We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok budget hotel but the furthest thing ever from 4 star”
Review of NH Palermo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Palermo
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as we flew in to Palermo very early so thought we would have a day relaxing before we went to our next destination (Catania).

The pool is ok however the drinks are overpriced and I waited 20 minutes at the bar to get served whilst the bar man basically ignored me.

We had requested a non smoking room however the room and floor stank of smoke. The hallway carpets are stained and filthy and when my feet were hurting after a night out, I took my shoes off in the lift but had to put them back on to walk down the coridoor to our room.

The room was barely bigger than a double bed and we had a wonderful view of an air conditioning unit. The rooms are extremely dated, and the bathrooms are aged; my boyfriend even got scratches on his back from the rough surface of the bath.

This hotel was cheap but by no means cheerful. One of the only reasons we booked it is because it was one of the few hotels with a pool but it was pretty disgusting and I would definitely not recommend staying here unless it is a stopover and you are flexible in your views towards cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is definitely geared towards groups rather than individuals. As such it tends to have no real focus with lifts constantly innundated with suitcases. Rooms are adequate but gloomy as is the rest of the hotel. A facelift appears to be required. Location is great overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We are about to check out of this hotel after a 2 night stay. It's location is slightly away from the central area, but it is in walking distance, and there are public buses (and the hop on hop off bus) that take you into the city. Our main reason for choosing this hotel over others was the pool- both days we looked forward to getting back and cooling off in the pool!

We stayed in a suite at other TI reviewers recommendation. The room was average size with a built in cupboard with a safe and refrigerator/minibar (which worked a treat!) The room was clean enough, but there were a few very minor spots here and there. The bathroom was a good size and clean with a bath over the shower.

Staff were helpful, and there is free internet in the lobby in blocks of 30 minutes. It is about the same speed as dial up. There is a cost for high speed internet at 8 Euro for 24 hours.

The pool was very clean and a good size, but there were not enough lounge chairs- you just need to get in early. The lobby bar provides bar service to the pool. Guiseppe, the pool guys was outstanding- always tending to the pool, making sure there were enough towels and fixing broken chairs with a smile.

Breakfast was nice with hot and cold selections, croissants and pastries, cheese and meats, cereal and scrambled eggs and bacon.

Palermo is a very busy city- there is always noise whereever you go, so it was not surprising that there was a bit of street noise, even through the double glazing

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twisty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Beautiful hotel, very modern and clean. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Wonderful buffet breakfast. The swimming pool was excellent and with a lifeguard present all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBZ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We were looking for an hotel with an outside pool in Palermo, close to the city. This is the only option we found. We booked it through expedia and got a Standard room. AVOID These rooms. They are dirty, smell humidity, mold around the bath.

We have paid to be upgraded to the deluxe rooms. They are brand new rooms. From there, everything went very well. The breakfast fruits are awesome and the pool is good with the hot weather in Palerme. It is not an ideal location though as you will need to walk quite a bit to reach Theatro Massimo. But for us, the pool was worth the walking.

I understand all the bad critics about this hotel are people that got the standard room. With the right room, you should enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We have stayed in NH Palermo from 23.60-27.06. The only reason I booked this hotel was a very good price, as one of my friend works for the company. We were booked into an old, filthy and smelly room located on the first floor. The ceiling in the bathroom was leaking, AC was broken and fridge didn't work. I stayed in 1star hotel in Spain which was much better than that...After raising complain in Reception I was told that there is a congress in a hotel, therefore no rooms are available. I was also told I should not complain as we are paying a special price! How rude!!! After raising another complain a miracle happened and we were moved to a slightly better room (bedroom was refurbished, bathroom was very old but at least clean) with a sea view. The only good thing about this hotel is the location...only steps away from Piazza Marina which has very good restaurants (I highly recommend Al Covo Dei Beati Paoli & La Cambusa) . If you have to book this hotel for any reason make sure you ask for refurbished room - they are not as bad as the rest...I wouldn't recommend dining in the hotel at all, apart from the breakfast which is part of the room price.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asia_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The first day we arrived the pool was closed as it had been raining earlier - even though it was 28 degrees when we arrived. I complained and it was open the rest of the time after that.

Its selling feature is the pool - so it needs to be available. The rooms were tired and a bit shabby but acceptable.

The pool when open was great, but you should not have to ask for it to be opened. The breakfast was superb and the location was central enough - yet quiet.

The staff were extremely rude. They were unhelpful and snooty - for no reason.

5 euro for a Diet Coke from the bar was a total joke also, overall though - because of the pool.. I'd recommend this hotel, despite the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Bel 3
#18 of 98 in Palermo
811 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
701 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#12 of 98 in Palermo
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Palermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Palermo

Address: Foro Italico, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palermo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £47 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Palermo 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Palermo hotel overlooks the gorgeous Gulf of Palermo and is located right next to the city's botanical gardens. Its location is perfect for both business travelers and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Palermo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palermo Hotel Palermo
Palermo Jolly Hotel
Jolly Hotel Palermo
NH Palermo Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing