We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food , but got more than we ordered”
Review of Ristorante Gadir - CLOSED

Ristorante Gadir
Price range: US$37 - US$59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tribunali
California USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food , but got more than we ordered”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed the food that was served at Ristorante Gadir, but felt that we were tricked into eating more than we ordered. We began with an appetizer which we intended to share. Instead it seemed that we received three complete appetizers. The main courses were normal. Finally we all received desserts that we did not order. We did not know what to think, but assumed that it was complementary. The food was fine and we paid the bill that included the unasked for food without complaint. But we did not enjoy being deceived.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank solCaliforniaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    62
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delicious and interesting”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

You can expect a lovely meal here in a comfortable restaurant with a stylish mix of modern over the ancient building fabric. My fish was delicious with an interesting sauce made from sea urchin. I had never had it before and it was an unusual taste of oyster mixed with egg yolk. Very nice. Also, huge wine selection but as we were on the beer that day they gave us an excellent italien beer, much like a good dark beligian beer. Excellent all round.

Helpful?
Thank jacksunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining experience”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Amazing restaurant. From beautiful starer, very tasty and subtle main, great desert modern interior to superbly attentive service (waitress was very kind and translated all the menu without even asking, describing the dishes to perfection and even giving great recommendations). House made Limoncello not to be missed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Giedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place was recommended to us by the Duchess of Palma. It was a little hard to find but worth the effort. I started with an appetizer of black bread and bacala with a clementine mustardo. Next course was housemade ravioli with burrito and lemon in an almond sauce. Unbelievably good! I asked for and got a cheese plate to finish -- served with Italian honey. We shared a bottle of Etna Blanca wine which was delicious. Service was professional. Presentation lovely. Noise level low. Altogether a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We went here after a recommendation and were not disappointed. We did check out the restaurant the night before and found the interior very nicely done. Modern with ancient arches. We were advised about special starters which was excellent, just fresh crustacean mussels, raw shrimp, sea urchin, etc. excellent pasta and as main dish again very fresh fish, prepared with much care and well presented. This is probably a restaurant that should be considered upscale. We were pleasantly surprised not to see any other tourists. Can definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Telly2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Gadir also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing