We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria Lo Bianco

Osteria Lo Bianco
Ranked #227 of 1,700 Restaurants in Palermo
Price range: US$11 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: One of the most ancient "OSTERIA" in the heart of Palermo. A few feet away from the port and from the plaza most important of the city, overhung from the beautiful theater Politeama that gives the name to the same plaza. Here you can eat genuine, simple, but whit a lot of taste; true and veracious; It's about substance, not appearance,as from tradition, as if you was invited to supper by an house of an old Sicilian grandmother doc. The OSTERIA is open from the 1931, here the ancient recipes and also the culinary culture of a population, from more than 80 years, are handed down. the service wants to be, careful friendly and fast when necessity. The kitchen holds a lot to respect the seasonality of the products and therefore it changes the menù according to the seasons.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

just go and check out yourself. you won't regret! it may be looking not too sophisticated, but it's just real and delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GolaSSpandoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    382
    172
    104
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local Trattoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We really enjoyed the food here. We'd seen lots of billboard ads for it and it was also in our guidebook, and as it was near where we were staying we thought we'd give it a try. It was surprisingly smaller than we thought given the advertisements, but the staff were friendly and accommodating and the food was delicious! It seemed quite traditional in dishes and more typical Sicilian for being in the new part of town. Would recommend for a good evening meal on a budget.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We went here because it was recommended by our B&B host. We arrived for lunch (pranzo) on a Sunday afternoon and found that lots of other people had the same idea. Reservations definitely would have been helpful. The place was jammed with local families our for Sunday dinner. It was worth the wait. Food was tasty and authentic, service very quick, and the price very reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

I stumbled across this quaint resto today. It was mid afternoon and most restaurants were closed for the afternoon siesta.
It was almost full but also full of life, laughter and happiness.
The food and service was outstanding. Very reasonably priced and authentic Sicilian home made meals.
I wish I had found this on our first day rather than our last, but, we did enjoy a special meal which left us with found memories of Palermo.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not up to Sicilian Standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Local spot chosen by our Rick Steve's guide for a group dinner for 24.
Had two different pastas and a mixed grill of meats. Pastas were ok, but the meats were substandard, grisly sausage and tough steak. Only place in all of Italy and Sicily that we were rushed. They whisked us in and out to make room for their brisk local business.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rllbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Lo Bianco also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Osteria Lo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing