We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location & Super Helpful Staff...”
Review of B&B Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Opera
Ranked #137 of 312 Catania B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient Location & Super Helpful Staff...”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

B&B Opera is conveniently located near just about everything...shopping, dining and historic landmarks. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and stayed here for 4 nights. The room was roomy, dark, with a tv and air-conditioning. Though a bit noisy, no fault of the hotel, we loved being able to make the room real dark to sleep late! The staff was extremely hardworking making our stay easy, relaxed and super helpful guiding us to great food and tours. They helped us book an awesome jeep and hiking tour, the Etna Experience with door to door pick up/drop off that wasn't super expensive and included a great lunch. After being in Italy 3 weeks we were in need of a change of pace food wise, one of the girls on staff recommended where her brother works, Moroboshi for some sushi. Easy to walk to, delicious and light. We also enjoyed a night on the town, walking through Piazza Duomo, enjoying a ridiculous decadent and delicious waffle with nutella and pistachio crumbles and espresso at Comis in that square, and dancing to reggae music at One, a pub just on the other side of Piazza Duomo. We especially loved breakfast on the terrace.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious, can darken for late mornings, air-conditioned with a refrigerator and balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdlubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    38
    18
    5
    18
See reviews for
16
44
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very nice welcome with nice people. Good location not far from the city center. A private parking is about 5 minutes walking (10 Euros / day). Excellent breakfast on a calm terrasse facing court card.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayd there a wonderful week. The crew Jain and Betty where great,they tried to do for us everything they could,and gave us the feeling we are at home. The room was cleaned every day,towels were changed.Breakfast was nice. The b&b is close to the center,to many attractions.

Room Tip: If it's hard for you to fall asleep,ask for a room not close to the street/
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ushnafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent a very pleasant 3 days at B & B Opera in June 2012. Our room, at the rear of the property, was spacious and spotlessly clean. The room comprised a kitchen and sitting area on the first level and a mezzanine sleeping area containing a large, comfortable double bed. Breakfast, taken on the verandah, was plentiful with more food than we could eat. Special mention must go to Jean and Betty, the two ladies who manage the accommodation. Both were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one; trips were booked for us and advice readily given on where the best restaurants were and how to get around. I think that many, if not all, of the problems indicated in some earlier reviews are firmly in the past. The location of the hotel is very convenient; being within easy walking distance of the railway and bus station and also the principal tourist sights of Catania.

Room Tip: The road outside the hotel is busy. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the rear of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The worst bed we have ever had, broken backs after a painful night. It's a disgrace they let guests sleep on it, even more when staff admitted the next day they are aware of the bad bed. The night was sleepless anyway, because of the noise: from the busy street under the window, the noise from the adjacent stairs and the noise from the neighbours flushing their toilets. The rooms was dirty and badly cleaned: dust everywhere. Breakfast is not worth mentioning. The fee of EUR 70 per night is even too much for this horrible experience. Don't believe any of the positive reviews on booking.com, they are obviously manipulated.

Room Tip: avoid this b&b
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Catania hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at a big room at the back which has a split level and a small kitchen. The size of the room was great but it's not being cleaned properly as there is dust everywhere. Breakfast is very simple but on the second day we could make special requests (e.g. cheese or eggs) which they then would buy for the next day. Location is good. You need to hand in your passport which the owner will return after payment is being done. The owner is not living at the place so this can be inconvenient when you need him. There are however several ladies available at the B&B during the day. Wifi is available but we had very poor to none connection in our room so needed to go outside the room with our laptop once in a while.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvira75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Costantino and his staff are wonderful. They were very friendly, helpful and charming. They treated our 7 year old son like a nephew.

Location is great. Very close to the Duomo and market. Walking distance to most places in the city.

Accomodations are good. Decent rooms. The two rooms we stayed in had plenty of space. Breakfast and coffee are good. The terrace is great for breakfast or for time to relax and read or drink later in the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themaditalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
B&B GiRo
#11 of 312 in Catania
122 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B da Gianni e Lucia
B&B da Gianni e Lucia
#124 of 312 in Catania
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Crispi Rooms
Crispi Rooms
#106 of 312 in Catania
32 reviews
Centro Catania
5 Balconi
5 Balconi
#6 of 312 in Catania
254 reviews
Gattopardo House
#20 of 312 in Catania
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Opera

Property: B&B Opera
Address: Via Antonino di Sangiuliano 129, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera Bed and Breakfast is located next to the Massimo Bellini theater and it's only 500 meters far from the train station and bus station ...so that you can easily reach all tourist attractions in the area such as Taormina, Siracusa or the Volcano Etna! Come to Visit Us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Catania
B&B Opera Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing