We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Sitano
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Cholargos, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good Value for Money”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Beautiful hotel, helpful staff and breakfast of very good quality and variety. The location is just in Palermo's nightlife center (soundproofed rooms, no noise bothered us). The room was spacious and relaxing, with a very nice decoration.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas-Vasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    465
    206
    92
    85
See reviews for
171
587
57
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Perfect, if you're not too picky, but, well, I am sometimes.

Pluses overwhelm, very new hotel, perfect location, nice design and ambience, cozy rooms, very nice bathrooms (my favorite rain shower is here as well), good service, very good value for the moneythe first impression is: wow, what a place!
But small details come next: plumbing work in the showers not really up to the standards of such a hotel, constantly lacking towels in the common area bathrooms, drawer handles that just fall off, beds looking way better than it actually feels, when you lie down.
Really, overall I got very positive impression on the hotel, but it just seems to be trying to show off, rather than really deliver what is needed.
Beware of the paid wi-fi too, really a weird thing for me in the second decade of the XXI century.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pataphysicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Arrived on a Saturday a little earlier than check-in time. They locked our bags in a room and we went walking around town for a while. The hotel is located in the old part of the city, so it has a lot of beautiful old buildings within walking distance from the hotel, and some cheap and tasty local food.

I came down with an extremely bad case of allergy (hayfever) that morning which lasted the entire 3 days we stayed at the hotel. So anyway we eventually checked in and went into a very nice modern room on the 3rd floor, with 2 windows facing the street (Via Vittorio Emanuele). By this time I was in a very poor state and went straight to bed. Around 9pm I had a rude shock when the nightlife outside began. The hotel's website mentions soundproofing of the rooms. Ha! Not true. The music and cheering of the people at the club outside across from my room just got louder and louder, and eventually stopped at 4am. I didn't sleep at all that night.

Next morning (Sunday) I asked staff if the club would be open again that night, to which they said yes. I asked to therefore move to another room, which thankfully they managed to sort out. I moved to another room on the other side of the hotel, on the 2nd floor, which was fairly quiet except for when the maids were chatting to each other in the hallway, which was no big deal. I finally managed to get some sleep while I was bedridden for the next 2 days.

By Monday morning I was feeling heaps better, but unfortunately we had to check out that day. Upon checking out, my Mastercard kept getting declined. Luckily my backup Visa worked. I still don't understand why my MasterCard didn't work, because I tried it in a shop later and had no problems.

On returning home I looked at the hotel bill, and realised they charged me for several uses of the minibars from both rooms. I hadn't even touched their bars! So paid an extra 16 Euro for nothing (about $23 AUD). Thanks guys. I blame myself for not paying more attention to the bill at check out, but it was in Italian so that probably had something to do with it.

Lastly, the staff were generally professional but not always friendly. Although I have to say I did get along with the chef guy. He couldn't speak English but in another life I reckon we would have been good mates.

Although this is a 4-star hotel, I would not come back. I recommend anyone who books here to make sure you request a quiet room away from the street.

Room Tip: Definitely request a quiet room away from the street, otherwise you will have nightclub noise in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oxyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were a little nervous having read some of the reviews about the rough area surrounding the hotel. Having said that were a lot of glowing reviews too. We would like to add a glowing review because we had a fantastic 3 days in Palermo - helped greatly by staying at this hotel. Sure there are some poor areas on the hotel's doorstep but we never once felt at risk. The locals were all friendly and the neighbourhood was interesting because it wasn't too 'touristy'. The location is central so you can walk to most places. It's on the corner of one of the main streets so a little noisy - but this is a big city. What was a real surprise was that at night time the area turns into a busy and buzzy party area. All the bars open onto the pavement, live music, DJs - great atmosphere that goes on quite late/early! So if you like that thing, this is the place to stay.

The hotel is modern but not sterile. Nicely furnished rooms, comfy beds and linens and great shower. We were upgraded to a suite so I can't comment on the size of the standard rooms, but the suite was fab.

The breakfast buffet was the best we had all week in Sicily. Everything you could imagine - all of the highest quality.

Finally the service from the reception staff was exemplary. They recommended some great restaurants - some we never would have found in the guide books too.

If you go to Palermo, stay at this place. Last ip if you are still reading…..

The outdoor rooftop bar in the main department store (via Roma). Excellent Negronis. We discovered this all by ourselves so were very chuffed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33Hutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capel, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel (well located for tourists) for three nights, mid-week, in September. The room was delightful, with a frescoed ceiling, a lovely bathroom, a sitting area and a balcony. The breakfast buffet was tasty and ample... but, be ready. We had a great view from our balcony over life in the streets below, but at night the action amped up and it was a very noisy buzz of night-club noise. If you get a kick out of seeing and hearing the life of the streets and have a good pair of ear-plugs for when you want to sleep it's a great location. If you don't, ask for a room in the back section. The reception staff, in particular, were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help with bookings and information.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandBPGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for one night on vacation. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Vucciria and Ballaro markets and many of the sights around the Quattro Canti. However, we had the feeling that it wasn't a neighbourhood in which one should wander after dark. We booked a superior room, as the price was right, and found it to be quite large and well furnished with a very large bed. It did have a balcony but, as the room was on the 1st floor, it was too noisy too be of any use. The hotel breakfast was not particularly remarkable, although the eating area was an very airy and architecturally interesting space. Overall, it was a good value, but I am not quite sure that it lived up to it's four star claims.

If you do stay, I highly recommend visiting the Antica Focacceria di San Francesco, located nearby, for excellent Sicilian fare.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippingEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The location is good (geographically speaking)
The hotel common areas are nice, the rooms are big and nice decorated.
The staff shows you a wide smile but is not helpfull at all. They give you only 1 hour per day of free internet and then you have a public PC in the lobby which is allways in use (of course because is a big hotel). Breakfast is very generous in quantity but very bad in quality, it's hard to find something simple and tasty to eat.
We stayed there friday and saturday night and it is absolutely IMPOSIBLE to sleep because that street is full of bars and is very crowded. Besides there are a DJ in the street playing music at the same volume as in a club, yes a DJ!!!
We asked to be relocated and with that fake smile we were told "the hotel is full" so we did not sleep anything because (believe me) is IMPOSIBLE, the noise is too loud and there isn't any isolation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#15 of 98 in Palermo
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 98 in Palermo
819 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#7 of 98 in Palermo
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Sitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Sitano

Property: Hotel Palazzo Sitano
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 114, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palermo
#8 Business Hotel in Palermo
#27 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Sitano 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Sitano is located in a fully renovated “palazzo” from the 18th century.The former convent skillfully combines traditional architecture with modern interior design in a light, airy, friendly way.The hotel’s common areas include a gorgeous arcade hall where breakfast is served, a modern bar with comfy lounge furniture, a cushy library with business stations and a small wellness area.Its 86 rooms and suites with modern amenities and comfortable beds feature mainly clear, sleek lines mixed with small playful details.The hotel is located in the heart of Palermo’s old town near the historical harbor, it is fully air conditioned and it offers a conference room equipped with modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Sitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palazzo Sitano Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing