We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff location so so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Sitano
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked this hotel primarily because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. The room was large for European standards but I did book a suite. The room had two small balconies you could walk out onto and look out on to the street (not large at all). The area was what I expected of downtown Palermo, but I could see how some people would shy away from an area like this. The room was clean, and had A/C. The breakfast included with the room was a nice breakfast buffet. Several reviews I read complained about noise levels from the nightlife across the street. It was pretty loud, but we were on the 3rd floor and the doors were closed the noise did not interfere with our sleep. However during cooler weather if you had opened those balcony doors for fresh air you better have some earplugs. I would have rated this hotel average if it were not for the staff. In particular a very nice young man Danilo. This young man was very professional, helpful, and on point! Bravo to Danilo should this hotel not recognize his value he surely will succeed where ever he goes.

Room Tip: Higher floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salvatore A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Sitano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

I booked this hotel through their website in April ( because of all the positive reviews), but did not receive a confirmation. Twice I emailed them requesting a confirmation,but received no reply. I travel internationally on a regular basis and this is the first time this has happened. I didn't want to show up at their hotel and not have a room, so I booked another hotel in Palermo. Wouldn't you know it, they charged me for the room as a "no show".I feel cheated and just want to alert my fellow tripadvisor travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank ExNewY0rker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I bought 28 people to stay at the hotel and it was disappointing.
It is in a seedy part of town, and the women in our group where not comfortable to walk
In the streets alone. The noise level at night from the street bars kept a lot of us awake
Most of the night. There was no provision to have a coffee anywhere in the hotel after breakfast or before 5pm when the small bar opened. The staff at reception where not very welcoming and frankly after a month in Italy this was not my favourite stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnicaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel in a great location in Palermo - lots of bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. staff were great, really friendly and helpful and overall I think this hotel was great value (not sure they quite get the 'do not disturb' concept though as I got phoned and the door knocked to check re room servicing regardless of the sign!)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As others have noted, this is a comfortable hotel. Our bedroom had a divider between the bed and a small area with chairs, which, though small, was nice for relaxing and reading. Somehow, it was not cleaned on one day; we reported this, and someone was sent up, not from housekeeping, so the room was not really cleaned. This slipup could be forgiven. Breakfast was good, with a very indulgent selection of about 20 different cakes and pastries.

Although the hotel was near many attractions, the tradeoff was that the neighborhood was quite mixed. Active cafes and stores on the street were juxtaposed with many signs of poverty: uncared for buildings, stray dogs and cats on the street, dog droppings, beggars. The parking area nearby is manned by unofficial street folk, who seem to stake out their areas throughout the city, direct parking at their turf, and expecting a few Euros. The woman at the hotel desk said she simply pays them, and that's what we did as well. We were astonished the next day to tour a bit by car, and find a very modern, upscale neighborhood, the "new" city of Palermo. The contrast was vast. You'd want to see both Palermos, but some folks might be more comfortable staying in a different zone than that of the Sitano, despite its convenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to face the busy main street in front.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ge0rgeandGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great rooms,very ample and with great looking modern furniture,very nice bathroom, the air conditioning is in good working order, the personnel were very helpful and incredibly nice. The location is great, walking distance to most of the main attractions. Breakfast was great. Overall great value, we would certainly go back and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Beware-Friday and Saturday there is live music outside until 1 o'clock
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuchisMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hotel in a perfect location with a lot of bars and shopping options in the neigborhood.
Good breakfast service, happy hour time with starters, nice bar and friendly staff.
Just the only one thing is the parking. But you can park your car in the right next steeet. Just pay 2 eur and say,that you will come back soon :).
The 'parking' guys cheat - you have to cheat as well. It's Palermo!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klmasoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,210 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#7 of 98 in Palermo
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Sitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Sitano

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 114, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#8 Business Hotel in Palermo
#27 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £65 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Sitano 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Sitano is located in a fully renovated “palazzo” from the 18th century.The former convent skillfully combines traditional architecture with modern interior design in a light, airy, friendly way.The hotel’s common areas include a gorgeous arcade hall where breakfast is served, a modern bar with comfy lounge furniture, a cushy library with business stations and a small wellness area.Its 86 rooms and suites with modern amenities and comfortable beds feature mainly clear, sleek lines mixed with small playful details.The hotel is located in the heart of Palermo’s old town near the historical harbor, it is fully air conditioned and it offers a conference room equipped with modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Sitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Sitano Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing