We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with wonderful people”
Review of Palazzo Montevago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Montevago
Ranked #52 of 483 Palermo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful palazzo, in the very heart of the city (you can reach all the interesting places by foot). We were in the ramacco suite: a kitchen, a bathroom, one single and one double room.
The breakfast was so big that you almost don't need to take a lunch (coffee, tea, warm croissant, pandoro, panettone, yoghourt...). You take it in one of the room of the palace...and you really feel like a prince/princess, especially with such a nice and caring person serving you like Ricardo did !

The surroundings are quite popular and could be messy (the ballaro market is standing at 2 streets from the palace), but we never felt unsafe, even at 11 PM when coming back from dinner.

I'll surely stay again in this place if I have the chance to come back in Palermo.

The only inconvenient thing is that the palace is so big.... That the wifi connexion is really poor is the room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mamiamimami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We couldnt believe our luck when we enetred the Palazzo. We had a full apartment with reading room, marble staircase leading to a living room with sofas TV and exposed beams, a full kitchen, dining room, spare bedroom, master bedroom, dressing room, modern fitted bathroom and roof terrace complete with kitchen and BBQ! This is all set within a most beautifully restored Palace with high ceilings, antiques, paintings. Located just off the main street near the Quattro Canti.

This place cannot be faulted, if you want to stay emmersed in Sicillian history but still with modern ammenities you be hard pressed to top this place.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benjmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Do not miss this. Your own palace. The owner has created a palace with amazing restored ceiling frescoes and fabulous furnishings he has collected and he can tell the history of each piece. Great breakfast. We stayed with another couple I. The apartment which was great with a large outside terrace. Get a bottle of wine and enjoy it on the terrace. It is hard to believe such a amazing residence is located in the idle of the city. All restored with huge high ceiling rooms with original Italian chandeliers I each room. Have the owner give you a tour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamburgbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed for three nights, and have to echo other reviews - the interiors are beautiful, and Giovanni was a charming host. So first, full disclosure - this is near the train station, which means you are closer to kebab restaurants than Max Mara - but the exterior is deceiving. But if you are looking to be centrally located, this is it - seven or so minute walk from the train, we came in on the train from Cefalu, and then took the train out to the airport. Also were able to easily take the bus to Monreale, which leaves from across the street from the train station. In the morning, you wake to the smell of fresh pastries baking, and a fresh pot of your hot beverage of choice.

We had the Ramacca suite, which was perhaps the servants quarters - a large two bedroom apartment over the kitchen. Very comfortable, though we went on a tour to see the rest of the apartments - wow. Will have to go back and try those out, they are beautiful.

Room Tip: We saw more suites than appear on the website - it may be worth enquiring, as these appeared to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramblegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This place is in one word: amazing! Upon arrival, Giovanni showed us around through the many large, breath-taking rooms of the palazzo. The beautiful paintings on the ceilings have been magnificently restored in their original status. He told us this work took a specialized atelier approx. 4 years! The furniture has been chosen with great care and taste. Unbelievable! This already makes the Palazzo Montevago an extra-ordinary experience.

The Palazzo is well located: in the middle of the historic center of Palermo, 500m away from the central station and close to the must-sees of the city. I agree, the immediate environment is not the most attractive neighborhood, but I believe this is generally the case with most areas in Palermo. Although Palermo is a place with lots of spectacular things to see and visit, it still is a pretty dirty and chaotic city. But with lots of charm.

The apartment where we stayed 3 nights was very large: a large bedroom (with airco), large living room with kitchen (with airco), separate bedroom for one person (ideal to store luggage and clothes) and a large bathroom, well-equipped. Just perfect!

Breakfast is excellent: sitting as a king and queen at the (very) large table in one of the palazzo rooms, you can enjoy the self-baked pastry of Giovanni. We enjoyed his company several times and his knowlegde of European, Italian and Palermitan history was both amazing and entertaining. He is also a great art lover and doesn't hesitate to show you pictures included in one of the many art books he has and are at the availibility of his guests.

Wifi is only available on the terrace (asks a bit of effort to get connection), which is a pitty but we didn't bother that much. Secured parking is available at the inner court of the palazzo, but I would advize not to visit Palermo by car. I've driven in lots of (Italian) cities, but Palermo was "hors categorie". Unbelievable.

Don't miss this B&B. it will be an unforgettable experience.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Erik_Tervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a non-pretentious grand palace, with owners living there (in the other half). Very central, with parking available. renovated to the high standard with all original features in place!
Lovely older owner, who is helpful and tries his best to speak English with the most charming accent:)
Stayed there twice and will keep going back!
The larger appartment has a beautiful terrace, which you shouldn't miss!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaterinaRina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at the Palazzo Montevago for a short break in Palermo. Although we arrived late on an evening flight, Giovanni was expecting us and gave us a tour of the Palazzo. The place is magnificent, and pictures on the internet do not do justice to the beauty of the various rooms or the Murano chandeliers.

Our accommodation was extremely roomy and comfortable. We especially enjoyed sitting out on the terrace and sipping a glass of prosecco in the evening. Our host is most helpful and knowledgeable– if we knew more Italian we could have spent hours talking to him about the history and culture of Sicily! Giovanni gave excellent recommendations for local restaurants and booked us a table for a late dinner the evening we arrived. He also advised us on shopping and on travelling to Monreale and Mondello by local buses. Nothing is too much trouble for him!

The location of Palazzo Montevago is convenient for the airport bus which stops at the railway station less than five minutes walk away. We were also able to walk to most of the sights like the Cathedral or the markets in the old town, avoiding the need to take buses or taxis as traffic is chaotic in Palermo!

Room Tip: Book the suite with the terrace. It's lovely to sit outside to read or sip a drink in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiangourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Palazzo Brunaccini
#11 of 98 in Palermo
539 reviews
Tribunali
La via delle biciclette
La via delle biciclette
#10 of 483 in Palermo
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Reale
B&B Porta di Castro
B&B Porta di Castro
#12 of 483 in Palermo
885 reviews
B&B Casa Degli Artisti
#92 of 483 in Palermo
104 reviews
B&B del Massimo
#66 of 483 in Palermo
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Montevago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Montevago

Address: Via Maqueda 92, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Palazzo Reale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: £97 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Palazzo Montevago 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building of sixteenth-century origin, as testified by the elegant portal with archivolt that leans out on via del Bosco, was born as dwelling of Paolo Caggio, who founded here the Accademia dei solitari (Academy of the solitary ones). The original plant was subsequently restructured in the mid of eighteen-century under the project of the architect Giovanni Filingeri, brother of that Pietro's Filingeri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Montevago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Montevago Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing