We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had booked the junior suite for a 3 day stay. We arrived late and were greeted at reception by a gentleman who checked us in swiftly and got us to our room.
Room was big and plenty of space considering we were in a capital city.
Location is excellent, just near where the airport shuttle bus drops you, close to excellent shopping and dining facilities and round the corner from the city sight Seeing tour bus starting point, Great for location definitely.
Breakfast was average, too much bread, and the hot counter was limited to 3 dishes which we had to ask to be replenished twice. Im a vegetarian so it was annoying to have to share the same serving spoons for my eggs as were used with the sausage and bacon.
Overall good value for money because of room size and location. Decor and breakfast average. Hotel staff knowledge is limited it seemed when asking for local restaurants and routes.

Room Tip: junior suite had no traffic noise and a large corner balcony
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunitaLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artemisiapalacehotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Artemisia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your words of appreciation towards our hotel. We apologize about your disappoint in the breakfast room, unfortunately we can not predict the eating habits of our every customer. If you promptly reported to be vegetarian, our staff in the breakfast room would be used to serve the more suiteble breakfast to your needs. We take however, account of your valuable advice in order to satisfy all our customers.

Best regards
Roberto R.
Public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for Artemisia Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Following the tripadvisor's ranking, I stayed in Artemisia Palace Hotel with my family for one night on our way back to Tunisia after spending a week vacation in different cities in Sicily Island.

The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Palermo and was within walking distance to the main shopping street.

Perhaps due to high expectation I had, I found the hotel itself just an ordinary clean hotel. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

For the same rate, some rooms have bath tub while others do not. If you would like to have bath in your room, you should ask for it in advance.

Room Tip: The room I stayed had a bathroom (room # 406) but the room my mother stayed had only shower (room...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mosquito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Started our trip off in Palermo with a few nights at the artemisia. Arrived late, and spent the first night in a room on the first floor. It was very noisy and so we asked to move the following morning. The hotel staff were more than happy to oblige. Moved to a very comfortable room on the 5th floor, nice and quiet. Great location, great breakfast the ladies were always happy to help and make fantastic Cafe latte' would definitely recommend!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mhb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After traveling around Sicily for 12 days I spent the last 2 days in Palermo,
Checked into the Artemisia Palace and found a very clean modern large room with a beautiful window with nice view. Large bathroom with tub shower and large window. Staff very professional and helpful. Good breakfast with hot food served till 10 AM. Walking distance to great shopping and higher end restaurants. Nice safe surrounding. Very pleasant and restful stay before the long flight home.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Marcia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artemisiapalacehotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Artemisia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Nease,
Your kind and polite review is very important for us, and a great tribute to our job! I hope to have you once again in our hotel

Best regards
Roberto Romano
Public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

No idea why this is #1 on trip adviser no why it has 4 stars.
Checked in and didn't get any information about breakfast the hotel the surroundings or anything literally just asked for our passports and told our room is up the stairs.
Room Safe took an hour to sort, staff didn't really seem all that fussed that we were waiting around for an hour. Also when I asked to change rooms told they were full so no option of that, just wait it out!!Wish I has of paid an extra £40 and stayed somewhere that cared.
Avoid like your granny's undies.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 2014hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artemisiapalacehotel, Direttore at Artemisia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sir

We are very sorry for your comment, but I remember that when you arrived, we informed you regarding the breakfast and the elevator to get to your room. Regarding the safe you put the wrong code three times and the safe get blocked.But we solved the problem. we couldn't change the room as the hotel was fully booked.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great location, clean and tidy hotel. Close to the new town, shops, the port and lovely restaurants. Boutique style rooms and lovely breakfast. You don't really get the Sicilian feel but that is the only downside!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I came upon this hotel via Trip Advisor and the really good reviews. I am not familiar with the country, so a good hotel experience was very important to me. I am so happy to say that the one night I was able to spend here was among the best experiences at any hotel, including many high end establishments worldwide. The staff was very helpful and especially gracious. The room was spectacular, and my impression is that it was the height of Italian form and function. Nothing was superfluous, and everything was of the highest quality. And gleaming, polished to an extent one never sees in the States. I was concerned because Palermo seemed much more loud than most cities, but the sound insulation was superb and even though my room fronted a busy street, it was very quiet all night long. The included breakfast was very nice, with fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee, and pastries. The overall value here was much better than average. Regrettably, I could only reserve a room for one night due to availablity, and moved on to the Excelsior Hilton for the remaining two nights in the city. See that hotel for another review.

Room Tip: Do not fear a room bordering the busy Via Roma. Sound insulation is excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jlcwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,285 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemisia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemisia Palace Hotel

Address: Via Roma 499, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palermo
#4 Business Hotel in Palermo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £61 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Artemisia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a palace of the early '900, in the heart of Palermo, stands "ARTEMISIA PALACE HOTEL". The name is inspired by the story of a female heroine, Artemisia Sanchez, noble woman of Spanish descent, who fought against the old enlightened minds for the modernization of their land so beautiful and varied.Artemisia gave love and hospitality to hers people as well as the new structure will take care of the guests by offering services in a refined ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Artemisia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemisia Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing