We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and charming old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely and charming old hotel”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This hotel is not about having all modern facilities at your fingertips, if anything the first impression is of a shabby chic. However, the hotel is homely and relaxed, while still preserving something of the old Palermo. This is the place to go for its marble statues and guidling, to have breakfast under a huge chandelier and try and discover some of its past stories. Staff were wonderful - I had instant help with openning my suitcase which I locked and lost the key, the reception staff were happy to answer our questions about Palermo transport every single morning and the barman in the hotel bar was very friendly and had some wonderful drink creations.
This is one of those places where you can go again and again, because it is homely and reassuring. Any place that invests enough can have the latest luxuries, Grand Hotel et Des Palmes has more than that - a really easy going charm, friendliness and character.
The location is great - you will be safely out of the madness of the old town while near enough, and it is near some of the best restaurants which is very convenient especially in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    550
    240
    93
    51
See reviews for
197
625
62
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My friend and I really enjoyed our two nights here. It was clean, our towels were replaced the morning after we arrived and the bed was very comfortable.

The continental breakfast was of a fair standard. There were many breads and pastries to choose from but the cooked items - such as eggs and bacon - were cold both mornings.

However, the things to do and see in Palermo are a bit of a walk away. Unfortunately the weekend we stayed it was very cold and wet which made this distance a bit of a problem.

While the room itself was reasonably priced, before we checked out my friend and I ordered two teas and this cost us 12 euros. Even in Rome you wouldn't expect to pay this much for tea.

I would definitely stay at the Grand Hotel et des Palmes again but I would not be paying for any beverages!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Not a fan of the hotel. Staff was definately not friendly, at all. But that may just be typical of Palermo. People don't seem to smile much there! Room was nice, comfortable, bathroom very clean-- but the hotel itself felt old, run down and really didn't offer much. Good location. But I'd definately stay elsewhere. Unfortunately I lost my camera so I cannot post photos :(

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

From the second I stepped into this hotel, I knew we were up against it. The staff barely gave us a glance as we announced ourselves, and grunted replies to our questions (normally the wrong replies...) There was a language barrier which is fine, but that can be overcome with the odd smile, or a bit of eye contact. But nope. Nothing. All future conversations with reception left us feeling slightly bewildered or confused.
The room was significantly better than the service. A very good size and clean and tidy. Any traffic noise blocked out by double glazing, although the aircon was questionable. Glad we didn't stay during a particularly hot spell. Breakfasts were excellent (and now with a good selection meat!). The hotel is in a perfect location, and we spent 4 days pacing around this amazing city. Most of the people in Palermo we found to be fairly rude and dismissive, (with the odd significant smiling exception to brighten your day!) but oddly I didn't really mind. There's a certain honesty about it, and if you don't take offence, then it's no problem and the city itself has something for everyone. ONe of my most exciting and intriguing city breaks ever! I recommend the hotel - but come with half a clue about what you intend to do.... and where it is... and how to get there...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieflahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

An old-style "grand hotel", that enjoys a good location and good service. Our room (deluxe double) was large and had been renovated recently. By mistake, we had booked our room for the night before the day we arrived: they just cancelled the reservation when they could have charged us a no-show fee and we didn't even have to ask for it.
On the other hand, somehow it is hard to imagine the old times when it was a luxury hotel and it somehow lacks charm. Maybe because of the groups of tourists...?
I would recommend it off-season when prices drop...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frédéric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

My friend and I just returned from a trip to Palermo for a few days where we stayed ath the Grand Hotel et des Palmes. Like a number of the reviewers mention, the hotel is in a convenient location, it has the retro factor (which we found amusing), the rooms are a good size and decked out in old school decoration. We managed to get a good deal on the room price as well so it was worth staying there. But there were a few complaints: the shower despite the massive size of the bathroom, all done up in marble had almost no water pressure. The front desk staff weren't exactly helpful. We did find that the Palermans took rudeness at times to an almost comical level, but at a hotel like this you'd expect the front desk to at least attempt to be helpful. We went to a Palerman football match one night and all attempts to find out how to get there, cost, timings etc from the desk were met with utter uselessness. We finally had to tell them what we thought were the answers and try to get them to confirm it online. Even a question as to where there was a nice bar/cafe nearby was met with incomprehension.

Worth staying at the hotel, but just make sure you don't need any help and have read up on everything before you get there!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatinlondon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Had a lovely stay at the Grand Hotel et Des Palmes from 19th to 21st October. Charming hotel, great location, lovely breakfast and very comfortable beds. The shops were in great proximity to the hotel. The breakfast had a wide variety of food from fresh breads, fruit, yougurts, a lovely fry up, and pasteries. The rooms were a great size with very comfortable beds.
The hotel was very quiet at night and there was internet access at the hotel foThe opera hour €10. The staff were friendly. The hotel was about 10 mins from the hotel. as was the tourist office. A visit to Monreale and the puppet theatre is a must. It is very easy to get around Palermo but make sure you bring your comfortable shoes as there is plenty to see and the best way to see Palermo is on foot. The catacombes are a MUST in Palermo. Great stay stay in Palermo!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#14 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Property: Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Palermo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing