We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Globetrotter Catania
Ranked #4 of 318 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very nice B&B, with wonderful staff, always ready to assist you. Great spot too, as it is at a few minutes from the center of Catania.
The room was simple but clean and nice, at a few 100m from the reception (other building)
For the price, it worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Since the response to my first review was only that over 8 years Globetrotter has received good reviews, I feel compelled to respond. This B and B was the worst place we stayed of the 8 or so places we stayed in Sicily. To say you usually get good reviews has nothing to do with the awful experience we had. The dog feces in front of our door remained in plain view and smell for about 9 hours. Running out of almost all breakfast items 30 minutes before the time Breakfast was to be served is inexcusable. Giving us a room with no towels and not addressing that problem for quite some time despite my complaining 3 times is also inexcusable. What were the owners thinking leaving the damaged painting above our bed? It should have been removed. Why was there a totally broken unusable chest of drawers in our room? Why were there dirty drapes left in our room falling off their holders? Totally shabby and unacceptable. Try doing more than telling me you usually get good reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGinDm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaniGlobetrotter, Proprietario at Bed & Breakfast Globetrotter Catania, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear guest,
we are so sorry about your complains but we think that your case was very unlucky and unfortunately for us some circumstances happened at the same time and made your stay unacceptable. We have more than 10 years experience and more than 1 thousand reviews. Yours was very severe and will not allow to survive even 6 months so I’d like to make it clear and explain about your points : 1)TOWELS: I spoke with the cleaning lady who told me that in that 2 days the washing machine has just broken and we had also 2 days’ rain which made our service slower and this was the reason because we gave you some towels (Not ALL) the day after. 2)BREAKFAST: is served punctually by the staff who take care about of all the clients and our way is sitting everybody on the same table so they can meet and get to know each other. Breakfast consists of coffee, the, cappuccino, milk, chocolate, fresh bread, cereals, croissants, cookies, toast, salami, cheese, jam and nutella.3) PICTURES CUT: 2 weeks ago we hosted a family with a child and because the picture is next to the bed he fell on it and made this small hole as you can see also in our pictures on the website room n.5 4) Dogs faeces: we cannot control dogs and cats who are around the area and free and when we got this we immediately cover it with some earth and it was removed when the cleaning lady came 5) SMOKING: this is totally unacceptable because we are on the ground floor and we have a nice bench next to our entrance with an outdoor ashtray just because of that so nobody can have more pleasure then smoking outside .

sincerely

the direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We read all the good reviews of Globetrotter and stayed 3 days in mid October. Our room, next to the office had a broken dresser, drapery that was dirty and one side was dragging on the floor, unhinged from the top. The picture above the bed had two gashes in it as though it had been stabbed. We kept asking for towels which finally came an hour later but no bath towels. At breakfast the next two morings we arrived about thirty minutes before the end of the time of service and they had run out of most items. One of the staff members was a chain smoker inside the main room. On the second day there was dog feces next to the entrance and it was covered over with dirt.
Staff was not curteous and mostly seemed bothered by our questions. I suspect this place used to be better run, but nobody at present seems to be supervising. The place needs some serious attention to maintenance of the property and a more unified helpful approach to dealing with clients. This was the only place in our three week stay in Sicily that we found unacceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed at Globetrotter a while back, and had a great experience! The lady at reception (Silvia) was particularly helpful. She explained everything I needed to know about the B&B and the city; I felt like an expert when I was finished talking with her!

The rooms themselves are nice and the location is superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pote332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The title explains everything pretty much but lets go in details. My friends and i booked a 4 person room, which was way better than our expectations from a B&B room. The staff, especially Silvia, is very kind and helpful. The staff can communicate well in many different languages, which is also rare in Sicily. The location is very central. Breakfast is also satisfying. I guess we couldn't be happier with out experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunayokumus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Only 7 minute walk to the cathedral, main square, restaurants, shops...feel like the locals as you walk the streets, everything is within your reach. Silvia at the reception was so wonderful, she went out of her way in helping four ladies get to their rental car.
Silvia is a gem !! Thanks from Marissa,Ana,Nancy,Linda

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theladybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
562 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
562 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Globetrotter Catania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Globetrotter Catania

Address: Vicolo della Lanterna 14, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: £36 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed & Breakfast Globetrotter Catania 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Catania Globetrotter is an antique building that has been recently renovated. It’s located in the historical center of Catania, in Sicily, between the old fish market and Ursino castle, 200m from the Dome, cathedral and Via Etnea. You will find a hotel quality and warm homely atmosphere. Globetrotter B & B is within walking distance from main monuments, restaurants, pubs, and discos. The BnB is 15 minutes from the airport by car and 5 minutes from railway station and port. Our rooms are very comfortable with the following facilities: en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, TV, DVD, free wireless, regular internet, and hairdryer. Our b&b rents independent apartments in Sicily. They have kitchen, bathroom, air conditioning, TV, DVD, HiFi, internet Wifi and hairdryer in the historical center of Catania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Globetrotter Catania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Globetrotter Catania Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing