We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Porta di Castro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Porta di Castro
Ranked #10 of 451 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

this B&B is an intersection between the modern & ancient. Allesandro has done a wonderful job preserving the medieval walls and facades while adding his own design element. Think byzantine sculpture next to a flat screen tv.

Pros:
-- Very nice host. He promptly brought us some snacks and coffee/refreshments when we checked in at 2 pm; he didn't need to.
-- Breakfast was great with paninis, fruit, fresh cappucino, croissants. We got to try 'pistachio nutella' croissant made w pistachio cream instead of usual chocolate hazelnut.
--Location is near Barrolo area; immigrant community from South Asia and Africa have moved in here. 10 mins away, at night, there are bars and gets boisterous, but the b&b is quite and serene. It is not a wealthy area, which is on the other side of town. At the same time, I didn't think our safety was compromised. It's a matter of personal preference-- I like living in posh areas and my wife likes this type of scene.
- Very close to train for transportation to/fro Airport.
-- Internet reliable.
-- 15-20 min walk to tourist sites on main road.

Cons:
-- I would give it between 4 & 4.5 stars if possible on tripadvisor. 4 stars because bathroom was one notch below my standards. Shower stall narrow with some areas peeling off. Shower drain not draining properly on the last day, although we were so busy, we couldn't report it. Some of the bathroom accessories & soaps are mediocre grade. Mattress could be improved.

Overall, good value for price and very gracious host.

Room Tip: The room which is on top of the breakfast cafe is one of the larger rooms (where we stayed), with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redquasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    193
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
145
378
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Porto di Castro for two nights. Let me say that the rating given to this boutique hotel is mainly down to the staff who work here - namely Alessandro. You could not get more hospitable and accommodating hosts which commenced before we even arrived. Our flight to Palermo was not arriving in until just after 8pm and check in is only until 8:30pm. The day we were arriving I emailed the hotel to ask if it was possible to check in later and was pleased to receive a telephone call back to say it was and also offered a transfer (40 euro - well worth it). Very big room with an eclectic design, good location as not too far a walk from the main cathedral, big breakfast with lots to eat - especially loved the huge fruit platter (although coffee not the greatest but that's ok).
Porto di Castro served its purpose for our short stay and staff were very helpful and made you feel like you we're staying with friends. My only criticisms would be the bathroom - very small, drain in sink did not drain well and water in shower mainly cold with small bursts of hot water. Also, could hear a lot of noise from upstairs - potentially luggage being rolled on the floor with people arriving late. We stayed in room 7 which is on the first floor so rooms situated on higher floors might be less noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the first floor as may be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Beautifully designed B&B; thoughtful weaving of historical integrity and modern design and comfort. Alessandro and Alessandro, the proprietors, are extremely helpful and go beyond to help make sure you have a comfortable stay and enjoy the best of Palermo.

Cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BreezeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Well appointed old century B&B in a very authentic city neighbourhood. Location is very central and a casual walk to the main square, shopping area and touristy section of the old city. As with all streets in Italy navigating can be a challenge in the best of times so get the hotel to coordinate a pick up/drop off from airport and train station. Surroundings had charm; don't be put off my location as it was very safe. The B&B common area was nicely designed and welcoming. Rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. Both its owners and Alessandro who worked the front desk were very accommodating, helpful and hospitably. They offered good recommendations on nearby restaurants (do stay away from the main drag areas as the food was average at best). The B&B meet all expectations and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdottony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place is a hidden gem in Palermo. Very nicely conceived, confortable rooms, spacious. the design of the rooms and common area is quite eccelctic with different kind of pieces of art. The building itself dates back to the 12 century and is restaured to cater as a prime B&B. It is like a living museum.
Cleanlyness: impeccable. Breakfast: all you need including large variety of fresh fruit. If you need something special they will get it for you.
Management and staff: the guys who are running the B&B are absolutely great, they will make you feel at home, will recommend you places and will listen to your needs and make you feel you are the most important client. If you want a personal service and want to get to know more about Palermitan hospitality that is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aguaypan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice inside, more like a boutique hotel than a B&B. Super helpful staff, that assisted us with all our questions. Alessandro is a true service oriented man!
Breakfast was also very nice. The only thing that was not 100% was the surroundings that in some directions feels a bit dodgy, but that is not the fault of the B&B of course, rather that this is a part of Palermo that is 'not so nice'

Stefan

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modica, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent two days in Palermo in this great place! From the street a very unostentatious entrance but then when you enter it is fantastic, calming after these crazy Palermo streets where nobody respects any rule, including a red light on a traffic light. My husband, eventhoug very experienced driver simply said that he will not use our car in Palermo only when we leave the city.
Hotel is very neatly and nicely designed, rooms are dark, quiet, you do not hear the noise nor you feel the constant heat. We had our room upstairs, very nice one but then I also saw a room donstairs with stand alone bath tub in the room - gorgeaous.
Staff - especially Alessandro was very helpful, kind, recommending where to go, where to eat, buying salami for me when I was a bit lost where to shop the best salami in the city.
They serve large breakfasts with fruits, croissants, capuccino, tea, juice.
I must say the best place we stayed at in Sicily.
Lenka

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
B&B 10 Serpotta
B&B 10 Serpotta
#2 of 451 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Politeama
Palazzo Pantaleo B&B
Palazzo Pantaleo B&B
#5 of 451 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Porta di Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Porta di Castro

Property: B&B Porta di Castro
Address: Via Porta di Castro 223, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Palazzo Reale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — B&B Porta di Castro 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Porta di Castro, una prestigiosa struttura... l'eleganza e il comfort di una suite nel cuore del centro storico di Palermo... al prezzo di un B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Porta di Castro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Porta Di Castro Hotel Palermo
Bed And Breakfast Porta Di Castro
B&B Porta Di Castro Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing