We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience”
Review of Trattoria Biondo

Trattoria Biondo
Ranked #400 of 1,734 Restaurants in Palermo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Politeama
Alicante
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The food was ok, but the service was awful. You don't feel welcome. Even if you speak Italian, they do no effort to explain to you what is in the menu. The wine was rushed at your glasses (and spilled over the table), but you are not given the opportunity to taste it before they serve it. Last but not least, you find out that prices in the menu do NOT include VAT, so when you add coperto + service + VAT you end up paying much more than expected. No, thanks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pelargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    171
    108
    73
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Daufuskie Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Felt very rushed....mediocre food”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Recommended very highly by two different hotel staff members but was disappointing in so many ways that one has to believe there is some sort of kickback to the hotel staff. In fact, having traveled all around the world getting recommendations from hotel concierge, this was by far the worst recommendation I have ever received. The major shortfall was the incredible rush and impersonal service from the moment we arrived. Throughout the meal restaurant staff kept looking over at our table to see if they could remove our plates. The appetizer arrived almost immediately and the first course arrived before we had finished the appetizer. The prices were not unreasonable but the food was mediocre. The grilled fish plate was plentiful but was overcooked and only warm when it arrived and cold by the time I finished half of it. The veal al limone came with a brown sauce rather than the traditional light lemon sauce and the meat itself was less than tender. Clearly a place for tourists rather than locals who know better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tom451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern france
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Biondo is not haute cuisine but it's good traditional Sicilian with large portions, good wine and great service. I would go back again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chiefdomestique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palermo
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Expensive and low quality”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

It was a sunday at lunch time , so we decided to have a lunch in this place because was open ....inside no sits so we take out side , quite fresh! The menus was deceving lots main courses from north , no seasonal ingredients ..what to do we selected : 1 bottle of Merlot, 2 plates ham cut by hand, then one past w chapignos and one w deer .
The ham was quite good..pasta horrible, the service very cheap, at ceck out the bill was 100 euro!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagadawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We went there with a group of locals but were disappointed at how average this place was. The pizza was good and prices for the pizza varied from 6 to 15 euros. But the trattoria menu was pretty expensive and rather limited. They had no house wine and wines by the bottle were again very expensive. The service was poor. Our waiter didn't ask us if we wanted coffee or dessert after, just handed us a check. We left gladly. Although pizza was good, everything else was lacking. There are much better places to visit in Palermo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Biondo also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Trattoria Biondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing