We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbia Palermo
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel itself is quite basic. The room is a reasonable size, the only issue we had was that it was really warm at night even with air conditioning. It is not luxury but unless you plan on spending all your time in the room then it doesn't matter, we slept and ate breakfast there so it was perfect for what we needed and very reasonably priced. The location is really good and the staff are really friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EB8712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    224
    70
    18
    9
See reviews for
59
233
64
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location, close to the main streets, markets, cathedral, historic places and the teatro massimo. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. It offers good value for money and was ideal for us.

Room Tip: From what I have read the rooms at the front of the hotel are the quietest. I had no problem with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica V, Direttore generale at Hotel Columbia Palermo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest
thanks for your review, we are glad that your stay was special and to your liking. Our closeness to all major attractions, allows you to move quietly without the need to take the car.
We hope you want to relive this experience with us and come back for more.
Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Noisy, noisy, noisy, Close from 2 bars that plays loud music until the sunshine (no law in sicilia). Air conditionnning old and also noisy.
The neigbourhood is not really nice, there are many empty needles on the floor, take car of your feet !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 838Antoine_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica V, Direttore generale at Hotel Columbia Palermo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest
How well you expressed in your review, the noise is a problem we have repeatedly pointed out, that must be managed by municipalities, is penalizing for us to be judged for something that is not dependent on us.
The problem extends to a few rooms and concentrated in only a few days, which is impossible for us to foresee that reason we had done an upgrade to triple to make you feel more comfortable, but if we had some indication from you within three days of stay we would have found a room available.
After your report we promptly checked the air conditioner in the room, and requested also to guest who were staying in the same room with them but there was no indication of a malfunction.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights at the start of our Sicily holiday. Hotel is in an excellent location approx 5 mins walk to the Teatro Massimo centre of Palermo which has all the nightlife, etc. It is a 15min walk the other way to the bus stop / train station (10e taxi). The staff were excellent and the breakfast was very good too. Great wifi in the hotel.
The only issue was the room was a little on the small side but the shower/bathroom were excellent as was the air conditioning.
Overall recommended and great value/location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica V, Direttore generale at Hotel Columbia Palermo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are proud to have met your demands and expectations.
Our job is to make your stay comfortable and special, as it has been for her.
Our rooms also differ in size, in compliance with the standard square meters, we would, however, if we had known, give you a larger room for your needs.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope you will come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel in June for about 2 weeks. It is located literally steps from Via Maqueda which is the main shopping street in Palermo. Also, it is very close to the Quattro Canti (4 Fountains), which is considered the centre of Palermo. During the week-end, there are parties going on in the area, and that means it's quite noisy until 5 AM. That's pretty much only in the week-end though. The hotel is not far from the central railway station either. In that area there are some supermarkets, fruit stalls, little pizza shops, and so on, at very good prices. It also serves as a bus terminal for the buses going to Monreale and other out of city destinations. The breakfast was very good, and very rich: buffet style, with meats, cheeses, croissants, yogurts, fruits, milk, tea, coffee, cereals, etc. One downside is that the hotel does not have an elevator, and I was staying at the 3rd floor, so I needed to carry my luggage up and down the stairs. There is also no fridge in the room. Other than that, AC was good, bathroom was good (towel change happens every 3 days) and wi-fi was excellent. Teatro Politeama, Teatro Massimo are close by. Also, Cattedrale is 10 minutes walk. Martorana Church is very close. Bus and Train terminals are not far either.

Room Tip: not sure if there is any room which is quiet during the week-ends; one could ask the Reception, as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica V, Direttore generale at Hotel Columbia Palermo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, it understand that the stay was to your liking, be sure to also appreciated by other customers who want to stay, for its accurate description of the monuments in our neighborhoods, the variety at breakfast and the cleanliness, our points strengths.
Born of the in a building 800 is very difficult to get an elevator, but is our concern to think about your luggage when you arrive and when you leave.
We hope in the future will come back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

While the staff were very helpful and the hotel was nice and clean i did not enjoy my stay at Hotel columbia. we were on the third floor with no elevator, After climbing three flights of stairs we entered rooms like ovens and the air conditioning was worse than usless, we could not leave the windows open at night because of the noise from nearby nightclubs, so we were baked. the bar was a joke as the poor man serving had not access to any change so no drinks if you did not have the right change and no mixers for the spirits.Breakfast however was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica V, Direttore generale at Hotel Columbia Palermo, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest
We are pleased that staff have met your needs. We are sorry not to have had no request for a room change, because we had a triple room available on the first floor.
We chose to have in each room, air conditioning, because not everyone like it, for this reason, once you feel the heat off, but as it was requested by you, we proceeded to turn it on, before your arrival at the hotel.
Our bar offers the chance to taste cold drinks, hot or alcoholic, we offer the opportunity to put everything in the account of the room to avoid bringing with you the money.
Thank you for having reviewed our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I will not forget my stay at Hotel Columbia for 3 nights in June. the staff was super friendly and helped me with all requested inquiries. The hotel is located perfectly close to the city centre and all amenities. Breakfast is very rich, and the rooms are clean. I can only recommend the place for young people and students.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Bel 3
#18 of 101 in Palermo
731 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 101 in Palermo
1,201 reviews
Hotel Joli
#23 of 101 in Palermo
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 101 in Palermo
957 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
419 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia Palermo

Property: Hotel Columbia Palermo
Address: Via del Celso 31/37, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#12 Business Hotel in Palermo
#14 Family Hotel in Palermo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Columbia Palermo 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel: Columbia Palermo Hotel is located in the heart of Palermo city centre, about 300 meters far from the Massimo theatre, the Cathedral, the Pretoria Square, Ballaro and Vucciria markets, only few steps from the Quattro Canti ( Vigliena Square). Situated in an historical palace of XIX century, entirely restyled, the Columbia Palermo Hotel offers a cosy and friendly atmosphere an all sorts of the most modern comforts. The Rooms: All 24 rooms are fully equipped with: private facilities and shower, hairdryer, TV color, mini bar, air conditioning, and WI-FI connection. Our service: Credit card, 24-hour reception desk, Rich international breakfast, Disabled persons room, Car-motorcycle-bike renting , WI-FI connection, Bar, Room service (part-time), Alarm call service, Cradle, Fax service, National newspapers (on demand), Arranged restaurants near the hotel, Private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Columbia Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Columbia Palermo Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing