We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Nearby Hotels
Alma Hotel(Palermo)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bel 3(Palermo)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$737
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,594 results
Traveller rating
469
638
296
123
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
638
296
123
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmbreakfast roomseen better daysfaded glorybygone eragrand old ladypublic roomsgrand dameold damevia romaold styleelegant hotelwithin walking distancecannolihigh ceilingsbeautiful buildingroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 1,594 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just got back from a week at this hotel. Well, we liked it! The location couldn't have been bettered. The staff were very helpful, and the faded charm of this old lady was delightful. OK so the corridor carpets could have been nicer but we didn't spend all day walking the corridors! The room was clean, and cleaned every day. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. Also the concierge who was most helpful, arranged a day for us to go to Mondello and use a sister hotels' facilities and beach with transfers in the hotel bus. We also spent a very long day travelling to Mt. Etna, which was booked through the hotel. It was very tiring but worth it.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms don't have a very nice view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
We thank you, also, for having chosen Grand hotel et des Palmes for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this property. The place itself feels like its glory days are behind it, but that in a way adds to the charm. IT feels like stepping into a time capsule, and in many ways summarises the charm of Palermo.
The service when we were checking was incredibly slow, but we quickly realised that that was the norm for Palermo during the "siesta" hours of 1.30 - 4.30...
Apart from that, the staff was helpful, nice, and friendly.
Location is fabulous.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rohan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Sir/Madame, thank you for your comments.
I hope to meet you in the future in Grand Hotel et Des Palmes.
Yours faithfully
Giovanni Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Oh dear... I’m sure back in its heyday it was a grand hotel with fantastic service but it is now like some poor old tired dog scavenging on the street... The hotel itself is very tired and dated, masking tape holding together some of the walls in the room corridors... sound of running water constantly in our bedroom from pipes somewhere in the building (sounded like on our heads...)

Staff are surly, when asked for a local trattoria we were barked a name and pointed in a direction but no map, no directions, no road name etc... poor. Breakfast was in a fantastic room but lots of people laying up empty tables and no-one actually serving, you literally had to go and speak to them to get a cup of coffee... Then to top it all off, we asked for them to bring our car when we were checking out and was still waiting for it an hour later. No explanation and when we spoke to them about it they were very dismissive, no apologies and actually argued with us! Never again... living off a very old reputation....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyholidayhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for a week and enjoyed the stay. Had a room with its own roof top terrace. Very nice! Friendly and helpful staff. Nice rooms and bathrooms, but in order to get hot water to the shower you had to run the tap at least 5-10 minutes (wasteful!) - other than that everything was great. Rooms were cleaned properly. Breakfast was nice, but sometimes the staff couldn't manage keeping up with demand for clean tables/new guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here begining of July and throughly enjoyed. Staff are friendly and the breakfast was lovely. Strong coffee and pain au cholocat! Location is excellent. It provides and excellent base to explore the exciting city of Palermo. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mari1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsapienza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and to offer a good service to our guests.
Moreover, we thank you, me and my staff for having chosen our historical hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards
G. Sapienza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews