place for those on a budget who want to be as close to the centre of things as possible. Nice staff, too!

Room Tip: Ask for their quietest rooms. I think they all vary quite a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vvvdolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
OttoMood Catania Centro
#1 of 309 in Catania
449 reviews
Centro Catania
Suite Inn
Suite Inn
#25 of 309 in Catania
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
B&B da Gianni e Lucia
B&B da Gianni e Lucia
#134 of 309 in Catania
427 reviews
Gattopardo House
#21 of 309 in Catania
139 reviews
B&B Palazzo Bruca Catania
#10 of 309 in Catania
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bad Catania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bad Catania

Property: Bad Catania
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 24, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 309 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bad Catania 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conceived like a small Boutique hotel, BAD is the first Design Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Catania. Much more than a simple b&b, it is a unique mix of hospitality and creativity, ideal for both those travelling for pleasure and for business. It unites the fascinating Catanese baroque architecture with contemporary art and design. At BAD one breathes the creativity of Giulia and Alessandro, the two owners and curators. Professionals in the World of advertising and graphic design, they have expertly created within the ample and comfortable rooms different ambiences, exhibiting psychedelic wallpapers, amazing 19th Century Sicilian artifacts, vintage furniture and works of young aspiring artists. Every room of the b&b in fact has a different mood, colour and feeling, with two or three beds, private bathroom and naturally all the comforts you would expect. BAD is in the beating heart of Catania: in a XIX century building, next to the historical fish market "la Pescheria" and within a stone's throw of the Cathedral and main monuments of the city. Furthermore BAD is only a few minutes away from the airport, the train station and the port, and just 100 meters from a bus station which connects to other main Sicilian resorts. Because BAD is more than a sleeping experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bad Catania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bad Catania Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing