We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is fantastic!”

Ristorantino Palazzo Sambuca
Ranked #167 of 1,700 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Tribunali
Description: A wonderful, friendly small restaurant with delicious food and a very rasonable wine list.piccolo ristorante dai pasti semplici e deliziosi ottima accoglienza e ottimi i prezzi visto la qualità del cibo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Sicily for 8 nights in various locations and went to many restaurants that had exquisite food. However, this restaurant, Piazza Sambuca, was by far the best. We arrived, were seated immediately, and had three waiters all attending to us. The fish of the day was impeccable and fresh, the grilled vegetables were divine and all three pastas that we ordered were fabulous!! what I ordered, the risotto with shrimp, was to die for! The eggplant pasta and the pasta with clams were equally as good! After dinner, the owner of the restaurant gave us art history books of Palermo and Sicily to scan through as we enjoyed our typical Sicilian dessert! The waiters were all so friendly and made sure we had a great time. By the end of the dinner we had enjoyed our meal, met great people, and had an incredible time. The bill was also reasonable! I cannot imagine spending my last night in Sicily anywhere else. The restaurant was in prime location, the center of Palermo, and in walking distance of our hotel, Porta Felice. The restaurant was modern and spacious too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    69
    26
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK even with the bill.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent food, great unobtrusive service in this stylish restaurant just off Piazza Marina. Just right for a special night out. Terrific fish. Bill €120 for three people, including 2 bottles of wine. Terrific steak too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite OK... until the bill!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The place is minimalistic, modern, cosy and welcoming at the same time. It's not very big, tables can be quite close, so expect your conversations to be heard by fellow guests.
The food comes from a limited menu (good sign) and is prepared with attention and features fresh ingredients. We made the mistake of ordering two items off-menu, fresh local fish (so they claimed) called "Sarago". These were very simply grilled without any (zero!) side dish, not even a potato or similar. Each fish was rather small and was charged €30. A price that I know is way above what this city's average. I queried it with the lady at the till and it was confirmed to cost that much. Checking with my hotel and other locals that I met, we were ripped off, as that fish would cost at most half that much. So, in essence we spent €95 for one starter, one pasta dish and two grilld fish, washed down with two glasses of modest house wine and a bottle of water. Not worth it, I'm afraid.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Giorgio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Palermo”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent a week in Palermo and this was the best meal we had. We would have returned if we had discovered it earlier in the week. It is well worth trying to find this restaurant, it's on via Alloro in the historical centre, which is one of the main routes through the area. The restaurant is pleasant and run by a very welcoming family. We both had an enjoyable pasta dish, This was followed by delicious swordfish rolls and an orange and fennel salad. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really great find”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing food and service. We had a beautiful grilled vegetable antipasti which was delicious. The fresh fish of the day delicately cooked, huge prawns and a really fresh fennel salad. It was all recommended by our server who was lovely and really helpful. I can't recommend this place enough. Perfect!

Helpful?
Thank lnorthcottE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorantino Palazzo Sambuca also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Ristorantino Palazzo Sambuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing