We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Ariston(Palermo)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$230
US$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$618
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$256
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Columbia Palermo(Palermo)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Joli(Palermo)
US$126
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$360
US$297
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
341
299
70
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
299
70
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstock exchangeretractable roofcentral atriumbank buildingvisited this hotelwithin walking distancedefinitely return to this hotelfitness centerbathrobes and slipperssan francescolovely courtyardour room was spaciouslarge hotelgreat positionhotel is perfectbreakfast buffet isquiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our room was large and nicely furnished so no complaints there.
Breakfast was poor quality and service, if it hadn't been included we would have gone elsewhere.
The atrium could be a gorgeous welcoming space but is unwelcoming and uncomfortable and so not surprisingly hardly used. would be a great place to have a drink, with a little light jazz in the background and no dead plants everywhere.
Location is great but it did take us a long time to find it due to road works everywhere so our GPS was totally confused.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Economistmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa last month for one night at the conclusion of a tour around Sicily. We found the hotel staff to be cordial, efficient and helpful in all ways. Because the structure combines several old buildings, our room was on the floor 3A, a half flight above the regular 3rd floor. The elevator included these half-floors so there was no hassle. Also, remembering the financial past of the building, a clever wheel-chair ramp through what must have been a strong room vault including safe-deposit boxes, led up the few steps from the lobby to the elevator. Our room was extremely comfortable; quiet and well furnished. When I phoned the front desk to enquire about wireless access I was informed that it was available only in the lobby (a grand atrium with comfortable chairs and--if required--bar service). If I had a cable and a regular laptop, a hardwire connection WAS available in the room. With a small tablet this was a non-starter. However, after spending some time in the lobby catching up on e-mail, I returned to the room and discovered that I was still able to pull in the wireless signal. So, at very least guests could have a go at wireless in their room before repairing to the grand lobby.

Breakfast was served in a large dining room clearly also used for other meals. The choices were excellent and the coffee service was prompt. One sensed being in the 'big city' after stays in smaller hotels around the island--the waiters were clearly professionals.

Along with being conveniently close to the "four corners" center of the old city, the hotel is also not far from Palermo Centrale railway station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shri420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our room was clean and pretty, the bed was very comfortable, but had a horrible view of a very narrow alley. The breakfast buffet was good. The lobby is very small, but the staff are very nice and helpful. There is a huge center hall sitting area, which was a nice place to sit and chat with friends. It is conveniently located to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing a courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Both the city of Palermo and the Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa deserved a longer stay than the two days we were able to manage. The hotel is excellently located within walking distance of a full array of museums, churches and restaurants -- a very comfortable conversion from its earlier history as a convent and a stock exchange. The main building surrounds a stately central court with a room that retracts in good weather -- a terrific sitting area and meeting point.
For E 165 for two, with an excellent breakfast buffet included, our stay was excellent value -- the room had a separate sitting area and balcony just large enough for a reading chair. It was however far down a maze of corridors, so a suggestion would be to ask for central location.
Staff were entirely informative, friendly and helpful.
An alert for those tempted to arrive by private car -- the old-city streets are medieval, narrow, crowded and confusing. Fortunately our car rental company agreed to pick up our car at the hotel -- as the driver, after the struggle to reach our destination I was delighted to be rid of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the central section.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Extremely well kept, luxurious, large rooms with bathrooms as big with open windows on the roofs of Palermo. Very central and quiet. Just a walking distance fromn the palace of the Normani.
have a stroll through the hotel corridors, you will easily find out it used to be the head office of a large sicilian bank...interesting! they even kept some of the original furniture pieces.
Take time and have an aperitivo in the open air atrium on the ground floor

Room Tip: choose room 310. very quiet with nice view on the roofs of Palermo
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsGilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews