We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF YOU ONLY VISIT ONE PLACE IN MESSINA..”
Review of Solosofia - CLOSED

Solosofia
Price range: US$13 - US$65
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“IF YOU ONLY VISIT ONE PLACE IN MESSINA..”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Go here. This hidden gem is off the beaten track but well worth the effort to find. It is a modern restaurant which seems to be very popular with locals so get there early or book.

Stumbling hungrily around Messina looking for something authentic we across it purely by chance. We were struck by the range of set lunchtime menus (which included wine). It was full but with some re-arranging we were squeezed in. Speaking no Italian (and too proud to accept the English menu) we we allowed to take out time with the patron offering timely explanations. The food was simple but delicious. The service personable and attentive and (as the charge was less than advertised) it was excellent value for money.

The only disappointment was that I we could not stay in Messina to try out their dinner menu.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    44
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Very little to recommend Messina as a destination except for our lunch in this restaurant. Unfortunately, Seabourn stopped here for hours! We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor. It was excellent, great pasta, great seafood, and excellent service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great place , great food , great wines !”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

in lousy and ugly messina , a top notch ! small elegant modern restaurant full of sicilians ! italian meals : great fishes ! i tasted a red tuna steak , semi freddo , with vegetables ! stupendous ! appetizers to begin , so tasty ! and nice desserts ! each meal being presented in details by the young owner ! fab local sicilian wines : why don't you try a red barbazzale cotta nera ! 3 courses meal and wine : not more than 40 euros ! travelling a lot in italy for bizz , i strongly recommend solosofia ! enjoy ! just like i did recently ! cheers !
the frenchy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t2803h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a great evening”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Passed this restaurant whilst looking with colleagues for a recommendation that was nearby. Are we glad we stopped. The owner was very passionate about the food and described each item on the menu for us in English and in the end we asked him to bring us Dinner, which he did! The food was faultless intriguing and interesting and the bill reasonable. The place was full of locals on a Tuesday evening in March. I now know why. An outstanding evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W0rldTraveller_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Excellent dining and wining experience served with friendly enthusiasm and skill.A new concept in food presentation with delightful results.Our best night in Messina and the best restaurant in town.

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solosofia also viewed

 
Messina, Province of Messina
Messina, Province of Messina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing