We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed or 5 nights as a solo traveller, I found that the service varied depending on what staff you encountered. My welcome wasn’t the best but everyone else I met following this was really helpful and friendly.

The bar is really beautiful and the staffs there were great. The room was not ultra modern but was fine and very clean, I enjoyed the historic feature like the wooden floor and the ceilings. I may be judging less harshly than others as I got quite a good deal through http://www.skoosh.co.uk I can imagine if you have paid a lot for the room you may be disappointed.

The hotel is in a great location if you enjoy walking around cities (which always makes it a bit cheaper) 5-minute walk to the Port, 5 minutes to the theatre Massimo and really near the Vucciria market. Definitely worth a look just off Via Roma is the Galleria D'Arte Moderna, which if you enjoy art is really worth a look; it gives you different perspective and great sense of the history of the city. My favourite were the beautiful painting by Michele Catti.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carola_Caruso, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like thank you for the time you have dedicated to us by sending your evaluations and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the historic features of the hotel, created in 1874 from old mansion of the aristocratic Ingham-Whitaker family and subsequently decorated in the Art Nouveau style. We are also very happy that You have had the opportunity to enjoy the good position of our hotel and the best attractions that it offers. Instead, we are very sorry you were not happy with our welcome. Rest assured that we have taken note of it and will investigate. Our aim is to always satisfy our guests.

We hope to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards

Carola Caruso
Personal Assistant to Mr. Vito Giglio/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    568
    250
    97
    55
See reviews for
208
643
66
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booked this hotel after walking around Palermo and sneaking in to use the bathroom. Lobby is amazing and so beautiful. Unfortunately the rooms are in serious need of updating. Paint is chipped, chairs worn, bed hard and uncomfortable and the WORST pillows I have ever had at a hotel. Front desk would not provide an iron because they said it was a "safety hazard" and didn't offer any advice as to how to press my shirt/suit for the evening. Basically blew me off. Front desk suggested a cab to the airport because it is only 45-50 euros. It ended up being 70 and this was at 10am (not a high traffic time). Quite a disparity. Anyway, it's a reasonable hotel but don't expect anything special.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Surfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimmo F, Direttore at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards

Mimmo Ferrante
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I booked a room at The Grand Hotel et Des Palmes to be sure to get a romantic, luxurious stay with my boyfriend in Palermo. We payed 221 euros to sleep in a small room on the backside of the hotel on a floor with major water damage and smell of mold. The overall experience of the hotel was that it was once grand and great, the lobby floor is beautiful, but this is absolutely not a luxury hotel anymore. We had an awful stay and even decided to move to a much, much cheaper B&B in Palermo the next day. Even the breakfast was bad and boring. Don't stay at this hotel if you expect a grand experience. This hotel has seen better days - it all seems like the owners forgot to maintain the experience. Go see the hotel, though, to imagine the greatness of older times.

Room Tip: Ask not to stay on the first floor where there's water damage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimmo F, Direttore at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write Your impression in which You described the issues experienced whilst staying at the Grand Hotel et Des Palmes.

As we pride ourselves in meeting our guests’ expectations, we are both surprised and disappointed to hear of your experience. Please be assured that your comments and concerns have been passed to the relevant departmental managers for their review and action to ensure similar situations do not occur in the future.

On behalf of the Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences. We appreciate your time and the opportunity given to improve our services.


We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel et Des Palmes in the near future

Yours sincerely

Mimmo Ferrante
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have recently returned from a week at this depressing and overpriced hotel. It was our first holiday for a long time and we wanted something nice, which is why we paid for what we thought would be a fairly luxurious break, but it was not to be.

The hotel misrepresents itself on its website in several ways and our comments on this were met with a shrug of the shoulders, almost a 'so what?' It boasted 3 restaurants but they were all closed for the whole week. Being so early in the season there was not a lot open nearby either, it was pizza or pizza. The website shows photos of splendid grandeur but doesn't mention that in the flesh it is tired in the extreme, it must have been fantastic in its day but needs a huge amount of money spent on it now. Our room was supposed to be a De Luxe but we now realise that it was not, so we paid for something we didn't get; the carpets were filthy, the decor very tired. There was hardly any natural light in the room because we looked out onto a narrow, central well, where all the ducting and pipes were (as well as other guest's rubbish that they had thrown out) and we had to have the lights on even when it was sunny outside.

There were no tea coffee making facilities in the room, and the cost for a pot of hot water with a tea bag in it was €4 each for every cup. And this was sitting in the only available area, which was the busy entrance hall.

We have never felt so unwelcome in a hotel from the time we arrived to the time we left and we feel conned because of the price we paid for it. The only positive thing I can think of to say is that the bed linen and towels were very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimmo F, Direttore at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards

Mimmo Ferrante
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring Palmero. The rooms are spacious, comfortable with large bathrooms. We found the staff very helpful.

Two negative points, there was noise from a central air conditioning duct (or generator), while the room a/c was switched off hotel wide, making the room in April a tad on the hot side.

And on arrival we were informed that there is a Euro 21.00 charge for car parking when we thought we had paid in full in the UK. Not a good surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main road (Via Roma) and not near the external a/c ducts. This s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreelancerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimmo F, Direttore at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest
thank you for your comments.
I hope to meet you in the future in Grand Hotel et Des Palmes.
Yours faithfully

Mimmo Ferrante
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our stay at the not-so Grand Hotel et Des Palmes was a very disappointing ending to our Sicilian vacation. The hotel's history is remarkable, and the rooms were spacious, but the problems far outweighed these positives. The entire hotel has a pall over it, a dreariness produced by a lack of staff, a lack of cheerfulness, and a descent into disrepair and drabness. The carpets in our rooms were stained, and toiletry items were not replaced during our stay. There's a large sign above the bar that reads "Concierge," but there was no concierge during our three days at the hotel. The restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner on our first day (I think they opened for dinner on subsequent nights). One always felt that one was bothering the staff at the front desk or in the breakfast room. Do not be misled by the mixed nature of the reviews. Find a better option.
Now, the two absolute deal-breakers. Our hotel rooms were steaming, and there was no air-conditioning (not turned on until May). Finally, on our last night a large contingent of high-school students kept us awake for hours despite a call down to the front desk (which I made from my cell phone because the phone in the room didn't work properly).

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimmo F, Direttore at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards

Mimmo Ferrante
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a lovely time in Palermo, this hotel was incredibly comfortable, breakfast was amazing they had a marvelous buffet with orange juice to die for. The staff was really friendly but not many speak english. I will definitely go back to this hotel, the room was clean and comfortable and the price was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlineD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimmo F, Direttore at Grand Hotel et Des Palmes, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.


Best Regards

Mimmo Ferrante
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 98 in Palermo
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#14 of 98 in Palermo
479 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#11 of 98 in Palermo
501 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Des Palmes

Property: Grand Hotel et Des Palmes
Address: Via Roma 398, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Palermo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Des Palmes 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATED IN THE HISTORICAL CENTRE OF PALERMO, SICILYFounded in 1874 and renovated in 1907 by one of the great masters of the Art Nouveau Style, Ernesto Basile, the exquisite Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes hotel exudes historical charm. Grand decor of marble floors and antiques combine nicely with very latest technology to make your stay a memorable one. The recently restored restaurant, bar and banquet room can host all your personal and professional events in great style turning them into unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel et Des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Et Des Palmes Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing