We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but pricey”
Review of Pizzo & Pizzo

Pizzo & Pizzo
Ranked #113 of 1,751 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Politeama
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good but pricey”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This place is definitely a favorite spot among the Palermitanos who want to be seen. True, the plates are great, but you can get the same quality for less.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank greggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    118
    37
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Didn't Live Up to Hype.”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Great selection of wines here...so even if you don't fancy eating, pop in for a drink. Food was too complicated and flavours were lost in our dishes. Had sharing platter to start (25 euro) and it wasn't anything special....cheeses, cold and hot meats and a couple of fritters. Locals seemed to get different food/menu...watched dishes coming out and was disappointed with ours compared to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Adventures in Sicily, 48 hrs in Palermo”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Finally found something good to share about Palermo.
This is a world class restaurant/ wine bar in a city where there seems a deficit. It is a wine bar with excellent food and drink. A small free sample as we arrived was an excellent idea.
Ant pasta was excellent and i huge. The four of us shared three main meals and had food left over.
A single glass of Sangiovese was corked or from a bottle opened afew days before. Initially the waiter tried to convince methe wine needed air. However it was oxidized. I suspect it was replaced from a fresh bottleofthe same wine.
This is a top place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henryadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food that makes you happy”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

In one of the blocks near Via della Libertà that concentrates several restaurants and bars, Pizzo & Pizzo has one nice booth on the sidewalk and a cosy salon where we stayed. The wine list is great and a house specialty. We began with the most spectacular carpaccio I've had and a delicious and varied antipasto platter. After a pasta lunch, we were hungry for meat and that is probably the best place in Palermo for it. All the plates were great, but the star was the bistecca alla fiorentina, wonderful meat. One of those meals that you finish with a smile on the face.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Sicilain feast!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our B&B host who claimed it was her favourite restaurant and it didn't disappoint! On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of Prosecco and a bowl full of chunks of Parmesan and slices of Parma ham (I dread to think how much this would have cost alone in the UK!), we then ordered the mixed sharing platter of antipasti and soon had a plate of cured meats, cheeses and breads that were exquisite. We had ordered a main course each (me -fresh pasta with wild mushrooms my boyfriend - fresh pasta with fennel and pork) but after our starter we both only managed to eat half of our plates each. In hindsight, I would have waited until I'd eaten the antipasti before ordering the main course.
Highly recommend this restaurant for food and wine lovers!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzo & Pizzo also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Pizzo & Pizzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing