We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head here for lunch of great street food”
Review of La Vucciria

La Vucciria
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.86*
and up
Palermo Street Food Walking Tour
More Info
US$35.86*
and up
Palermo Walking Tour and Street Food
More Info
US$52.60*
and up
Old City and Downtown Palermo Bike Tour
Ranked #64 of 339 things to do in Palermo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can find just about anything here at Palermo's busy street market.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Head here for lunch of great street food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Having just dropped our bags at the hotel, our room was not quite ready so we hit the streets and we were not disappointed. This was the Sicily we came to see: Tables of gorgeous, impossibly tiny wild strawberries, peaches the size of softballs, whole swordfishes being carved up, baskets of tiny fish waiting to be taken home and fried up.

We happened upon a stall selling stunningly simple sandwiches of fried-on-the-spot chick pea fritters (I think it is called pannelle). The vendor asked if we wanted eggplant, too. We did. And we happily strolled the market, eating our 1 euro sandwiches, juices dripping down our chins.

We were able to follow this with a paper cone full of fresh seafood salad and a few pieces of fresh fruit -- all while taking in the sights of whole sheeps' heads, cheese mongers and fish mongers.

Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank amhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    82
    76
    52
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You haven't lived until you've been to the Vucciria!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

One of the best things about the Vucciria market during Summer, and in the evenings, is the open air food stalls. You'll find BBQ foods and morrocan style food stands, including other delicious offerings to satisfy your appetite. I had an amazing BBQ chicken fillet in a panini bun with fresh salad, which was very inexpensive but worth going back for! The other great thing about the market square is that the curving market lane, normally occupied by fruit and vegetable vendors during the daytime, is full of people (locals and tourists) drinking socially and in a very relaxed atmosphere. You can buy a beer or a wine from one of the bars on the lane and take your drink out onto the lane where everyone spilled out onto! I was there by myself on the night I went there (in Sep 2013) but there's nothing better than enjoying a nice cold beer on a warm and balmy evening and striking up conversation with fellow travellers and locals. I recommend this place over a lot of the moderately expensive restaurants in the city - you'll get an authentic experience, meet real people and not have to contend with wait staff at a restaurant. You can take your time and if you're staying at a nearby B&B or hotel on Via Roma, then you can walk back to your room in minutes after a great night out! I'm not sure when the night markets run for in the summer season but you should visit them if you're in Palermo! Don't put it off!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Much of the same...”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

One wonders how these traders make any $…there are so many selling the same merchandise! And it is not as if there are 1000s of tourists visiting.
On inspecting the merchandise found it to be cheap and of very poor quality.

However, that being said, an hour wandering around is all good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MDR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood BBQ”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Vucciria market does amazing BBQ seafood (be patient it's quite chaotic) and there are great, cheap outdoor bars (tapas are free buffet-style with your drinks) and restaurants on and off via cassari, argenteria & bottai. You can buy cold beers & cocktails to drink in the squares and borrow bottle openers from the shops.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank yay_tar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
521 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
“La Vucciria: A Memorable Place of Cinematic Atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Talk about historic ambiance; La Vuccurua can be for some Sicily's response to Bogart's Casablanca, to Tangiers' Casbah, to Ali Baba's Den, a place where Eliot Ness might have driven up in an army of steel plated trucks, or less melodramatically, an atmospheric ancient market to grab a great patchwork meal or the makings for one to bring home. It's a little like Washington, D.C. Stick to the right paths and all will be ok, probably. What's the right path? Certainly numbers help, especially for women. Be subdued in appearance, and most of what's worth seeing and doing doesn't necessitate the sun having gone down.

To get a taste of a particularly vibrant and edgy undercurrent of the Italian south, one can go alternately to hidden corners of Naples as the only natural and reliable rival for the atmosphere found in La Vuccurua. This is the adventurous kind of place one relishes telling neighbors of for a very long time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank preglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vucciria also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to La Vucciria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing