We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good location and comfort”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa last month for one night at the conclusion of a tour around Sicily. We found the hotel staff to be cordial, efficient and helpful in all ways. Because the structure combines several old buildings, our room was on the floor 3A, a half flight above the regular 3rd floor. The elevator included these half-floors so there was no hassle. Also, remembering the financial past of the building, a clever wheel-chair ramp through what must have been a strong room vault including safe-deposit boxes, led up the few steps from the lobby to the elevator. Our room was extremely comfortable; quiet and well furnished. When I phoned the front desk to enquire about wireless access I was informed that it was available only in the lobby (a grand atrium with comfortable chairs and--if required--bar service). If I had a cable and a regular laptop, a hardwire connection WAS available in the room. With a small tablet this was a non-starter. However, after spending some time in the lobby catching up on e-mail, I returned to the room and discovered that I was still able to pull in the wireless signal. So, at very least guests could have a go at wireless in their room before repairing to the grand lobby.

Breakfast was served in a large dining room clearly also used for other meals. The choices were excellent and the coffee service was prompt. One sensed being in the 'big city' after stays in smaller hotels around the island--the waiters were clearly professionals.

Along with being conveniently close to the "four corners" center of the old city, the hotel is also not far from Palermo Centrale railway station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shri420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    267
    62
    17
    7
See reviews for
63
274
28
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our room was clean and pretty, the bed was very comfortable, but had a horrible view of a very narrow alley. The breakfast buffet was good. The lobby is very small, but the staff are very nice and helpful. There is a huge center hall sitting area, which was a nice place to sit and chat with friends. It is conveniently located to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Both the city of Palermo and the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa deserved a longer stay than the two days we were able to manage. The hotel is excellently located within walking distance of a full array of museums, churches and restaurants -- a very comfortable conversion from its earlier history as a convent and a stock exchange. The main building surrounds a stately central court with a room that retracts in good weather -- a terrific sitting area and meeting point.
For E 165 for two, with an excellent breakfast buffet included, our stay was excellent value -- the room had a separate sitting area and balcony just large enough for a reading chair. It was however far down a maze of corridors, so a suggestion would be to ask for central location.
Staff were entirely informative, friendly and helpful.
An alert for those tempted to arrive by private car -- the old-city streets are medieval, narrow, crowded and confusing. Fortunately our car rental company agreed to pick up our car at the hotel -- as the driver, after the struggle to reach our destination I was delighted to be rid of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the central section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Extremely well kept, luxurious, large rooms with bathrooms as big with open windows on the roofs of Palermo. Very central and quiet. Just a walking distance fromn the palace of the Normani.
have a stroll through the hotel corridors, you will easily find out it used to be the head office of a large sicilian bank...interesting! they even kept some of the original furniture pieces.
Take time and have an aperitivo in the open air atrium on the ground floor

Room Tip: choose room 310. very quiet with nice view on the roofs of Palermo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsGilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a hotel with character. From convent, to stock exchange, to hotel. Beautiful central courtyard to sit and talk, have a drink or a bite of food. My room was spacious and comfortable, with most of the comforts of home. The hotel is centrally located and it is easy enough to walk to many of the local historic and cultural sites. The staff was very helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a Queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel was a convent about 100 years ago and is a beautiful building. The central courtyard is really awesome. My room was a nice size and nicely appointed. It was very comfortable and clean. There are some very nice restaurants in the area. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant except for breakfast. The front desk was very professional and helpful. All in all you get what you pay for and this was worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich1234Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights from New Years Day. The hotel is superbly placed for sightseeing and 10-15 minutes walk from the railway station (for Cefalu, bus to Monreale and arriving from airport). It's comfortable - our room was small, but the bed was large and a nice spacious bathroom, plus a little balcony. Breakfast is an adequate buffet, but nothing inspiring. There is a huge atrium but rather inadequate public rooms and we couldn't find a decent bar in the hotel itself. Staff are friendly enough, and reception staff were particularly helpful and booked our restaurants. There's a number of excellent eateries nearby, but it's essential to book in advance, even if it's just on the day itself. Overall, this was a reliable, solid -even stolid - option. It's very high rating is somewhat mysterious, but there's nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weltravelledofSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
419 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
955 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#9 of 101 in Palermo
486 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa

Property: Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Address: Via Dei Cartari 18, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palermo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#13 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing