We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't recommend this hotel”
Review of Royal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Messina
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend this hotel”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We had booked a night for our arrival in Sicily and a night on departure, unfortunately.
One of the ladies on reception was delightful, but both times we were attended by the unfriendly and unhelpul one. The first time we were told to come back in 10 minutes for our passports, then still weren't ready! This time I said I would wait for them, it took 2 minutes!

Do not take key for 508 - noisy from street and nearby elevators.

Breakfast room a joke - old fruit, coffee machines both no coffee, no cups left, and this at 8.30! Croissants stale!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patchworklizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania S, Responsabile reception at Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank yuou for your kind review and let us tell how sorry we are to did not succeed in your satisfacion. We offered you a free upgrade in the superior rooms floor (5th) and gave you one of the most requested rooms (508) but if you did not like it you had always the time to ask to change it, we would be pleased to satisfy you all the time.
We hope you will come back in Messina and give us the chance to make your stay as pleasent as we can
Do not hesitate to contact us
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    100
    132
    46
    45
See reviews for
40
72
26
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After staying 3 nights at the hotel in 2012 we decided to stay again this time for a 4 night stay. We arrived by train and was allocated a large room on the 6th floor which we did not like as it appeared to have very little natural. We were quickly allocated a further large room on the 5th floor room 518 that had windows at 2 sides. Having travelled from England it is nice to see the sun rise in Sicily as there are very few early sun rises in England
The hotel is perfect with an excellent breakfast and the price of the rooms are very competitive for any part of Italy. I cannot think of any negatives regarding the hotel that is only 200 meters from the railway station. Across from the hotel is a park that has outside entertainment by local performers on Saturday evenings both times we have visited in September and is worth seeing.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have been allocated have been as large as many suites in other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mealypied69000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania S, Responsabile reception at Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the time you have spent writing your review, we are very grateful and happy cause we every day work to achieve the maximum guests' satisfaction so we get it with you!
Please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be pleased to have you again to our House
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

the location is nothing special, the hotel is old, old, old. The staff has the attitude of a crew on a sinking ship, just hoping to get to the end of the work day.
There are some rooms (fifth floor, I think) that have been renewed. If you have to stay here, try to get those, but if you can, go elsewhere.
The worst thing is the staff that really has no clue of what they are doing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania S, Responsabile reception at Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and excuse us if we did not succeed in leaving you a positive remember of your stay. Probably you felt a low quality service from our employees, cause they did not understand something was going wrong with your stay, we seriously apologize for that.
We punctually make a follow up during the stay so we can immediatly solve and finally at check-out time we have a second chance to conversate with the guest.
If you would like to contact us directly our management will be pleased to verify what was specifically happened and better solve.
We stay at your disposal
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Messina hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight despite the previous reviews and found the hotel very good. Firstly we originally we went to the hotel to leave our luggage as the locker at the station was closed. The staff obliged even though we didn't have a booking. Very nice staff. Then we decided to stay. We stayed on the 5th floor. Room was clean and very good value for money. The breakfast was also very good considering the price of the room. We did not have a problem here at all and would recommend.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovedarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania S, Responsabile reception at Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review! We everybody are happy and proud to read about it!

We wait for your new visit in Messina, do not hesitate to contact us

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Arrived and was told room will be ready in 15 to 20 min, told to wait with luggage in a side room.

Waited 45 minutes before asking how much longer, told 2 to 5 minutes. Waited 20 minutes more told very soon. Waited 30 more minutes before walking up to counter again. Man on front desk answered 3 phone calls while I was waiting, then said wont be long. After 10 minutes, anger must have been showing when I walked up and said room is ready.

Bags taken to a room by staff, not given a key though. When I came back downstairs to get key he said that room was not for me and didn't know why his staff put my bags there. Sent to another room. The toilet was so close to the vanity that my wife, very petite quite short wife, told me her knee's touched cabinet while on toilet. I am over 6 feet, so this wasn't going to work. Sent to another room which the air con didn't work, my son has eczema & allergies, heat is not good so had to move again. This time they sent me to a level up, penthouse level - absolutely disgusting is what came to mind. Carpets are at least 40 years old as was all else. After 5 minutes and an asthma attack, went downstairs & expressed my disappointment with all. I asked if the original room where our bags were placed was vacant & they told me it was. I obviously asked why did the original staff member say that room was not for us, her face was blank & said she did not know.

Only stayed because we had other family staying. Would never return or stay here. There's much better round. These people wouldn't last in hospitality in most other countries.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efed123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania S, Responsabile reception at Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for the time you have spent in writing your review and accept our excuses cause the receptionist made some confusion in order to try to serve you a free early check in that is quite impossible to arrange when the hotel is fully booked.
We hope you have understood the misunderstanding and hope you would like to give us a second chance!
Do not hesitate to contact us, we would like to show you our renewed floor
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Hotel Royal Palace has no easy driving access to the hotel. Parking on the street was very difficult.. Excellent free wi fi everywhere in the hotel. Worse breakfast food ever in Italy... cold dried scrambled eggs, old cheese... We had never experienced a bad breakfast in Italy before and we have traveled Italy extensively. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania S, Responsabile reception at Royal Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guests,
thank you for spending time reviewing our hotel.
We are very sorry to read about your not positive experience and would like to host yuo again in order to get the chance to demonstrate we do the best to our guests!
Do not hesitate to contact us, we will be pleased to guarantee you a pleasent stay
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Messina hotels
0.6 mi away
VMaison Boutique Hotel
VMaison Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Messina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guest House Residence
Guest House Residence
#3 of 20 in Messina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sant'Elia
Hotel Sant'Elia
#12 of 20 in Messina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Capo Peloro Resort
Capo Peloro Resort
#1 of 1 in Torre Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.4 mi away
Europa Palace Hotel
Europa Palace Hotel
#11 of 20 in Messina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
7.7 mi away
Oasi Azzurra Village
Oasi Azzurra Village
#2 of 20 in Messina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Hotel

Property: Royal Palace Hotel
Address: Via Tommaso Cannizzaro 3, 98123, Messina, Sicily, Italy (Formerly NH Royal Palace)
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Messina
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Messina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant hotel with airy & comfortable rooms; convention facilities; restaurant serving Sicilian Cuisine; near railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palace Hotel Messina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing