We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 4 star hotel right by all the sights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a great 4 star hotel that looks like a 5 star place. It's a grand historic building walking distance from all the sights of Palermo. The main public space is an open air courtyard with a fountain in the center. The courtyard is air-conditioned (even when it is open air) and it's covered by a retractable roof if it rains. The rooms are very modern and comfortable and the bathrooms are large. The staff is great. The dining room is large and grand but usually empty. The bars are small and not terribly interesting but everyone drinks and hangs out in the courtyard anyway.

As mentioned in other reviews here, the place feels empty even when it is fully booked (who cares?). All I can say is that if you want to be completely comfortable in a hotel with modern rooms and large modern bathrooms and be in the center of it all in a historic building with an atmospheric never too hot courtyard to hang out in, this is the place. The price, at least when we went was incredibly reasonable for the combination of location, comfort, and atmosphere in the public areas.

We read some complaints about the staff on this site. We had the opposite experience. When our taxi driver from the airport tried to rip us off (it's 40 Euro fixed fare including tip from the airport) they argued with him and eventually they got him fired. The manager was so embarrassed by the whole thing he comped us a bottle of wine at the bar.

Try and keep in mind, it's a 4 star place. The reception speaks English and will try to help and they were helpful in giving us directions to the sights and in finding shops for a few things we needed. Much of the staff outside reception and the bars don't speak English but we did not find this to be a problem at all. If the person you are speaking to doesn't understand English and you can't make yourself understood, someone else nearby will speak English.

Also you should know that internet is free. In the courtyard it is by WiFi. In the rooms it is by Ethernet cable. They have short cables at the front desk. The password changes every day so you have to start your day by getting a new password. The Ethernet ports in the rooms are not always by the work desk which may result in having to move furniture around so that you can put your laptop on a coffee table near enough to the Ethernet jack to use their short cable. The speed of the Ethernet is not high speed. It is fine for sending emails without large attachments, a bit slow but perfectly usable for surfing the web, and will usually support a Skype conversation but sometimes the clarity on Skype is such that it isn't really usable at that time. Usually Skype was usable although sometimes during long calls we had to hang up and redial to get a clear line when the sound broke down and there was one time when I just called on the mobile as the other party couldn't hear me.

One small word of advice, the Espresso is good. The Coffee Americano tastes like instant. Order a double Espresso and a pot of hot water and mix to taste and you will have a wonderful Coffee Americano.

Room Tip: We had an executive double room and we were satisfied so I assume all the rooms are pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Demanding_but_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Piazza Borza and were pleasantly surprised by the clean, fresh decor. Our room was a nice size and had a lovely view of a church - we liked standing on our small balcony watching the activity at the church, including 2 weddings! The bathroom is clean and big. The hair dryer on the wall was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast is included in the price and consists of coffee, fresh squeezed juice, yogurts, pastries, scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, fruit, Italian meats and cheeses, and cereals- a really nice spread. All the staff were helpful- and answered questions with little difficulty. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a very centrally located hotel - cool, quiet & safe in the heart of the busy bustling city of Palermo. The centre courtyard is a pleasant haven. Our room was spacious, well provided & spotlessly clean with a large bathroom. Breakfast buffet was well stocked & fresh. The staff were very helpful with restaurant suggestions. It is within easy walking distance of most major sites, the station, shops, restaurants & bars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Hidden behind narrow and not too clean strrets in the centre of Palermo lays Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa. Quiet and friendly efficiency = top rated hotel in my book. If I ever return to Palermo, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in the grand hotel on one of our tours in Palermo. It's like entering another world after driving through the old streets of Palermo.
The rooms a very clean and grand,air conditioned and large.
The restaurant is very nice with it's old world charm but furnished very tastefully and new.
The breakfast choices of hot and cold food buffet style is fantastic and they don't rush you out . Coffee is served at the table or you can ask for your choice of hot drink.Service was very good. I would recommend this without any hesitation, it is in a great location for shopping and a short walk to the water and some good restaurants along the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulap p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I would definitely return to this hotel. The service was really good, the rooms really nice and cosy. The atrium is just wonderful. Some rooms face an ancient church and the view in the evening is just breathtaking.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank mitochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is a great hotel. Very central location. The hotel is very clean and the room was spacious. Fridge for personal use in the room and an in room safe. The breakfast was great. Lots of healthy options including fruit, cereals and yogurt. This is a great place to stay when visiting Palermo for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLMOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Centrale Palace
0.6 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Politeama Palace Hotel
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Massimo Plaza Hotel
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Felice
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 98 in Palermo
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Address: Via Dei Cartari 18, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palermo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#13 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £82 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing