We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really worth the time or money.”

Orto Botanico di Palermo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.18*
and up
Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #29 of 323 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not really worth the time or money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

For €5 each it really wasn't worth it. Very dry, a bit dirty, not enough signs, just not really up to much. I've been to free botanic gardens before and they were fantastic, this was not.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    263
    117
    59
    25
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
L'Orignal, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“amazing trees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were amazed by the ancient trees with their twisted shapes. Like something out of a fantasy novel. Beautiful pond with turtles sliding.

Wonderful get-away from the Palermo.

We were lucky enough to see a wedding party doing photos.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Sad and dry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

This is not a great example of a botanical garden - dry, unkept, really ugly in parts. The best thing here were the turtles. Not worth paying to get in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingpantaloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I bought my lunch from the supermarket one day and ate it here. Many newly married couples come here to take photos and videos, and I was asked by one photographer if I could remain on my bench while the bridge and groom sat next to me... While I'll never be sure, I'm pretty sure I 'photobombed' someone's wedding photos. It's honestly a beautiful place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TazG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had a full day to ourselves before our tour began in Sicily so we went to Orto Botanico. It turned out to be a lovely day. The flowers were so beautiful... We loved walking through the gardens and grounds. The lily pond and statues were really beautiful. It was a relaxing way to get over our jet lag and enjoy some beautiful surroundings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank momu1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orto Botanico di Palermo also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Orto Botanico di Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing