We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location. average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbia Palermo
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank albertob468
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ander G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 July 2013

It's a two star hotel in a very good location with not perfect facilities, and staff who know how to make you feel home. The rooms are small and the bed was a bit of noisy, however were very clean. Our room was on the quite side of the Hotel, so sleeping quality was quite good. Breakfast is good, but could get boring after three days. Roberto is a special kind man who welcomed us every day and served the breakfast, the Cappuccinos were great, I also loved the cakes and fruits. They served us free breakfast in the room on the last morning (see the picture). Security of the hotel is great, you feel you are staying in a safe hotel as I found the city not so safe. The hotel is located right at the heart of the old city and close to old churches, fashion shops, fruit and fish market, Pubs and night clubs and the central station. From the airport take the buses of the company called "Prestia e Comande" and get off in the central station. From there you need to walk about 15 minutes to reach the hotel. Don't be surprised once you see the building of the hotel, it looks quite run down from the outside but inside is modern and nice.
Overall this hotel is a good value of price with a great location and very nice, helpful staff. If you love modern hotels with spa facilities it wouldn't be your favourite hotel, but if you intend seeing the city and being close to touristic features, and you want nice people and good price, don't miss this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff what you expect, they are honest and helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farhad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was the best hotel we've stayed in Italy! We've been to Roma, Firenze, Venezia on similar (cheap) hotels and this was by far the best.
The outside look isn't great and can be a shock upon arrival, but most of the buildings in Palermo are like that, so don't be put off by your first impression. Once you enter the hotel you will find a very clean and spacious building. The staff was also the nicest we've met in all our travels. We stayed in a spacious room with TV, a mini-fridge, air-conditioning and a spacious two-person bed. The room had nice natural light and was cleaned daily.
The breakfast was a treat. Buffet style with very fresh ingredients. There wasn't many options but this is typical in Italy were the breakfast are usually light. But the options that were available were fresh, and some seemed homemade (like jams, tiramisu, cakes), there is also fresh fruit (which isn't normally served in other hotels) and fruit salad, they will also serve you a great cappuccino! We ate three breakfasts and there was always different things to try.
This hotel is also very close to some of the main places to visit. It is in walking distance to the Cathredal, the Palace, and Ballaró market. with a 10 minute walk you can also catch the bus to Mondello beach.

Summing it up I would really recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again if I go back to Palermo.

Room Tip: There is no lift, if you don't like stairs stay in the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcosGilDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Like many others when we arrived at the alley where the hotel was i thought we got lost. But then you get to the hotel entrance with the benches and stray cats and its lovely. The rooms, breakfast, airco and staff are excellent. Our room even had a cheap stocked mini fridge. Loved our stay here, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleurtje_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights in June and we loved it.

Great location and very friendly staff, Giuseppe was really helpful and breakfast was very good.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
Staff spoke good English and were ready to help at any time.
John & Norman
Bray
Ireland

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A small and nice hotel, goog situated and the guys at the reception were very helpful. The location is really good. We highly recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay in Palermo and if we go back it,s possible we will stay there again..

Room Tip: They have have room that are very quiete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Swedishcouple344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Bel 3
#16 of 98 in Palermo
811 reviews
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,254 reviews
Hotel Joli
#26 of 98 in Palermo
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#46 of 98 in Palermo
124 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#20 of 98 in Palermo
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia Palermo

Address: Via del Celso 31/37, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#12 Business Hotel in Palermo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £28 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Columbia Palermo 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel: Columbia Palermo Hotel is located in the heart of Palermo city centre, about 300 meters far from the Massimo theatre, the Cathedral, the Pretoria Square, Ballaro and Vucciria markets, only few steps from the Quattro Canti ( Vigliena Square). Situated in an historical palace of XIX century, entirely restyled, the Columbia Palermo Hotel offers a cosy and friendly atmosphere an all sorts of the most modern comforts. The Rooms: All 24 rooms are fully equipped with: private facilities and shower, hairdryer, TV color, mini bar, air conditioning, and WI-FI connection. Our service: Credit card, 24-hour reception desk, Rich international breakfast, Disabled persons room, Car-motorcycle-bike renting , WI-FI connection, Bar, Room service (part-time), Alarm call service, Cradle, Fax service, National newspapers (on demand), Arranged restaurants near the hotel, Private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Columbia Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Columbia Palermo Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing