We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local trattoria with delicious food”

Trattoria ai Cascinari
Ranked #32 of 1,766 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Typical Palermo food, open at lunch from Tuesday to Sunday and dinner from Wednesday to Saturday. We are closed on Tuesday too from the middle of July until the middle of September.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely local trattoria with delicious food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Tired and hot after visiting Capella Palatina, to find this non-touristy-sounding trattoria on our tripadvisor app, not too far away, was a gift! On arrival I wasn't disappointed - the owner was so friendly, the restaurant with its check tablecloths was charming with a local feel and the food was fab. We went for the mixed started - which was so much food and delicious and a meat main and some well-priced vino rosso. I'd highly recommend this place. Really honest, wholesome, delicious Sicilian place. A gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,240
    675
    160
    48
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing! Super! Great!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Even though when staying in Sically for a week we stated an hour trip away from Palermo we had to come back after having eaten here one day!
The food is super delish! So tasty, so fresh and really authentic. Many locals eat here.
Great wine and dolce:)
But that's not all;) the atmosphere of this place and also the service are very sweet:) kind and smiling.
We really regret that we could only eat here twice before going back home.
I really don't see one thing one could criticise about this place:)
When in Palermo go for this place - you ll love it:)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiktoria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“The food kept coming!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We hadn't booked and were lucky to get a table as it was buzzing with locals and tourists alike. We ordered, but somehow the anti pasti kept coming ... aubergine balls in tomato sauce, veal with tomatoes and olives, fried vegetables and some croquettes and panelle. Just had room for our main courses of swordfish in broth with olives and tomatoes, and ravioli with ricotta. Everything was really delicious and the bill reasonable, although service was a little brusque.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food in a hidden place”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was not easy to find the restaurant, but it was worth the while.
The food was really good.
I would suggest that you ask for 'assaggini' which means that they make you taste all their starters. Their pasta with pesto and sea food (prawns) or their stuffed squid are exquisite.
44 euro for two people for starter, main course and wine (no sweets, although their 'setteveli' - cake with seven different types of chocolate is world famous) makes the place even more attractive.
Kind service (a bit slow, but due to its popularity), simple ambient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Termosifone74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing little find”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

To be honest this restaurant came recommended by colleagues who regularly travel for business to Palermo. I can only say that it was everything I hoped for and more. Fantastic service, the menu changes constantly, I have already been 3 times and was offered different things every time.
I strongly suggest going with the servers' advice for the apetizers, they will bring a selection of different plates, thus allowing you to try different things. All of them are excellent. ALL OF THEM. Best quality ingredients all around.
Seriously, if you stop by PAlermo, you MUST try this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria ai Cascinari also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Trattoria ai Cascinari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing