We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving price-quality, unfair service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Porta di Castro
Ranked #11 of 473 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palencia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Deceiving price-quality, unfair service”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We made a reservation for two on the phone and the staff wasn't completely clear about the price. The price we were told was for one person, so when we arrived we found out the room was double as we expected.
The lobby is beautiful, as in the pictures. The rooms are spread in the surrounding buildings in this rather sketchy neighborhood. The one we got was clean and correct. Still, clearly overpriced at 70€ a night. They have a water pressure issue in the building and sometimes the hot water doesn't come out the shower. For me uninterrupted hot water is a basic. I explained my concerns to the staff, but instead of putting us in another building they didn't really care and told me I could leave if I didn't like it. So we did and found a much better place in the center just for an additional 10€ a night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noraila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valgui75, Proprietario at B&B Porta di Castro, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Google Translation
QUANDO LA FURBATA NON RIESCE.

Chi lavora nel settore conoscerà bene questo tipo di situazione.
I clienti arrivano, fino a quando non sono sistemati in stanza tutto bene, nel momento in cui hanno la possibilità di lamentarsi iniziano a farlo. Il fine è quello di screditare la camera al fine di pagarla la metà. Si iniziano a denunciare problemi ed equivoci, evidentemente entrambi inesistenti (del tipo "su internet ho trovato un prezzo per la metà" avete mai visto camere doppie a 35€ ?).
Professionisti del viaggio Low-Cost, ma in maniera poco onesta, semplicemte celatamente ricattando l'albergatore.
Gli albergatori stanchi ormai sono tanti, l'arrampicata sugli specchi è una farsa grottesca e deplorevole, parasittaggio praticamente, che porta chi tenta la furbata ad essere presto sbugiardato, e trovatosi con le spalle al muro a dire semplicemente "per me la camera costa troppo", senza però pensare ai servizi di cui hanno già goduto, merenda con frutta fresca appena tagliata, succhi e thè altrettanto freschi, colazione servita al tavolo composta da cappuccini, toast crudo e formaggio,tagliata di frutta di stagione, spremute d'arancia cornetti caldi...e mi fermerei quì. La nostra colazione tipo, servita a tutti i clienti. Qual'è il prezzo corretto per questo tipo di servizio e per una camera a detta di chiunque originale e ben pulita? a detta dei clienti in questione 35€ !!!!
Che dire? Che poi certa gente abbia in mano strumenti di rivalsa tipo questo, è un problema relativo, la gente non è stupida, sa leggere ed interpretare. Vi abbiamo semplicemente voluto raccontare una storia.

LA FURBATA NON RIUSCITA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    206
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
159
408
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Porta di Castro is beautiful palazzo close to all attractions in Palermo. Short walking to train station. We had lovely welcome by Alessandro and phone conformation in the morning before arrival. We have booked double room with cot bed. But when we arrive we had one bedroom flat ( with kitchen) and balcony. Fresh fruits with croissants every morning for breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mttracz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford,Uk
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We highly recommend a stay here. A fun, small hotel in the old part of Palermo within walking distance of all the main attractions. We had warm welcome from the owner Alessandro who had kept in contact before we even arrived. Rooms were clean with fun, quirky decor. Breakfast was served in a small cafe-type area and included fresh fruit and pastries. Evening meals are not served but Alessandro recommended great restaurants very nearby. Free parking is possible in the narrow streets adjacent.

Room Tip: You can request a bedroom with a bath that also has a shower room en-suite. Most rooms are only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyTelfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Good value for money for a bed and breakfast in a good location. The BnB is about 10 min walk from the train/metro station Palazzo Reale-Orleans, which takes you to the airport.
Alessandro was really helpful and friendly and gave some good tips on places to see on the map he provided us with.
Bring some earplugs for an authentic Palermo BnB experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed at B&B Porta di Castro for 2 nights and my stay was very good. The best thing without a doubt was the kindness of the staff.. I was even picked up from a gas station nearby because I simply didn't find the place.. The staff also made it very clear that I could contact them any time if needed which I much appreciated as a female single traveler.

My room was on the 1st floor and it was extremely nice and large and I LOVED the decor. My only small complaint was that there was no hot water in the 1st evening.. After this the problem never occurred anymore.. so in my case it was just temporary.

In Italy you can hardly ever expect a big breakfast but I was very happy about the breakfast here; cappucino, cornetto and a plate of different fruits.. It was also possible to get a toast if wanted.

I would recommend the place 100% and if I'll return to Palermo I will definitely try to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We struggled to find our way as our sat nav did not understand Palermo's one way roads. However on arrival Allessandro was wonderful and helped me find a parking space.
Our two storey room with array of Vespa moped's and huge window was beautiful.
Seemed a lively area of Palermo and felt local and part of the community.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalhem, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great room, excellent service Allessandro!!! Great neighbourhood. Very well located. Excellent breakfast!!We have been there 4 nights and had a great time!!! We can recommend it warmly to you!
Patty and Hugo

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
443 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 98 in Palermo
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
B&B 10 Serpotta
B&B 10 Serpotta
#3 of 473 in Palermo
371 reviews
Politeama
Palazzo Pantaleo B&B
Palazzo Pantaleo B&B
#4 of 473 in Palermo
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Porta di Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Porta di Castro

Property: B&B Porta di Castro
Address: Via Porta di Castro 223, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Palazzo Reale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 473 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — B&B Porta di Castro 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Porta di Castro, una prestigiosa struttura... l'eleganza e il comfort di una suite nel cuore del centro storico di Palermo... al prezzo di un B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Porta di Castro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Porta Di Castro Hotel Palermo
Bed And Breakfast Porta Di Castro
B&B Porta Di Castro Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing