We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Columbia Palermo
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A very pleasant hotel ideally located in central Palermo. Everywhere worth visiting in Palermo can be walked within minutes of this hotel.

The service was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were plain but spotless. The breakfast was good and plentiful.

Room Tip: I gather there is a disco to the rear of the building albeit we didn't personally hear it. I sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Palermo is a city of contrasts, you probably either love or hate it. We love it (apart from the driving!) After many visits we finally hit upon the Hotel Columbia and were so happy we did. It is reasonably priced, in a great central location with lovely staff and extremely clean rooms. The bed was the comfiest I've slept in for a long time and lovely plump pillows - which is more than can be said for many 5* places. Great breakfast to. Thoroughly recommended. Is it a scary location? Well, you do have to pass a rubbish pile and lots of graffiti but that's part of its charm! I wouldn't change Palermo for the world!

Room Tip: Very narrow street and not very easy to find if you're driving. Take out full insurance! Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Altrough the neigbourhood of hotel is a bit scary, the hotel itself is very nice. I want say extra thank you to extreamly friendly staff - don't remember the names, but few gentlemans in check in desk were very kind. The rooms were clean, and quiet. Breakfast was good, better, than in other places where we stopped during our trip. Also the location is good - old town is right near with couple of cheap but good tavernas.

We liked this place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank WGS63
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This review is about the room I was in 207 and I have given the hotel three stars because the staff are lovely, they are very attentive and friendly, the hotel is clean, breakfast is continental, which I enjoy, and the location is fantastic. So this is a critique of the room, and hotel side I was on, not the personnel.

A friend and i had a package and were booked in a twin. On the night we arrived we were given a twin that was very quiet. We had no luggage as it had been lost in transit and we were there for six six nights. It was very small, especially for six nights so when we saw the twin room next door, the next morning, with balcony we asked for an upgrade. We were told it would be noisy but we thought traffic and as we had got in past midnight the night before and saw there wasn't much traffic we thought nothing of it. It was bitter sweet because the room was big, light and airy and had lovely views but it was also a nightmare, from 10pm until 4 am. The music was so loud we couldn't believe that all around us people lived in it and that the hotel hadn't lobbied to end it. After all it's their business and three flights of rooms look over it. Especially, apparently the singles. My friend shared her two sleeping tablets with me as she is pretty much insomniac and I managed to get some broken sleep. In the morning we began our day, we were tired but we loved Palermo and also we liked the hotel, its location and staff so we forgot about the noise until we had to go to sleep. In addition, it was so close to everything that when nearby we could go back and rest for an hour or so in the afternoon. But at nights we basically woke, slept, tossed and despaired. When I spoke to the lovely night Concierge about it he said just to ring when the music was unbearable and he would call the police. Well the first night i rang, it made no difference. The next night I rang, and told him I couldn't stand it anymore and he said he could even hear it from the bottom floor which was a hell of a lot more isolated than we were. It was that loud. But the police must have gone around because it was turned down, ALOT! And it was that loud thurs, fri, sat and sun. I stayed an extra night, (mon) because i was so tired and needed to think to continue my solo travels and was given a double room that was really quiet. I got 10 hours sleep that night and i thank the staff there for organising that for me. So if you book the hotel, and cant stand loud music, do not book the rooms that face away from the street the hotel is on. Room 208 is included in that.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank huntinginthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was my first visit to Sicily so I wasn't too sure where to stay for my first stop in Palermo. I am pleased to say that this hotel was perfect for me. The location was great and the room was comfortable. The selection of food for breakfast was also good. The night staff were very friendly and very helpful. I actually stayed on another night because of the information and recommendations they made. The only negative would be the day reception staff. They had no personality and it was like they didn't want to be there. All up though a good stay in Palermo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adonatac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank RARWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Bel 3
#18 of 98 in Palermo
811 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#8 of 98 in Palermo
1,244 reviews
Casena dei Colli
#27 of 98 in Palermo
190 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia Palermo

Address: Via del Celso 31/37, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#12 Business Hotel in Palermo
#14 Family Hotel in Palermo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £30 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Columbia Palermo 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel: Columbia Palermo Hotel is located in the heart of Palermo city centre, about 300 meters far from the Massimo theatre, the Cathedral, the Pretoria Square, Ballaro and Vucciria markets, only few steps from the Quattro Canti ( Vigliena Square). Situated in an historical palace of XIX century, entirely restyled, the Columbia Palermo Hotel offers a cosy and friendly atmosphere an all sorts of the most modern comforts. The Rooms: All 24 rooms are fully equipped with: private facilities and shower, hairdryer, TV color, mini bar, air conditioning, and WI-FI connection. Our service: Credit card, 24-hour reception desk, Rich international breakfast, Disabled persons room, Car-motorcycle-bike renting , WI-FI connection, Bar, Room service (part-time), Alarm call service, Cradle, Fax service, National newspapers (on demand), Arranged restaurants near the hotel, Private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Columbia Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Columbia Palermo Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing