We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most attentive service EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lo Scudiero

Lo Scudiero
Ranked #120 of 1,686 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ristorante elegante con ambiente accogliente e formale. Sarete accolti dalla gentilezza del titolare Giuseppe Di Maria accostato dal personale cordiale e competente . Al Ristorante Lo Scudiero troverete un servizio ,quasi d'altri tempi dove potrete trascorrere un piacevole pranzo o cena curati nei dettagli, ma anche dei pranzi o cene di lavoro. Il cibo e rigorosamente selezionato per garantire la qualita dei prodotti e ben curata e la presentazione dei piatti per poter dare al cliente la possibilita di gustare le nostre pietanze con eleganza e buon gusto. Potrete anche gustare dei piatti preparati alla lampada dallo stesso Giuseppe Di Maria. La cantina e ben fornitacon vini siciliani e nazionali. Il Ristorante si trova nel cuore di Palermo , nel centro storico a due passi dalle migliori Boutique, per chi e amante dello shopping, tra cui " PRADA - CHANEL - LUIS VUITTON -DOLCE & GABBANA - GUCCI , ETC e tanti altri negozi tra la via della Liberta e via Ruggero Settimo. Ma ovviamente ci troviamo vicino al famoso teatro Politeama e a due passi dal conosciutissimo Teatro Massimo Vittorio Emanuele che e il piu grande edificio teatrale lirico d'Italia e uno tra i piu grandi teatri di tutta Europa. Disponiamo di 50 posti a sedere circa
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most attentive service EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

You'll enjoy great Sicilian food, with cheerful five-star service, in this very good, sparkling, three-star restaurant. Recommended by Giuseppe from the Prada shop up the street.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    135
    57
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and traditional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Had extremely pleasant lunch and dinner here. Lunch started with steamed greens amply doused with excellent olive oil and lemon ( a dish many of the Italian regulars also chose), followed by an excellent seafood pasta. Dinner later in the week started by picking a fresh fish from the display to be baked with tomatoes, fennel and?. For an antipasta I picked mixed smoked fish, with a contourni of mixed grilled vegetables. All dishes at both meals were excellently prepared and delicious. The wine steward insisted that an 18 euro Sicilian white would fit the dinner perfectly. I was nervous about such an inexpensive choice, but he was absolutely correct. The restaurant is somewhat formal, yet quite relaxed and everyone is served a free prosecco while they contemplate the menu.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank eclectic_traveler043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Lo Scudiero is one of those places that seems to have been there forever. Often, these places disappoint on the food front but not Lo Scudiero - it was excellent.

We had a great octopus salad, spaghetti con ricci, branding and dessert. They recommended a great dry white Sicilian white which was only 15€. The meal was extremely well prepared and offered great value.

We sat across from another couple who were clearly regulars and one could see why they were. Great food, elegant, attentive service and a beautiful room.

Helpful?
2 Thank JMN-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We did not realise beforehand that the restaurant was so upmarket. We were seated and given drinks and nibbles without being offered a menu for quite a while. We got suspicious and were ready to walk out just as the menu finally arrived. Maybe I made the wrong choices but both my dishes were disappointing and poor value. The staff were generally very tense and not at all friendly and welcoming. I had 14 meals in Palermo, and this was the one I enjoyed least, and it was also the most expensive by some distance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethWildecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
673 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“Intimate, central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Wandered in by accident at lunchtime and immediately realized it was a more upscale restaurant than I had thought from the outside - dark interior, nattily-dressed wait staff, and the clients were all in suits (I was in shorts).

Nonetheless I was greeted courteously, and offered a nice table and a nip of sparkling wine. Though I chose the wrong dish (a kind of veal roll which was bland), it seemed to me that the other diners, who were mostly eating fish, were satisfied with what they had.

Scudiero has a very intimate feel, and has a relatively-small dining area no more than 4 meters wide, maybe thrice as deep.

With a main course, contorno, glass of red wine (good, but served too warm), water, and coperto, my bill came to 30 euro.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lo Scudiero also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Lo Scudiero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing