We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views but improvable cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YHA Ostello di Palermo- Baia del Corallo
Ranked #72 of 172 Speciality Lodging in Palermo
Seville, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice views but improvable cleanliness”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The location of the hostel is great, between the sea and the mountains, a beautiful place to stay despite being situated outside the city center. But unfortunately neither the bathroom nor the bedroom are cleaned everyday. Besides,some of the receptionists aren't as polite as they should be and they don't have a strict control about who the guests of the hostel are because they asked me twice if I stayed there or not as well as which the number of my room was in order to check it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    14
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
14
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Pavia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed at this youth hostel only one night on my way to the airport. I loved the view from the rooms (in the picture). It is not close to the center of Palermo and the touristic attractions of the city, but I liked the view from the rooms. You need to have a car to be able to comfortably move to and from the city. They have a gated parking slot if needed. There may be a public transportation system to go to town (I didn't use it), but I wouldn't rely on it to optimize my vacation time. Relatively close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelUriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

The location of this YHA is unbeatable and feels like a resort. The structure is a little old, but it is very clean and is slowly being updated. I check out many of the dorms, which are basic but each have en-suite bathrooms. The cabins/doubles, where I stayed are good, with balconies and views. The staff are friendly and helpful and went out of their way to please. I would definitely stay here again!

The sea gets 5 stars!

Room Tip: As for dorm room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photo_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The management have made a real effort to upgrade facilities since my last stay here in december 2010. I spent 3 nights here in April, 2012. It is comfortable, more than adequate, clean and very affordable. The bay the Hostel overlooks is very impressive. The best reason for staying here is the opportunity for dinner at 'Il Brigantino' sea-food restaurant in Sferracavallo- just a few minutes' walk away. This restaurant is truly amazing - no menus, no questions: just course after course arrives, all sea-food. It's a terrifying experience for light eaters! I counted 16 different dishes ( from starters to main courses) that were brought round by discreet waiters. Wine and coffee all included in the ridiculous price, per person, of Euros 27.50!! You will not eat better sicilian/italian seafoods and pastas anywhere else.
ps: avoid Palermo if you can. Rater head out to Trapani, Erice and the superb SEGESTA temple in a stunning setting. If you're after Mosaics and norman architecture, then Monreale is worth a visit. As I said, stay clear of Palermo- hideously busy and dirty with, quite frankly, not much to offer that isn't found in a better location elsewhere!
ps2: Avoid 'ChezValu'- the Hostel's restaurant. it's disappointing, to say the least.
ps3: Sicily? A great place with amazing overlays of civilization and cultures. Well worth a visit- not in Summer though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctrinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
0.1 mi away
Bellevue del Golfo
Bellevue del Golfo
#81 of 98 in Palermo
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palermo Mare Holidays
Palermo Mare Holidays
#12 of 172 in Palermo
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcarello B&B
Barcarello B&B
#47 of 172 in Palermo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
A Casa di Amici Hostel and Guest House
0.5 mi away
Il Golfo
Il Golfo
#173 of 465 in Palermo
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Alla Torre
B&B Alla Torre
#2 of 3 in Isola Delle Femmine
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Ostello di Palermo- Baia del Corallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Ostello di Palermo- Baia del Corallo

Property: YHA Ostello di Palermo- Baia del Corallo
Address: Via Plauto 27, 90147, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 172 Speciality Lodging in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your YHA Ostello di Palermo- Baia del Corallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Ostello Di Palermo- Baia Del Corallo Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing