We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you want to be in the heart of the tourist area”
Review of CasaTeatroMassimo

CasaTeatroMassimo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CasaTeatroMassimo
Ranked #48 of 211 Speciality Lodging in Palermo
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely large flat (2 of us shared the biggest apartment as we wanted seperate bedrooms) with an out-door seating area big enough to have meals (rare in central Palermo) and spacious old rooms. It is really for groups of friends who are going to enjoy being out on the town every night and only coming back to sleep in the small hours. It is right in the middle of everything, with dozens of bars and restaurants within 100metres, and the Teatro Massimo across the street. Advertised as sleeping 7 or 8 that would mean 2 or 3 sleeping in the hall and one in the kitchen as well as 2 in each of the 2 double bedrooms, and with only one bathroom that would be very cosy! If you wanted to eat in, the table on the terrace would seat 6 but only 4 in the kitchen if you wanted to eat indoors; we ate all of our meals outside. There isn't a view (just the the house opposite across a tiny back alley) but it was lovely to sit outdoors at the end of October. Spotlessly clean and fairly well equipped, including a washing machine. The only problem was the noise. I'm not sure where the other reviewers (who said it was quiet) stayed, but it wasn't here! I live right in the centre of London so I'm used to living with city noise, but this would have had the noise abatement officers out if it was London! .The streets around are heaving until 1am (later on Friday and Saturday), although generally just the hum of voices and people enjoying themselves but there was also very loud music until 2pm on 2 nights. Then at 6am the restaurant kitchens start up and the beer kegs are delivered and the rubbish bins and glass waste collected. Hard to sleep even with all windows and shutters closed, and almost impossible with the windows open to get some fresh air!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galloping_grannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoletta_Serena, Proprietario at CasaTeatroMassimo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Madam, thank you for your comment. We are sorry that your stay here wasn't as you expected.
Just some corrections: in our apartment all furnitures and equipment are adequate in relation of the number of the guests. The table in the kitchen can be opened as a book, and four more foldable chairs are behind the kitchen's door.
All the bedrooms are equipped with double glass windows and air conditioned, in order to preserve the guests' sleep: as you saw, the apartment is located near restaurants, theatres, shops... in the very city heart! All people in Palermo are very warm, but sometimes a bit noisy; anyway, we'll try to improve our activity following your advices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Nothing to say except that I don't regret my choice. Casa Teatro Massimo appartements are great places managed by 2 very nice and helpfull sisters. The flat I booked was huge, on 2 levels, very clean and handy (everything you could possibly need in the bathroom or kitchen was there).

I definitly recommand this place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurelien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The Verdi apartment is large, beautifully decorated, well equipped (incl washer), clean and quiet, with a private terrace. It is centrally located so you can walk to everything in Palermo. It has been completely renovated to modern standards. Palermo is the noisiest city in Italy so it was wonderful to find this haven of peace in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Great location, in the middle of everything yet quiet and calm inside - Serena was incredibly helpful and gave great recommendations and advice. We were a group of 5 girls, in the Verdi apartment, who found we had plenty of space, an outside balcony, all we needed in the kitchen to prepare dinner when we weren't heading out to amazing restaurants, bars or Clubs - all of which we walked to, though the neighbouring taxi rank could have taken us. Buses to Mondello are just a short walk away on Politeamo Square.

Also, we were only charged per person per night, so the one friend who only stayed one night still only paid the same €25 that we each paid per night (that being the current rate at the time). You can't get fairer than that!

What can I say? If you aren't decided, just go to Casa Teatro Massimo. We all agree that we would definitely return. It was exactly what we were after.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank TripTripOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Nicoletta could not have been more helpful. We just left after 3 nights in the Mascagni apartment, which had everything we needed and was so quiet at night. It was unusually hot in Palermo but the A/C worked perfectly. The puppet theatre right up the street was great fun, and we were amazed by the conductor for Madama Butterfly. We overslept and Nicoletta was so nice about the extra 15 minutes it took us to get out. She had met our car from the airport, which she also had arranged for us. Yes the bed was hard, but we sure slept well on it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Very well located in the heart of Palermo. The room was on the first floor and didn't receive much light but it's not unusual in a crowded city like Palermo. Although in a busy street, the apartment is amazingly calm. The place is very well equipped with everything for cooking and even a washing machine. There's nothing special to say about the decoration (mostly Ikea furniture) but it's really convenient for any type of stay (and it would be even better if they think about providing a set of napkins). The landlord was very available and her recommendations about what to see and what to do in and around Palermo were really helpful. I would have put 5 stars if they had put a better bed in the room and a better mattress on the bed (this was basic Ikea and the creaking and screeching was really annoying). Still a really good deal. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mesmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and we loved it. We had the Puccini appartment (2persons), more then enough space, good kitchen, and a enormous bathroom. Everything was clean and nice decorated. The location was in the center of Palermo, near some great markets (go there). We would definetly go to this place again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coosje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
B&B D'Angelo
#149 of 492 in Palermo
80 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,384 reviews
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaTeatroMassimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaTeatroMassimo

Address: Via Bara all'Olivella, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 211 Speciality Lodging in Palermo
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaTeatroMassimo has three apartments located at the first and at the second floor of a cosy building dating to the early 900s. All have been recently restored and refurnished and are given all the comforts for a quality stay. The owner, resident in the building, ensures you assistance and friendly care. CasaTeatroMassimo boasts a prestigious position in the very heart of the historic centre of Palermo, exactly opposite the Teatro Massimo. All the main landmarks of historic, religious or monumental interest of the town, mandatory tourist destinations in Palermo, as well as the main shopping streets, can be easily reached from its location in the Olivella district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and HostelWorld so you can book your CasaTeatroMassimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CasaTeatroMassimo Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing