We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a modern oasis in old Palermo”
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

From the comfort of this modern facility, you can experience the ambiance of old Palermo. It is an oasis from which you can view and can walk thru the old city.
There is an outstanding restaurant next door (L'otava Nota) and several others (La Cambusa) within a few block walk, and the port is nearby as well.
We were most impressed and took advantage of the health club and massage facility.
The breakfast was also varied and barely sufficient.
On the negative side, the room climate was not well controlled, Wi-Fi dropped consistently, and the room lighting was quite dim.
Although the hotel advertizes no parking, we had no trouble finding a safe spot across from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLD95120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at the Porta Felice for a week and enjoyed most of our stay.
The staff were very good and keen to help but the lack of parking and the constant ‘off ‘odour emanating from the bathroom spoiled what was otherwise a nice holiday.
We twice complained about the smell before purchasing a deodouriser spray from the local supermarket which masked but did not eliminate the problem.
Breakfast was normal for most European destinations adequate but nothing to enthuse about.
We ate in the restaurant for one dinner where the food was very good but the cost was excessive.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Porta Felice was at the end of a week touring Sicily. We received a warm welcome on arrival at the hotel (even though we were two hours ahead of the earliest check-in time) and were shown to our spacious and spotlessly clean room. The bed was very comfortable and the shower excellent. Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace, with plenty of choice including fresh fruit and espresso coffee on request. Everyone at the Porta Felice contributed to our enjoyable two night stay here through their helpful and friendly attitude.

We enjoyed that the hotel is near the marina and seafront, and a short walk to all of the sights and attractions we wanted to visit in the area. Perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our visit started with an unfortunate mix-up, with our reservation lost and a full hotel. Alessandra worked diligently to find us another hotel for our first night. We returned for the rest of our stay and we're glad we did. Very nice hotel and a very nice room. Alessandra turned a bad situation into a positive experience.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here and found the rooms to be very nice, but ours was on the 3rd floor, directly below the breakfast room/restaurant. Hard surfaces everywhere, including the breakfast room so lots of chair scraping noise above us. Hallways and staircase echo the noise. You have to call the front desk to have the air turned on. Breakfast was fine, ask for a cappuccino to be made for you. Masseuse is very good! Beds are hard! Sink drain was slow.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street and beneath the breakfast room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

2 couples started our visit to Sicily in Palermo. I had some misgivings about the hotel location before our arrival but ended up being very pleased with our choice. Felt very safe walking to the hotel in the evening. Rooms were on the street side but noise wasn't an issue. Good size, beds a bit hard bit that seemed to be the case in all our hotels. Wifi was an issue ..kept cutting out but hotel staff were very helpful with this. Breakfast upstairs was good with a selection of pastries (very good croissants) , cheese, fruit, juice etc..in fact one of the better breakfasts we had. The rooftop terrace/ breakfast area doesn't have much of a view but it's a pleasant space. Liked that we could easily walk to the local market.
Rooms are painted in a dark color with dark furniture but have a fairly modern feel. Overall I felt the hotel was good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

While this hotel is well located and the rooms a good size I was disappointed in it overall. The mood lighting made it very difficult to read, we had the smell of drains in the bathroom which permeated the room, there was no drinking water provided and the shower pressure was terrible. Breakfast had a good array of cakes but the service, coffee and range wasn't good.

Room Tip: The street is noisy, ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
540 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#5 Family Hotel in Palermo
#6 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £70 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele. It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, free wi-fi connection, telephone, safe and mini bar. Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments. For meetings there is 1 room up to 25 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing