We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our room was clean and pretty, the bed was very comfortable, but had a horrible view of a very narrow alley. The breakfast buffet was good. The lobby is very small, but the staff are very nice and helpful. There is a huge center hall sitting area, which was a nice place to sit and chat with friends. It is conveniently located to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Both the city of Palermo and the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa deserved a longer stay than the two days we were able to manage. The hotel is excellently located within walking distance of a full array of museums, churches and restaurants -- a very comfortable conversion from its earlier history as a convent and a stock exchange. The main building surrounds a stately central court with a room that retracts in good weather -- a terrific sitting area and meeting point.
For E 165 for two, with an excellent breakfast buffet included, our stay was excellent value -- the room had a separate sitting area and balcony just large enough for a reading chair. It was however far down a maze of corridors, so a suggestion would be to ask for central location.
Staff were entirely informative, friendly and helpful.
An alert for those tempted to arrive by private car -- the old-city streets are medieval, narrow, crowded and confusing. Fortunately our car rental company agreed to pick up our car at the hotel -- as the driver, after the struggle to reach our destination I was delighted to be rid of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the central section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Extremely well kept, luxurious, large rooms with bathrooms as big with open windows on the roofs of Palermo. Very central and quiet. Just a walking distance fromn the palace of the Normani.
have a stroll through the hotel corridors, you will easily find out it used to be the head office of a large sicilian bank...interesting! they even kept some of the original furniture pieces.
Take time and have an aperitivo in the open air atrium on the ground floor

Room Tip: choose room 310. very quiet with nice view on the roofs of Palermo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsGilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a hotel with character. From convent, to stock exchange, to hotel. Beautiful central courtyard to sit and talk, have a drink or a bite of food. My room was spacious and comfortable, with most of the comforts of home. The hotel is centrally located and it is easy enough to walk to many of the local historic and cultural sites. The staff was very helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a Queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel was a convent about 100 years ago and is a beautiful building. The central courtyard is really awesome. My room was a nice size and nicely appointed. It was very comfortable and clean. There are some very nice restaurants in the area. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant except for breakfast. The front desk was very professional and helpful. All in all you get what you pay for and this was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich1234Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights from New Years Day. The hotel is superbly placed for sightseeing and 10-15 minutes walk from the railway station (for Cefalu, bus to Monreale and arriving from airport). It's comfortable - our room was small, but the bed was large and a nice spacious bathroom, plus a little balcony. Breakfast is an adequate buffet, but nothing inspiring. There is a huge atrium but rather inadequate public rooms and we couldn't find a decent bar in the hotel itself. Staff are friendly enough, and reception staff were particularly helpful and booked our restaurants. There's a number of excellent eateries nearby, but it's essential to book in advance, even if it's just on the day itself. Overall, this was a reliable, solid -even stolid - option. It's very high rating is somewhat mysterious, but there's nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weltravelledofSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A nice hotel to end our Sicily trip. Like the bank vault theme. Got a room with reception/sitting area and balcony which we put to great use recovering from over-eating and relaxation without children. Good beds, decent bathrooms, generic toiletries, well furnished, room decor a bit clinical but fine. Likey to be the nicest large hotel in Palermo.

BUT, if I put on my high maintenance hat - given the price we paid and the positioning level they strive for - they need to improve their game:

* wooden floors in the hall transmit noise; not bad but could be better
* no wifi in rooms - in lobby only and weak signal; thus very difficult to plan the day
* no glasses of any kind or corkscrews in the room; only cheap plastic cups... and charged 5 euro per room service visit to deliver glasses to the room
* to use Sky movies need to contact reception; TV could have worked better with a coherent menu (yes you will be watching TV if you take full advantage of the food/wine)
* some staff struggled with English; had to be curt in order to make requests clear
* no dedicated concierge desk
* no toilet seat on handicapped toilet in lobby (luxury hotels need to overcome the local anti-toilet seat bias or charge less)

On the upside:
* best lightproof curtain setup I've seen since a new 4S / overlapping blackout shades with velcro on the sides and top light block
* staff knew the area better than other expereinces we had across Sicily
* room service was excellent and inexpensive for the quality (ex-glass delivery)
* good breakfast with huge block of fresh ricotta and interesting cheese plate
* balcony overlooked the local houses/courtyard in the back which was fun
* great little cafe just on the corner of Via Alessandro Paternostro where we ended the nights chatting with the owners and sampling amaros

All-in, a nice oasis to relax and experience a comparatively dodgy (vs new town) but very atmospheric part of Palermo. And if they get the details right in the future, then the price-quality mix will make more sense. So, enjoy, but manage your expectations.

Room Tip: rooms facing the courtyard next to Via Roma may be noisy
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank viribustotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 98 in Palermo
889 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
555 reviews
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Address: Via Dei Cartari 18, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palermo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#9 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £77 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing