We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, and Smokey”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Messina
2 reviews
“Old, and Smokey”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

First off - the price we paid was 60 Euro for 2 people.

Points of Hotel:

Positive: room was spacious and had a mini-fridge.
Free Wi-fi
Free car parking

Negative:
No elevator
Uncomfortable beds, sagging mattress springs 10-15 cm
Ashtrays found throughout room, hallways etc. (Hotel not recommended for non-smokers)
Entire hotel stinks of smoke and
old still air smell.
Shower will flood the bathroom, and water will switch automatically between freezing cold, scorching hot and luke warm every 30 seconds.
Breakfast consists of a croissant and coffee or tea.
No immediate restaurants around, not great for people without a car

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    34
    17
    22
See reviews for
14
28
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I have been to this hotel on more than one occasion and have always found it cheap, cheerful and convenient. You get what you pay for, so don't expect too many stars, the furnishings are old and the heater in my room was not doing so well with the beautiful high ceilings, but the people are mostly nice, the breakfast is tasty and it is only a short walk to the station and city centre. You can't ask for more!

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank hawaiiankiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Everything, ok it was cheap, but how they had 3 stars above the door is beyond me. The guy on the desk was an Italian Basil Fawlty. The first room given had a smell so bad, I thought something had died in there. We were given a remote for air con and the tv but both failed to work. The facilities and furniture was out of a 'rising damp' set. We (3 rooms) went to town immediately, and stayed out as long as we could. The traffic noise was so bad, I thought the coach and lorries were joining us. Got up at 6am, skipped breakfast and jumped on the nearest train. Oh and the bed was bad as well. On the plus side..... The sheets were clean... Ish. Somebody needs to review the 3 star rating. Don't stay there unless you have no choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rob_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Messina hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Hotel Touring is very conveniently located close to Messina Centrale and is good value for money. The room was quite old and dated but it was exactly as I'd expected from the photos. Bathroom was quite new and very clean. Plumbing a bit noisy (pipes). Ancient grey towels.
Owner and other man on at night and in the morning pleasant and helpful. Young guy on Saturday lunchtime hopeless - spun a pack of lies about why the internet wasn't working, then locked the hotel door and disappeared, apparently to sleep. So when I came down to go out to lunch I was locked in! Took a long time to attract his attention so I could get out.
Once the internet problem was resolved it was excellent.
There is an on-ramp in front of the hotel so there was a lot of noise from buses etc during the night. A back room may be quieter.
Balls of dust around the perimeter of the room and when I left my toothbrush holder for a few minutes I found a cockroach in it...
Despite all this it was fine for the price and well-located for a one night stopover. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neve97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Budget hotel ideal for backpackers or whoever is looking for simple accomodation. Old-fashioned hotel in a liberty style building close to the railway station, the bus station and the port. Rooms are spacious and clean, but the noise coming from the streets goes on all night. Messina is a beautiful modern city with a long history, unfortunately little known and neglected by tourists-in-a-hurry.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Isos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Messina hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Palace Hotel
Royal Palace Hotel
#10 of 20 in Messina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
VMaison Boutique Hotel
VMaison Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Messina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Guest House Residence
Guest House Residence
#3 of 20 in Messina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Europa Palace Hotel
Europa Palace Hotel
#11 of 20 in Messina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sant'Elia
Hotel Sant'Elia
#12 of 20 in Messina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Piro
Hotel Piro
#13 of 20 in Messina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Property: Hotel Touring
Address: Via Nicola Scotto 17, 98122, Messina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Messina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Messina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Touring 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring, located in the center of Messina, in an ideal location for walking to the city's most fascinating places, is a little three-star hotel which offers, in addition to the tourists on vacation even for business customers who came to Messina, offering excellent value for money; the hotel is located in the center, very close to the central railway station.The structure was fully refurbished in the end of 2010, while maintaining the Art Nouveau style that characterizes it; are available for customers with a reading room, TV room, bar and a total of 15 cozy and comfortable rooms.The wide and bright rooms come with all facilities, such as private bathroom (with hairdryer), tv, air conditioning (or heating), safe, fridge, interphone, internet WiFi and breakfast included, consumable in the hotel bar (on request can be served in your room); there are more external services (excluded from the cost of the room) as the possibility to contact a travel agency, a car rental agency, call a taxi via the reception, laundry service, contact a garage in the immediate proximity of the hotel.Near the railway station there are also all public transports such as buses, coaches and trams, through which you can easily navigate the city.You can easily reach the main location of interest like piazza Duomo, piazza Unione Europea, piazza Unita d'Italia, the Sacrario of Cristo Re, the Church of Montalto, the Fair of Messina, the port, the University, the Court, either on foot or by public transport; you can reach the nearest beaches by tram, in about 20 minutes (Riviera area).Nearby the hotel there are many eateries such as restaurants, taverns, patisseries; some of them make home delivery service at the hotel. We offer excellent value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Touring Messina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing