We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel”
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Nice and modern hotel with good service. A lot of noise from the traffic, unfortunately. Good restaurants nearby. The breakfast is typical sicilian, served on the top floor offering seatings on the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torunn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    336
    64
    22
    12
See reviews for
98
455
36
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in the heart of the old city. The only negative point is the noise ifrom the airco. Very good breakfast on the top floor, I'm a nice small terrasse.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FFelixxs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zell am See, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

A very modern 4* hotel in Palermo within walking distance from most attractions that offers excellent service. The rooms are very modern and everything works perfectly well. The air conditioning is centrally controlled from reception and when normally people are not in the rooms they would turn it down and turn it back up just as people start flocking back to the rooms. Saving the environment a little and reducing the electric bill, no harm in that. A phone call to reception and the AC will be working round the clock.

The staff were extremely nice, very helpful, friendly yet professional. The spa they have is quite nice to unwind in after a long few days of sightseeing. There are a few good restaurants in the vicinity and night life is just around the corner. Breakfast was ok and the catering staff were very nice and always welcomed us with a big smile.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel talked a line about service and really offered none! Night noise from their drainage pipes,very inadequate massage services, lost property - all these things happened to us and we were told multiple times that "they would be handled" and nothing was done. We were treated like children and dismissed with promises and no action. Never again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Sirs,
first of all I would like to thank you for your review; and I excuse me for this problem with our hotel.
We've tried to change your room (because there was an idraulic problem ) the second night of your stay but you didn't accept.
We also offered you 2 free entrance in our Wellness Club ( sauna, steam bath, emotional showers, jacuzzi, relax area) to excuse us for the inconvenience.
Our staff always try to take care of guests in every situation and I'm really very sorry to hear that you're so disappointed and that nobody had paid attention to you!.
Thanking you again for your review which help us to improve our service and to understand that we've to work on some aspects more actively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have lived in Sicily for years and have traveled extensively in Sicily and Italy, and Hotel Porta Felice did not live up to what I have come to expect from a four-star Italian hotel. While the hotel (especially the rooms) is nicely decorated, the overall feel was not professional or particularly welcoming. For example, we had problem after problem with our room (the TV did not work, the A/C worked only occasionally, there were loud, unexplained noises that caused us three sleepless nights, the water temperature in the shower got very hot then very cold). The hotel staff was not particularly helpful; they were not responsive and did not make any real attempts to resolve our issues. I think that, in terms of location and in terms of service, there have to be better options in Palermo. I do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near an external drain pipe; they make quite a racket at night. The rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargheritaSiciliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Sirs,
I'm very sorry to read about so many problems in our hotel and I send you all my warmest excuses if something has troubled your holiday.
In Italy at the moment there is an ephochal changment in the television transmission line : from the 4th of July all italian and foreign channels will be transmitted through a digital decoder .
This changement has caused many problems because of maintenance of networks beyond our control; unfortunately these problems happened in may others hotels, structures and houses!
As regards the air conditioning I assure you that our conditioning system is working perfectly since three years without notable technical problems.
Noises that disturbed you derived from a hydraulic pump setted in a building next to our hotel ; finally now after various complaints from us this has been soundproofed.
I excuse me again also in name of my staff that every day do all they can for our guests with all their requests and unfortunately not always they are able to solve the problems because these events are not within our control.
I warmly hope to have you again as our guests so that you could change your mind about our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Standard hotel room with small balcony overlooking some ruined buildings (which locals used as a car parking area). We were on the third floor. The fourth floor (top floor) had a bright restaurant which we attended for breakfast only. I was very impressed with breakfast - Twinnings english tea and great variety of foods and fruit. Book ourselves for a massage at the wellness centre and took advantage of an offer available - very pleased with the hotel. Would have liked to have had tea and coffee facilities in the room though. The fan in the bathroom was slightly irritating as it was constantly on the whole stay and on enquiring at reception we were told that this was usual for all rooms unfortunately. Overall though I was disappointed with 'Palermo the city' - litter everywhere and the stench was terrible; glad we were there for only 2 nights on route back from the Island of Lipari. A female Australian Tourist we met in a restaurant on the first night had told us that she had been mugged of her jewelery during the day and the police weren't even vaguely interested. This was worrying to me and I stored my wedding and engagement rings in the safe box in the hotel room from that point onwards and always kept my burly hubby in sight!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DML90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmiel, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Excellent small hotel. Breakfast is served on the roof balcony. Very clean hotel. Good location.
The neighborhood around the hotel is very dirty.
We did not like the Palermo. A dirty city. And poor maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakoov w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Brunaccini
#10 of 98 in Palermo
501 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#18 of 98 in Palermo
973 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#7 of 98 in Palermo
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Property: Hotel Porta Felice
Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Family Hotel in Palermo
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele. It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, free wi-fi connection, telephone, safe and mini bar. Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments. For meetings there is 1 room up to 25 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing